No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Earl of Doncaster Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bennetthorpe , Doncaster, DN2 6AD
The Earl of Doncaster Hotel is superbly located within 500 metres of Doncaster Racecourse and the Town Centre, offering free on-site parking. This impressive Art Deco, 4 Star, Classic British Hotel, has beautifully designed executive bedrooms, a stylish restaurant and a magnificent Ballroom that epitomises all the character and charm of the hotel. The hotel offers luxurious, contemporary accommodation, with spacious en-suite, air-conditioned rooms throughout. The hotel’s restaurant - Cafe bar Concerto, offers an impressive environment in which to enjoy champagne Afternoon Tea or an A la Carte, locally sourced Menu. The Function suites are perfect for special occasions or corporate gatherings from 2-350. The newly refurbished Ballroom is easily transformed from facilitating the most formal conference into an impressive banqueting venue for the most prestigious event. The Earl – one of Doncaster’s best kept secrets.

Picture of Earl of Doncaster Hotel, Doncaster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent art deco hotel
This was our second trip to the hotel, and hope it wont be our last.

Reviewed by
J Kempster

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful on the inside!!
My husband and I drove past the hotel twice whilst looking for it as the outside is very understated and does not scream 'Hotel'. Inside, wow! It is a beautifully clean hotel decorated in an art deco style and no attention to detail has been spared. Our room was a double executive and it was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linen was of a high standard. Our bathroom was large and had both a sink and a stand alone shower. Toiletries were beautiful too. We did not eat at the hotel as we had already made plans but if the rooms and the service in the bar & reception are anything to go by, Im sure the meals will be beautiful too.

Reviewed by
L Keogh

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night family visit
Arrived at 2.15, check in straight forward, friendly staff, had to wait ten mins as booking through Late rooms.com the hotel hadn't registered I needed a twin and not a double. Staff were apologetic. The room was very clean and had a nice view over the park. All the complimentary requirements were in place. Breakfast in the morning was very good and reasonably priced. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel if you are happy to pay a little more over and above others in the town for that extra comfort and splendid décor.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Excellent Earl
We stayed at the Earl of Doncaster Hotel as we were going to Doncaster Races. As well as being well located for the races (within easy walking distance) everything about the hotel - staff, décor, food, service was brilliant. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody planning to visit Doncaster.

Reviewed by
Colette M

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly contemporary hotel
Rooms are excellent, by far the best hotel in the UK that I've stayed in in a while. Friendly and extremely helpful staff.

Reviewed by
L Atherton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

summer Crafting
Our stay at the Earl of Doncaster was second to none. The welcome was great. The free upgrade enhanced the stay. The quality of the food was fantastic, I was sorry we couldn't stay longer as we had originally planned. Overall the experience was comparable to 4 and 5 star hotels. Thank you to all the staff at the Earl of Doncaster for a wonder stay and welcome.

Reviewed by
L Groom

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints
Very comfortable, quiet, well equipped room, not too corporate. The building retains its art deco style outwardly and in the foyer and bar, but this is not really evident in the rooms or corridors.
Small complaint: non-opening bedroom windows not to my taste.
Location good, away from the horrifying fleshpots of Doncaster city centre but within walking distance if getting totally wasted or being abused by bar touts is your thing.

Reviewed by
Carol R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to see out cousins in Doncaster
As soon as we arrived we were created by friendly helpful staff who were pleasant to talk to and gave us clear instructions to our room which was very clean and tidy we had a wonderful nights sleep and the breakfast had alot of choice. I would not hesitate on staying here again thankyou very much.

Reviewed by
D Lawson

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect break
We have a very busy work life and needed a complete break,this hotel provided just that,nothibng was too much for the staff they are friendly and really make you feel welcome.it was a rainy weekend but we hardly noticed,on the Saturday they catered for two weddings but still we were made to feel special.thanks for the perfect break we will be booking again soon

Reviewed by
linda russell

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints at all.

Reviewed by
Liam C

From Banbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next