No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Earl of Doncaster Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bennetthorpe , Doncaster, DN2 6AD
The Earl of Doncaster Hotel is superbly located within 500 metres of Doncaster Racecourse and the Town Centre, offering free on-site parking. This impressive Art Deco, 4 Star, Classic British Hotel, has beautifully designed executive bedrooms, a stylish restaurant and a magnificent Ballroom that epitomises all the character and charm of the hotel. The hotel offers luxurious, contemporary accommodation, with spacious en-suite, air-conditioned rooms throughout. The hotel’s restaurant - Cafe bar Concerto, offers an impressive environment in which to enjoy champagne Afternoon Tea or an A la Carte, locally sourced Menu. The Function suites are perfect for special occasions or corporate gatherings from 2-350. The newly refurbished Ballroom is easily transformed from facilitating the most formal conference into an impressive banqueting venue for the most prestigious event. The Earl – one of Doncaster’s best kept secrets.

Picture of Earl of Doncaster Hotel, Doncaster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service
Spent a great Sat. Night at this hotel. Would fully recommend the suites. Service was excellent. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
dave b

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the more comfortable hotels in Doncaster (but not much competition here) but nobody cares....
Have been staying in Doncaster frequently and came to the Earl who I eventually gave up on the Regent. On the plus side it is more comfortable, on the down side pump in the ceiling space outside the room had a noise fault, the shower thermostat didn't work, no opening window, previous guests shampoo bottle perched on the shower fitting, rubbish down the side of the basin unit, maintenance man had fitted a plug that was too big for the plug hole - who wouldn't just check after fitting?
At breakfast joined a very short queue to be seated and watched several staff skilfully avoid seeing the queue, table had been reset but nobody thought to sweep the crumbs off, several menu items not available on the buffet - basic things like yoghurt that is readily available in a couple of supermarkets within a short distance but nobody had the gumption to go out and buy them. Tea pot was filthy, had to ask a couple of times for toast. In all it was hotel run by people that don't appear to care. The only plus was the receptionist asked if everything had been all right and took an interest when I said no, then the reception manager called, although the promised return call didn't happen.

Reviewed by
ian m

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Art Deco
Lovely hotel obviously recently refurbished, smart dining / bar area. Family room was of a good size and had all the usual facilities. An easy 15 minute walk from Doncaster town centre and close to the racecourse. Reasonably family friendly we ate in the lounge rather than the dining room and although there was no children's menu the restaurant provided smaller portions of the main meals. would stay again and would recommend to families, couples and business travellers.

Reviewed by
Jenny L

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

earl of doncaster
Appearances are deceptive! Hotel looks a bit tired from outside, inside is an absolute gem!
Huge rooms, fabulously comfy bed, everything sparkling clean, & great facilities.
Only blemish was at dinner when we were immediately told that there would be a delay in getting our meal, (they were busy) ....only 10 people in restaurant!! ...although there was a function in full swing in separate part of hotel.
We decided to stick with it though, it had been a long day travelling and didn't fancy wandering around Doncaster trying to find another restaurant.
Unfortunately our meal did take ages to arrive, but it must be said that the food was very good.
That aside, the hotel staff were very friendly and courteous and the quality of accommodation was excellent.

Reviewed by
A Crawford

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly Surprised!
This art deco hotel used to be quite run down but is now a breath of fresh air. The original art deco features have all been revitalized and everything looks clean, shiny and actually genuinely classy - like a provincial Claridges. Everywhere was clean - from the carpets to the shiny floor - even obscure corners and stairwells looked well kept and brand new. I was particularly impressed with the beautiful, art deco bar and breakfast room. The room was about what you'd expect from a slightly better hotel than the norm - very clean, large and tasteful - though nothing outstanding.
What impressed me most about this hotel though was the lack of friction and annoying charges for the "extras". Wifi was free with a strong, stable signal - brilliant. Parking was free in a CCTV monitored car park behind the hotel - bliss. And best of all, no need to check out until 11:00 am. Brilliant. What a refreshing change. That's the sort of thing that will make me come back.
The staff serving breakfast were friendly and helpful - service with a smile. The full breakfast - though expensive at nearly £10 a head, was great - everything you'd expect and lots of it.
The only downside was the noise from crazy, drunken women arguing and shouting in the corridors all night after a wedding do. But we did stay on a Saturday night so I kind of expected that - and it's not the hotels fault.
All in all I think this hotel has pulled itself up by its boots and is a shining example of how a hotel should be. I hope they can sustain it - if they do I think they're on to a winner.

Reviewed by
Simon L

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Decided to go away as a last minute thing, after looking around this seemed a great choice. Great value for money and a good location with easy access to restaurants, town and the cinema complex. Room looked just like the photos! Would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
c widdowson

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor food
We were staying for a wedding, the chicken was dry and the veg were very under cooked.
Also the cooked breakfast was terrible

Reviewed by
g georgiou

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel and staff,perfect.
Stayed in Doncaster for a night away from our children to rekindle a bit of love.We ended up partying hard but had a tremendous evening staff where brilliant especially young man on reception.Gave us directions to bars/clubs to go. thank you young sir.

Reviewed by
Shaun Farmer

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round. Really helpful staff and couldn't do more to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Good times!!!

Reviewed by
john b

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Art Deco haven in Doncaster
Highly recommend this beautifully refurbished hotel, great value, lovely welcoming staff and very good, if a little unimaginative food. This is a real haven in what is usually a pretty poor area for quality hotels. We went to the races and this hotel was the icing on the cake of a great weekend.

Reviewed by
Pat M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next