Reviews - Earl of Doncaster Hotel

4

Bennetthorpe, Doncaster, DN2 6AD

Price From 307.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Peter S

  • December 2015

Disappointed

The hotel was understaffed, the trainee on reception when we arrived did well to deal with an unexpected situation about payment, but she had no management back up.

The restraint was set up for a function, therefor not available. The room was comfortable, but why when there are two people arriving do they only provide 1 chocolate drink and 1 pack of biscuits.

Tea and cereal and toast was the offering for continental breakfast. No pastries (our delivery didn't arrive) no breads and cheeses and a poor selection of fruit. At £8.00 a day not very good. Overall a very below average experience, left feeling very underwhelmed. .

  • Shaun Husband

  • December 2015

Fantastic

The hotel is stunning inside our room out of this world and the staff couldn't do enough to help you.

Thank you all.

  • Louise R

  • May 2015

A great stay and very friendly staff

My colleague and I booked a couple of rooms last minute and were very pleased with how accommodating the staff were - in particular, Diane on reception, she was fantastic.

Extremely friendly and very helpful during our stay. The rooms were spacious and clean and decorated tastefully. The food in the restaurant was good, however the service was pretty slow on one particular occasion, but the staff handled it very well and did not charge us for one of the meals and offered a couple of free drinks. Overall, I was very impressed with the Earl of Doncaster and would recommend it to people travelling to the area. Very good value for money too.

  • Julie C

  • January 2015

Excellent

Excellent cooked breakfast served by two waitresses that are a credit to the hotel.

  • Robert M

  • November 2014

Overnight stay for a wedding

The suite was freezing and it was impossible to heat it so we turned the heating off after 4 hours of it allegedly being at 30 degrees C.

The bed was comfortable and the television was big enough to see from it. There was evidence of the occupants before us on the floor and on the settee that hadn't been cleaned away. There was no fridge and the lights were so dim I had to use the torch app on my phone to see the heater controls with all the room lights on. We had lunch shortly after arrival and when I ordered 'Escalope of Pork Cordon Blue' I got Queen Scallops in a tomato sauce??. My wife had completely finished her meal before my replacement arrived but that was probably my own fault as the waitress was upset enough without me making a fuss.. The buffet at the wedding was fine but there were no condiments either at point of service or on the tables, strange. Breakfast the next morning was just OK but plentiful. At check out no-one asked us about our stay or looked like they even cared.

  • C Duff

  • November 2014

Earl of Doncaster Hotel

Booked as family but were on different floors.

Staff were lovely and very helpful. Other family booked and rooms were very different for same price paid.

  • J Hamilton

  • November 2014

A lovely Art Deco hotel

The hotel was lovely and only a 5 minute walk to the racecourse.

Comfortable beds and a spot on breakfast . A top 4* hotel.

  • D Moore

  • November 2014

Not worth the money

We regularly stay in 'nice' hotels for weekend breaks, while the Earl of Doncaster is a modern hotel it didn't live up to what we were expecting.

The room was nicely decorated and comfortable, however there was layers of dust inside the wardrobes, the doors to the balcony couldn't be opened as the balcony hadn't been finished with guard rails, there's no opening windows so no fresh air, the shower head is the wrong fitting for the size of cubicle (sprays to the side rather than on you), complimentary tea/coffee was minimal, overall a little disappointing.

  • David L

  • September 2014

Super hotel will definitely return in the future

  • J Kempster

  • September 2014

Excellent art deco hotel

This was our second trip to the hotel, and hope it wont be our last.