Reviews - BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale


16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth, BH1 3EQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Mark Creed

  • August 2015


Nice hotel friendly staff will love to stay there again

  • s adams

  • April 2015

we stayed for the night as we were going to a wedding and found it was a lovely hotel.

clean friendly staff. Room was lovely. we used the pool which was lovely, good size. the breakfast was everything you could want and think of and we would definitely stay again and bring the kids. not far to the sea front so would be nice to stay longer next time.

  • G Rowe

  • April 2015

Lovely room

My daughter and I wanted a short break in Bournemouth.

Our choice of hotel was based on price, having a pool and being able to park for free or low cost (£2 a day was good value and made us change from another hotel we were going to book which charged much more for parking and had a smaller car park). Even though we booked the basic twin room, we were thrilled to find a spotless, fresh and spaceous room with windows onto the garden and a bathroom with bath and windows. The pool was even better than the picture on the website as there were loungers that you can take out onto a lawn in a walled garden.

  • S Pledger

  • April 2015

Swimming pool

Would have liked an in house pool, as to enter had to leave by fire escape door & return via main entrance to hotel, pool unattended, showers were scaldingly hot unable to adjust, notice displayed about water very hot, so unable to use.

  • j ewer

  • April 2015

family stay

Nice clean friendly well located hotel.

Very helpful reception staff gave me a different room to help accommodate the kids. Really good food, very good value children's meals very good size and served quickly. Good waiting staff, very prompt and courteous.nice warm pool, kids loved this hotel, not the most inspiring building but more than makes up for this with good food, rooms and exellent value. Breakfast very good too. Short very nice cliff top walk to beach and town. Good on site parking. I travelled with disabled senior and two small children, rooms accesible by lift easily, few steps up to reception otherwise good for seniors. Family rooms by pool very spacious and good value. I was very pleased with value and will stay again.

  • J Woolnough

  • March 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Royale

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Royale.

The staff were helpful and polite. We ate in the bar/lounge the night we arrived and had breakfast the following morning ( stayed one night visiting our daughter), the food was excellent. The hotel facilities were very good. We will happily book to stay here next time and hope to stay longer.

  • M Carrillo

  • March 2015

Nice place to stay

Friendly and very clean

  • Roy H

  • March 2015

Pleasant weekend break

Hotel is in good location within Bournemouth.

Car park is barrier controlled £2 per night which goes to charity.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Room was a bit small and dated but comfortable enough. Walls thin. Thankfully our neighbours were pretty quiet. We were on top floor. Water pressure was feeble and using bath mixer shower was frustrating. Lower floors probably OK. Breakfast was buttet style, bacon was particularly good. Had evening meal out. Hotel has a bar but is situated in entrance lounge, no ambience. Bournemouths attractions are not far away. We both enjoyed our stay at the Royale and felt we got fair value for money, £148.50 for two nights. Would stay there again.

  • Mark D

  • February 2015

Tiny Room but clean

Can't fault the cleanliness, but room was tiny, toilet was literally rammed up against the wall, so made it almost impossible to use.

Shower didn't work, bath was the size of a footbath, so trying to bath in something so small was ludicrous. Floor boards outside of room creaked badly so everyone using the lift outside the room, made huge amounts of noise. Simple things that could be done, but have not, seems that management can't be bothered, shame!!!

  • ozgur e

  • February 2015

Horrible, avoid at all costs!

Me and my girlfriend travelled to Bournemouth for a weekend.

We arrived and was given a room which was absolutely freezing cold. the hotel was prepaid so they knew we were coming. when complained we were given the smallest heater and was told nothing could be done. When we removed the blanket there was various hair inside the bed. I couldn't believe my eyes and called the reception straight away. the manager of the hotel came to the room she looked at the bed and said "would you like me to remove the hair" being very sarcastic. she didn't even offer to change the sheets at this point.

Second night we were quietly watching TV to all of a sudden we had our door being banged very harshly and being shouted at. Confronted with an abusive man we called the hotel security. The management again did not offer an alternative nor handled the situation in a professional manner and left it as is with an abusive person next door. In terms of room, they had a tiny TV, hair drier that doesn't work, and shower that has minimal hot water. Avoid at all costs!