No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ML Lodge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
108 St Mary Street , Cardiff, CF10 1DX
Please check in at our neighbour hotel The Sandringham which is opposite the ML Lodge, next door to Crouch the Jewellers. Full payment is required upon arrival along with a £20 deposit for the room key which will be refunded on departure.

Cardiff is Europe’s fastest growing city and the hotel is ideally placed in the city centre, with its Edwardian arcades and one of Europe’s first Civic Centres including The National Museum and Art Gallery. The hotel is only a two minute walk from the magnificent Millennium Stadium famous for its international rugby and football matches.

We have our own fast food restaurant on the ground floor which is open until the early hours of the morning. The hotel is in an ideal location for shopping malls, nightlife or any Millennium Stadium event. A continental or a fully cooked breakfast is available if required at £6.50 per person and is served opposite at The Sandringham Hotel.

Please not that we have five floors but unfortunately we do not have a lift. Smoking is prohibited in the ML Lodge.
Picture of ML Lodge, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ML Lodge
Great location and very helpful reception.

Reviewed by
chris g

From gloucester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and Comfy
We had three family rooms. The lodge is conveniently placed for sightseeing and nights out. The beds were comfortable, the rooms of varying sizes and contained everything you'd need including - iron/ironing board, fan, tea/coffee tray, T.V., phone, toiletries and actual glasses (not those plastic things). There were a couple of cons - there is no lift and the stairs are narrow and steep this makes carting luggage difficult (even for the younger members of the group); you get one key to a room which could be problematic if someone wanted to stay out longer than others, there's no staff on site (registration is done at the Sandringham on the opposite side of the street) although the phone links to them there; although clean the rooms are dated/looking tired and the carpet on the stairs is very worn (in holes in parts) I actually caught my heel on the carper gripper as I went down to open the door for a friend. We would not have a problem in staying here again.

Reviewed by
Janice S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Must say breakfast outstanding. Service good.

Reviewed by
ian d

From Abertillery, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but a Bit Cheerless
Decor and furnishings rather "tired". Friendly and helpful reception. Good wifi.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful location, dated room.
After mastering the steep steps, we got to our room on the second floor. To be honest, we were thankful to not be any higher! The room itself was spacious but rather dated. Our first issue was the smell of stagnant water coming from the bathroom. There was a small hole in the floor filled with water and it seems the door had been closed since the last clean. Apart from that the room was simple and comfortable.
Aside from the room, we couldn't fault the location. We were walking distance from the train station, castle and the motorpoint arena.
I do feel the price for the weekend was a little high, given the simplicity of the room. We would stay here again based solely on the location of the hotel and the free wifi.

Reviewed by
Rosa S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
We have now stayed at Sandringham and now at ml lodge both excellent a*

Reviewed by
k symons

From Torrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money !!!
Clean and basic with excellent service and breakfast. Terrific staff !

Reviewed by
paul b

From ivybrdge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic and cheap
Central Cardiff, a long way up 3 flights of stairs, no lift and very basic. BUT cheap, value for money and VERY convenient. It could have been worse - cheap, dirty and noisy - but it wasn't!

Reviewed by
Barry E

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for one night
Stayed for one night, right in the middle of Cardiff can't really fault it as it did the job !

Reviewed by
T Parsons

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wasn't the greatest but decent enough for our trip
The hotel wasn't the greatest but it was fine for our trip! Situated right on the high street gave us chance to find our bearings. However, there was no lift and we had to walk up several flights of stairs to access our room. For £80 for 1 night not including breakfast was a little OTT! I wouldn't normally pay that ridiculous price however I was late booking a room some where else. On top of that we paid £9 for parking. On the over hand it was better than paying full price for the car park where we located ourselves.

Reviewed by
E Wescombe

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next