Reviews - ML Lodge


108 St Mary Street, Cardiff, CF10 1DX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (64)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • T Parsons

  • August 2014

Good for one night

Stayed for one night, right in the middle of Cardiff can't really fault it as it did the job !

  • E Wescombe

  • August 2014

Wasn't the greatest but decent enough for our trip

The hotel wasn't the greatest but it was fine for our trip.

Situated right on the high street gave us chance to find our bearings. However, there was no lift and we had to walk up several flights of stairs to access our room. For £80 for 1 night not including breakfast was a little OTT. I wouldn't normally pay that ridiculous price however I was late booking a room some where else. On top of that we paid £9 for parking. On the over hand it was better than paying full price for the car park where we located ourselves.

  • William H

  • August 2014

Location excellent.

Good value Good Breakfast. However we were on the fourth floor and daughter on the sixth without a lift. I counted 65 steps to fourth floor. Not suitable for anyone with a mobility problem or elderly or anyone with a heavy suitcase.. The frayed stair carpet is dangerous.

  • l evans

  • July 2014

ml lodge

After an arduous trek up four flights of stairs, the room very basic but had all you could want.

The bed was comfortable and spotless as was sink and loo. The shower was unbelievably dirty. we only needed a place to stay after a concert so we wasn't too concerned about the condition for the amount we paid. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for. I was not put off booking again, the locality was within easy reach of nightlife and next door to a chicken shop!!!

  • J Thompson

  • July 2014



  • Graham Frost

  • July 2014

Perfectly acceptable

Acceptable accommodation for a one-night stay in Cardiff, handy for everything in the city centre.

There are two Wetherspoons within walking distance where you can get a good breakfast very cheaply so I didn't use the Sandringham Hotel restaurant over the road. Also the Café Jazz opposite is great if you like that sort of music. I do, so that was a bonus!

  • R Oluwawo

  • July 2014

lots of step stairs with no lift. The room was so small .

ver disappointing accommodation.

I'm considering legal action for compensation.

  • J Phillips

  • July 2014

Good room, poor shower temperature

No complaints the room, comfortable bed and good tv.

The shower was awful. 99% of the time the shower only produced cold water and when hot did come (whichever way you put the shower lever) the water was too hot to stand in.

  • Barry A

  • July 2014

Hotel price and value.

Disappointed that prices tripled for weekend that I booked due to demand.

I felt this was very unfair as room is a £40 room not a £130 a night room.

  • Martin Barnett

  • June 2014

In the heart of Cardiff

My son and I were attending a conference of Natural History Curators and needed accommodation near the Cardiff museum and Cardiff Bay so the hotel was perfect for both.

There is a wide selection of eateries nearby and we were able to reach pubs and clubs easily if we wanted them. The room was cleaned each day but the sheets and pillowcases were not changed throughout our stay despite the hot and sweat inducing weather. There is no lift and so climbing stairs with bags and cases can present a problem. The only major problem was only being allowed one key between us so if one person wanted to do something and the other something else, one had to wait up to let the other in.