No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ML Lodge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
108 St Mary Street , Cardiff, CF10 1DX
Please check in at our neighbour hotel The Sandringham which is opposite the ML Lodge, next door to Crouch the Jewellers. Full payment is required upon arrival along with a £20 deposit for the room key which will be refunded on departure.

Cardiff is Europe’s fastest growing city and the hotel is ideally placed in the city centre, with its Edwardian arcades and one of Europe’s first Civic Centres including The National Museum and Art Gallery. The hotel is only a two minute walk from the magnificent Millennium Stadium famous for its international rugby and football matches.

We have our own fast food restaurant on the ground floor which is open until the early hours of the morning. The hotel is in an ideal location for shopping malls, nightlife or any Millennium Stadium event. A continental or a fully cooked breakfast is available if required at £6.50 per person and is served opposite at The Sandringham Hotel.

Please not that we have five floors but unfortunately we do not have a lift. Smoking is prohibited in the ML Lodge.
Picture of ML Lodge, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap for city centre
Really cheap for a City centre stay. A lot of steep stairs and the room was okay. Good value.

Reviewed by
H Evans

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The room was quiet, warm and comfortable. The location in central Cardiff is good.
There isn't a lift, which wasn't an issue for me but could be more challenging for people with mobility problems.
The only downside was the uncomfortable mattress.

Reviewed by
Pauline M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and great location
As other reviewers have said, decor etc rather 'tired', but room size good and definitely worth the money.

Reviewed by
Sion Owen

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was very good

Reviewed by
r games

From Bargoed, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not directly oppoosite the Sherringham but above Chicken Cottage
A decent room but up a heck of a lot of stairs. Had to go back into the Sherringham as the man failed to mention it was actually opposite and down a bit but he was helpful when I went back to ask. Basic room but comfy although it was an attic type space but we slept well. Good on short notice but nothing fantastic.

Reviewed by
Richard Heath

From Bargoed, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ML Lodge
Excellent central location. Unfortunately generators at rear of building made for a noisy night. Good excuse to drink more ! Low cost of room made it tolerable for one night.

Reviewed by
N Shaw

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ML Lodge
Great location and very helpful reception.

Reviewed by
chris g

From gloucester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and Comfy
We had three family rooms. The lodge is conveniently placed for sightseeing and nights out. The beds were comfortable, the rooms of varying sizes and contained everything you'd need including - iron/ironing board, fan, tea/coffee tray, T.V., phone, toiletries and actual glasses (not those plastic things). There were a couple of cons - there is no lift and the stairs are narrow and steep this makes carting luggage difficult (even for the younger members of the group); you get one key to a room which could be problematic if someone wanted to stay out longer than others, there's no staff on site (registration is done at the Sandringham on the opposite side of the street) although the phone links to them there; although clean the rooms are dated/looking tired and the carpet on the stairs is very worn (in holes in parts) I actually caught my heel on the carper gripper as I went down to open the door for a friend. We would not have a problem in staying here again.

Reviewed by
Janice S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Must say breakfast outstanding. Service good.

Reviewed by
ian d

From Abertillery, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but a Bit Cheerless
Decor and furnishings rather "tired". Friendly and helpful reception. Good wifi.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next