No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
16 Gervis Road , Bournemouth, BH1 3EQ
The privately owned BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms (including eight spacious chalet family rooms) have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large indoor swimming pool for laid back lengths, and the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens are ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sunshine in! Surrounded by seven miles of golden beaches, the town also puts you in the enviable position of having a wide range of excellent tourist attractions nearby. Why not explore the mysteries of the deep at the Oceanarium or step back in time at the Russell-Cotes Art Gallery and Museum? For those of you who enjoy a night out, Bournemouth has a buzzing scene with many popular pubs and clubs to enjoy a drink or three.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny Room but clean
Can't fault the cleanliness, but room was tiny, toilet was literally rammed up against the wall, so made it almost impossible to use. Shower didn't work, bath was the size of a footbath, so trying to bath in something so small was ludicrous. Floor boards outside of room creaked badly so everyone using the lift outside the room, made huge amounts of noise. Simple things that could be done, but have not, seems that management can't be bothered, shame!!!

Reviewed by
Mark D

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best of the lower priced Bournemouth hotels. Nice bar and restuarant with swimming pool.
On arrival the receptionist was really helpful and made me feel very welcome. Room was good with everything needed, Wi-Fi free but very slow so only good for emails etc. Bathroom could do with a refurb and bath/shower flow was poor and some hairs left in bath. Food and service in restaurant was actually really good and I would go there again just for a meal. Waiters and waitresses couldn't do more for guests..top service.

Reviewed by
David R

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrible, avoid at all costs!
Me and my girlfriend travelled to Bournemouth for a weekend. We arrived and was given a room which was absolutely freezing cold. the hotel was prepaid so they knew we were coming. when complained we were given the smallest heater and was told nothing could be done. When we removed the blanket there was various hair inside the bed. I couldn't believe my eyes and called the reception straight away. the manager of the hotel came to the room she looked at the bed and said "would you like me to remove the hair" being very sarcastic. she didn't even offer to change the sheets at this point.
Second night we were quietly watching TV to all of a sudden we had our door being banged very harshly and being shouted at. Confronted with an abusive man we called the hotel security. The management again did not offer an alternative nor handled the situation in a professional manner and left it as is with an abusive person next door. In terms of room, they had a tiny TV, hair drier that doesn't work, and shower that has minimal hot water. Avoid at all costs!

Reviewed by
ozgur e

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Near the centre
Our second time at this hotel. very satisfied, although the lounge was rather chilly in the day.
Excellent Porridge for breakfast. Leave the car and use the buses to everywhere.

Reviewed by
Peter Gale

From Shaftesbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Very good hotel will stay again.

Reviewed by
a porter

From Camelford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Couldn't fault this hotel. Beautiful surroundings. Comfy bed, clean, spacious, and free hot drinks and biscuits!! Staff were lovely and cheerful. Would recommend for business or leisure stays.

Reviewed by
K ASKIN

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
We had a family room with more space than a standard double. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The room was pleasantly warm and had everything one could possibly want: coffee/tea making facilities, TV which was easy to operate, lots of information about the surrounding area etc etc. The Reception staff were very friendly and could not do more to help us.

Reviewed by
R Copestake

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressive food
The hotel was fantastic value for money. The rooms were a little dated, but very clean and comfortable. The pool is small and outside the main hotel building, but pleasant. The outstanding thing was the food. Had a really good restaurant quality meal for only £10!

Reviewed by
H Jeffery

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful, with great food and service. Very good value hotel near the beach.

Reviewed by
M Street

From Exeter , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel but bathrooms need updating.
Nice enough hotel, however I stayed in room 303 and the shower was very poor. Its not a power shower and when my colleague in the room directly below had his shower on, my shower lost all water pressure and I had to wait for him to finish before the pressure came back!
When I had my courtesy phonecall from reception, I informed her but she just said that sometimes happens.
I think Best Western need to update their bathrooms in order to compete with the likes of Premier Inn etc.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next