Reviews - Earl of Doncaster Hotel


Bennetthorpe, Doncaster, DN2 6AD

Price From 313.37 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Louise R

  • May 2015

A great stay and very friendly staff

My colleague and I booked a couple of rooms last minute and were very pleased with how accommodating the staff were - in particular, Diane on reception, she was fantastic.

Extremely friendly and very helpful during our stay. The rooms were spacious and clean and decorated tastefully. The food in the restaurant was good, however the service was pretty slow on one particular occasion, but the staff handled it very well and did not charge us for one of the meals and offered a couple of free drinks. Overall, I was very impressed with the Earl of Doncaster and would recommend it to people travelling to the area. Very good value for money too.

  • Julie C

  • January 2015


Excellent cooked breakfast served by two waitresses that are a credit to the hotel.

  • Robert M

  • November 2014

Overnight stay for a wedding

The suite was freezing and it was impossible to heat it so we turned the heating off after 4 hours of it allegedly being at 30 degrees C.

The bed was comfortable and the television was big enough to see from it. There was evidence of the occupants before us on the floor and on the settee that hadn't been cleaned away. There was no fridge and the lights were so dim I had to use the torch app on my phone to see the heater controls with all the room lights on. We had lunch shortly after arrival and when I ordered 'Escalope of Pork Cordon Blue' I got Queen Scallops in a tomato sauce??. My wife had completely finished her meal before my replacement arrived but that was probably my own fault as the waitress was upset enough without me making a fuss.. The buffet at the wedding was fine but there were no condiments either at point of service or on the tables, strange. Breakfast the next morning was just OK but plentiful. At check out no-one asked us about our stay or looked like they even cared.

  • C Duff

  • November 2014

Earl of Doncaster Hotel

Booked as family but were on different floors.

Staff were lovely and very helpful. Other family booked and rooms were very different for same price paid.

  • J Hamilton

  • November 2014

A lovely Art Deco hotel

The hotel was lovely and only a 5 minute walk to the racecourse.

Comfortable beds and a spot on breakfast . A top 4* hotel.

  • D Moore

  • November 2014

Not worth the money

We regularly stay in 'nice' hotels for weekend breaks, while the Earl of Doncaster is a modern hotel it didn't live up to what we were expecting.

The room was nicely decorated and comfortable, however there was layers of dust inside the wardrobes, the doors to the balcony couldn't be opened as the balcony hadn't been finished with guard rails, there's no opening windows so no fresh air, the shower head is the wrong fitting for the size of cubicle (sprays to the side rather than on you), complimentary tea/coffee was minimal, overall a little disappointing.

  • David L

  • September 2014

Super hotel will definitely return in the future

  • J Kempster

  • September 2014

Excellent art deco hotel

This was our second trip to the hotel, and hope it wont be our last.

  • L Keogh

  • August 2014

Beautiful on the inside!!

My husband and I drove past the hotel twice whilst looking for it as the outside is very understated and does not scream 'Hotel'.

Inside, wow. It is a beautifully clean hotel decorated in an art deco style and no attention to detail has been spared. Our room was a double executive and it was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linen was of a high standard. Our bathroom was large and had both a sink and a stand alone shower. Toiletries were beautiful too. We did not eat at the hotel as we had already made plans but if the rooms and the service in the bar & reception are anything to go by, Im sure the meals will be beautiful too.

  • Karen H

  • August 2014

one night family visit

Arrived at 2.15, check in straight forward, friendly staff, had to wait ten mins as booking through Late the hotel hadn't registered I needed a twin and not a double.

Staff were apologetic. The room was very clean and had a nice view over the park. All the complimentary requirements were in place. Breakfast in the morning was very good and reasonably priced. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel if you are happy to pay a little more over and above others in the town for that extra comfort and splendid d├ęcor.