No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Earl of Doncaster Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bennetthorpe , Doncaster, DN2 6AD
The Earl of Doncaster Hotel is superbly located within 500 metres of Doncaster Racecourse and the Town Centre, offering free on-site parking. This impressive Art Deco, 4 Star, Classic British Hotel, has beautifully designed executive bedrooms, a stylish restaurant and a magnificent Ballroom that epitomises all the character and charm of the hotel. The hotel offers luxurious, contemporary accommodation, with spacious en-suite, air-conditioned rooms throughout. The hotel’s restaurant - Cafe bar Concerto, offers an impressive environment in which to enjoy champagne Afternoon Tea or an A la Carte, locally sourced Menu. The Function suites are perfect for special occasions or corporate gatherings from 2-350. The newly refurbished Ballroom is easily transformed from facilitating the most formal conference into an impressive banqueting venue for the most prestigious event. The Earl – one of Doncaster’s best kept secrets.

Picture of Earl of Doncaster Hotel, Doncaster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, Posh and Highly Recommended!
The Earl of Doncaster hotel is one of the best hotels i've ever stayed in. the staff are really nice and the rooms are well kept and modern. The junior suite what we were in was excellent and well worth the discounted price although the full price would be pushing it.

Reviewed by
Mark V

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Earl of Doncaster hotel - 4 stars and worht it
Pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel - not sure what we really expected of Doncaster but this hotel was indeed worth 4 stars. Attentive staff , good quality room and most importantly a good nights sleep ( it was quiet - we stayed Fri and Sat night ). No problem recommending.....

Reviewed by
Nigel B

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was nice good value for money clean nice bar not far from the. Night life staff where a bit rude on arrival but apart from that was fine

Reviewed by
S H

From , England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Art deco Alive and well in doncaster
Great Art Deco hotel that's modern with a old style feel, can't wait to return for the races hopefully next time, great bargain compared to the usual chain hotels infact better and cheaper, friendly staff, free car park (novelty this day and age) and spotlessly clean,best value for money we've stayed at in years.

Reviewed by
C Sharp

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was beautiful. Very clean and staff were friendly. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Charlotte B

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

doncaster
Excellent room and staff very friendly, only let down by less than four star food, soggy\stale biscuits andburnt pudding doesn't really say the kitchen has attention to detail. We were refuunded for the short comings so overall Recommended

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

SHORT BREAKS AWAY
On our last visit to Doncaster we stayed at the St Ledger Hotel, before that the Regent Hotel, both these Hotels are very nice but the Earl of Doncaster is superior in every way the staff/rooms/food/cleanliness/ are all 100% and at a very good price, the Earl of Doncaster will be my first choice to stay on my next visit.

Reviewed by
JOHN P

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courteous gentleman
We arrived later than expected and even though our room wasn't ready the gentleman on the reception was courteous, offering drinks while we waited.

Reviewed by
Marian Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

£90 on a weekday is steep!
Nice looking hotel. Styled well. But my main issues were the details. Firstly you could tell it had been smoked in, in the past. As the corridors and the stairs were quite stale smelling, you could almost picture the scenes it was quite pungent . Secondly a lot of the fixtures and fittings were really of poor quality and construction. Shower head was grimy and water squirted in all directions, most of it not in the direction of the person it was intended to clean. it was also falling off the wall. Turning on the tap also turned the tap physically to a position where water did not make it into the sink. The toilet seat was stained brown, I really don't know how old that thing was. I'm 31, bet its seen more winters than me. NO FRIDGE in the room??? Booked a twin room. Bed was a double. So had to spend time splitting it into two separate beds. One duvet between two people. I know these are totally 1st world problems but we are looking at £90 on a weekday in this financial climate. Not good. Also breakfast was not included in the price. I'm glad I only spend a total of 7 hours in there (mostly asleep) I know if I had have spent more time in there more faults would be realised.

Reviewed by
craig rouse

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smart and stylish particularly the restaurant and bar area. Very pleasant Stay.

Reviewed by
Russell J

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next