No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ML Lodge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
108 St Mary Street , Cardiff, CF10 1DX
Please check in at our neighbour hotel The Sandringham which is opposite the ML Lodge, next door to Crouch the Jewellers. Full payment is required upon arrival along with a £20 deposit for the room key which will be refunded on departure.

Cardiff is Europe’s fastest growing city and the hotel is ideally placed in the city centre, with its Edwardian arcades and one of Europe’s first Civic Centres including The National Museum and Art Gallery. The hotel is only a two minute walk from the magnificent Millennium Stadium famous for its international rugby and football matches.

We have our own fast food restaurant on the ground floor which is open until the early hours of the morning. The hotel is in an ideal location for shopping malls, nightlife or any Millennium Stadium event. A continental or a fully cooked breakfast is available if required at £6.50 per person and is served opposite at The Sandringham Hotel.

Please not that we have five floors but unfortunately we do not have a lift. Smoking is prohibited in the ML Lodge.
Picture of ML Lodge, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
I'm in Cardiff quite a lot, but this was the first time I've stayed at the ML Lodge. I was very pleasantly surprised with the size and quality of the room. The quality of the cooked breakfast was also excellent. I would definitely consider using this hotel again.

Reviewed by
M Dillner

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable, very convenient, lots of stairs...
Booked a number of rooms for myself and several friends for an overnight stay in the city. The rooms were clean, comfortable and surprisingly bigger than expected. Excellent value for the cost we paid, very convenient location in the centre of Cardiff which proved very useful being close to all the amenities. We didn't book food, so can not comment on that, but the booking did include complimentary entry into the Jazz bar across the road which had live music on the night. The only negative point was the stairs to get to the rooms, depending upon what floor you were on meant climbing a number of flights of stairs due to there being no lift, certainly kept you fit. Would definitely stay again though.

Reviewed by
Tony F

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room dirty carpet smelly and the stairs are steep and dangerours

ManagementResponse

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. I did not find the carpet to be smelly. However there was a small stain. We will be changing some carpets in April. I admit the stairs are steep so care should be taken but this is with all stairs. We do mention this on Laterooms.com. I thank you for your feedback and can assure you that we are acting on it.

Reviewed by
Martin N

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This accommodation was not as advertised and - although adequate for a single night stay - was basic - not three star as advertised. It was also not a genuine reduction since the rooms were advertised outside the hotel on a large easily visible billboard as a bargain from £35.00 upwards on a permanent basis. The beds were very poor and the room dusty with old carpeting.

Reviewed by
C Martin

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap n Cheerful - Excellent location
We were really impressed with our location which was excellent - central, with a great view of the iconic James Howell & Co. department store ("the Harrods of South Wales"). The room was very large and although basic it was great value. The service was good - the reception staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Sally B

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No parking, about seven flights of stair just to get to the room with no lift, room was cold etc
would not stay there again even for twenty pounds a night. and the warmth from the guy on reception the next morning was not known.

ManagementResponse

I am very sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay. We do not have car parking and the building is located on many floors but this is detailed on all websites. We can reserve rooms on a lower floor if requested. We also have a special price with a local car park. It is unusual to receive a complaint about any of our staff. I will certainly be acting on your feedback.

Reviewed by
Gregory K

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Basic Room
we had to book in over the road in another hotel the staff were very helpful, but once through the front door carpet on the stairs is worn / thread bare in places, the banister was dirty & sticky. there was no way a wheelchair user can use this hotel - there was no lift. the room itself was basic, all the walls are dirty and needs repainting. the bathroom was ok in general, the seal around shower was coming away, the shower was ok and there was only enough hot water for one person.the breakfast was lovely shame we had to go over to the over hotel for it. we were only staying one night, if we were staying long we would have not stayed there.

Reviewed by
t white

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No hot water, damp on the walls and a brick wall for a view this is room 6

Reviewed by
D Morris

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything we wanted and more!
We arrived on the afternoon of our stay to a friendly reception lady who gave us our keys, a code for their free wifi and even gave us some great ideas on places to eat in the local area.
The room was simple, comfy double bed, tv with a great picture (unlike some places we've stayed in) and a clean look to the room and bathroom. There's no limit or restriction on what time you have to be back in the evening which was much to our advantage and it's location was brilliant. It was everything we wanted for a city style getaway.
Only thing we didn't like was the amount of stairs to our room (as we were on the top floor) but too be honest after a couple of drinks, you forget that sort of thing :).
Overall, It was a great experience and we would definatly stay again.
Thank you ML Lodge.

Reviewed by
Matt Gillespie

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but does what it says

Reviewed by
H Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next