No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Earl of Doncaster Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bennetthorpe , Doncaster, DN2 6AD
The Earl of Doncaster Hotel is superbly located within 500 metres of Doncaster Racecourse and the Town Centre, offering free on-site parking. This impressive Art Deco, 4 Star, Classic British Hotel, has beautifully designed executive bedrooms, a stylish restaurant and a magnificent Ballroom that epitomises all the character and charm of the hotel. The hotel offers luxurious, contemporary accommodation, with spacious en-suite, air-conditioned rooms throughout. The hotel’s restaurant - Cafe bar Concerto, offers an impressive environment in which to enjoy champagne Afternoon Tea or an A la Carte, locally sourced Menu. The Function suites are perfect for special occasions or corporate gatherings from 2-350. The newly refurbished Ballroom is easily transformed from facilitating the most formal conference into an impressive banqueting venue for the most prestigious event. The Earl – one of Doncaster’s best kept secrets.

Picture of Earl of Doncaster Hotel, Doncaster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

doncaster
Excellent room and staff very friendly, only let down by less than four star food, soggy\stale biscuits andburnt pudding doesn't really say the kitchen has attention to detail. We were refuunded for the short comings so overall Recommended

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

SHORT BREAKS AWAY
On our last visit to Doncaster we stayed at the St Ledger Hotel, before that the Regent Hotel, both these Hotels are very nice but the Earl of Doncaster is superior in every way the staff/rooms/food/cleanliness/ are all 100% and at a very good price, the Earl of Doncaster will be my first choice to stay on my next visit.

Reviewed by
JOHN P

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courteous gentleman
We arrived later than expected and even though our room wasn't ready the gentleman on the reception was courteous, offering drinks while we waited.

Reviewed by
Marian Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

£90 on a weekday is steep!
Nice looking hotel. Styled well. But my main issues were the details. Firstly you could tell it had been smoked in, in the past. As the corridors and the stairs were quite stale smelling, you could almost picture the scenes it was quite pungent . Secondly a lot of the fixtures and fittings were really of poor quality and construction. Shower head was grimy and water squirted in all directions, most of it not in the direction of the person it was intended to clean. it was also falling off the wall. Turning on the tap also turned the tap physically to a position where water did not make it into the sink. The toilet seat was stained brown, I really don't know how old that thing was. I'm 31, bet its seen more winters than me. NO FRIDGE in the room??? Booked a twin room. Bed was a double. So had to spend time splitting it into two separate beds. One duvet between two people. I know these are totally 1st world problems but we are looking at £90 on a weekday in this financial climate. Not good. Also breakfast was not included in the price. I'm glad I only spend a total of 7 hours in there (mostly asleep) I know if I had have spent more time in there more faults would be realised.

Reviewed by
craig rouse

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smart and stylish particularly the restaurant and bar area. Very pleasant Stay.

Reviewed by
Russell J

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Earl
Very nice hotel in a good location close to the town centre. Very clean and nicely appointed room and bathroom with a lovely shower.
My only comment would be that you cannot open the windows in the bedroom. It was very warm during my stay, although there is air conditioning in the room it's far too noisy to sleep with it on, being able to open a window would have been an advantage.

Reviewed by
Martin A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend meet up
I just stayed here overnight, to meet up with some friends, so just checked in, had a beer in the bar and then went out. During the short time I was there, all the staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel seemed very nice.

Reviewed by
Alexander J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay.
This was our first visit to Doncaster & therefore The Earl, for a business race day + private stay on the second day. Would definitely use the hotel again for a race meeting as it's so convenient. Had a nice meal in the restaurant the first night - although staff need guidance with serving wine (no option to taste first !) Stayed in a suite which was very roomy & although at the front was quiet due to excellent double glazing. The air conditioning was also very good once we'd worked it out ! Read the instructions!!! Had room service the 2nd night & food was piping hot, good breakfasts both days although a wider choice of yoghurts would have been nice. The hotel has lovely Art Deco features - especially the cocktail bar & restaurant. Any reason to be in the Doncaster area & we would stay here.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my lovely stay
My stay here at the earl of Doncaster, was very pleasant although i only stayed the 1 night . I did not have the chance to try any food, but the restraunt area looked very inviting aswell did the bar area.
My only suggestion would be to change the head on the shower unit it looked a bit worn, that's just a women's view.
Overall the staff were very friendly and pleasant, had a lovely stay will be using you again in the future.

Reviewed by
michelle jenks

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not much to look at, but do not be deceived?
Refurbished art deco hotel just south of Doncaster town centre, staff very helpful & friendly, rooms were above average and clean. Did not eat these but dining room and bars looked smart. Will stay there again

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From Criccieth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next