No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ML Lodge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
108 St Mary Street , Cardiff, CF10 1DX
Please check in at our neighbour hotel The Sandringham which is opposite the ML Lodge, next door to Crouch the Jewellers. Full payment is required upon arrival along with a £20 deposit for the room key which will be refunded on departure.

Cardiff is Europe’s fastest growing city and the hotel is ideally placed in the city centre, with its Edwardian arcades and one of Europe’s first Civic Centres including The National Museum and Art Gallery. The hotel is only a two minute walk from the magnificent Millennium Stadium famous for its international rugby and football matches.

We have our own fast food restaurant on the ground floor which is open until the early hours of the morning. The hotel is in an ideal location for shopping malls, nightlife or any Millennium Stadium event. A continental or a fully cooked breakfast is available if required at £6.50 per person and is served opposite at The Sandringham Hotel.

Please not that we have five floors but unfortunately we do not have a lift. Smoking is prohibited in the ML Lodge.
Picture of ML Lodge, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant. Value for money
Happy cheerful reception staff, check in over the road. Clean tidy room, comfy bed, bags of hot water, TV, kettle tea coffee. You get a discount at Cafe Jazz.
Smack in the middle of St Marys Street, short walks to station, shops, castle, Millennium Stadium, Swalec cricket, Ninian Park etc.
Will stay there when ever in Cardiff for cricket, rugby or a concert.
No lift but staff were very helpful to a lady on crutches.

Reviewed by
W HALL

From STAFFORDSHIRE, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware 100 steps
Finding ML Lodge and parking in downtown Cardiff was a nightmare. After parking and walking nobody knew of the place only steps away! After paying, including a £20 key deposit we were given the room on the top floor 100 stairs up a narrow staircase. Carrying 2 suitcases up together was exhausting and dangerous but less exhausting than making 2 trips and even worse coming down.

Reviewed by
P MITCHELL

From STRATFORD, Canada
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good to rest your head
It makes a good base - not very large, but there's a shower and a bed and it's in a great location right in the middle of town.

Reviewed by
Emma Barnes

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most disgusting place I have ever stayed
Do not stay here, the room was up 4 flights of dirty stairs, the carpet was filthy and the bed was old and tired and horrible.

ManagementResponse

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. We do mention the stairs on all websites. I have on your advice had the carpets cleaned and the bed changed. We do act on guests comments.

Reviewed by
h e

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was very clean including the bathroom and the linen. there was hot water and plenty of facilities to accommodate our stay including towels, a hair dryer and tea making facilities. the staff were very helpful and friendly, I reccomend this to anyone if they are planning to stay a couple of nights in Cardiff.

Reviewed by
Sophie C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very central!

Reviewed by
P Denison

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a short stay, or if you are not looking for a hotel to spend a lot of your time, good value for money. Would not be as suitable for a romantic break or holiday.

Reviewed by
A Reed

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rubbish
The hotel was very poor. Nothing like what was shown when we were looking to book somewhere. I would recomend that nobody stayed there. £85 a night what a rip off

ManagementResponse

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. The price charged was competitive for a Saturday night but we are cheaper in the week. We are a small business and I am genuinely saddened that you have not enjoyed yourselves.

Reviewed by
N Marshman

From Wells, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed in many rooms budgeting between £30-£45 per night, this I thought was one if not the worse. Not easy place to find at night when your tired. Apparently on special offer of £42 reduced from £100!! To collect key you have to go to another hotel. The room was dirty-walls, carpets stained. Shower had lots of mould on it, drain cover on floor was missing/broke. bed was very old and freyed, mattress worn you could feel springs. Kettle in room did not work unless you rested something on it to make it connect., window blind would not go up, door stiff to open and close, there are also 100 stair steps to climb to get to room, be wary as some of carpet is worn on stairs, no lift. Very poor value for money. Cardiff lovely place to visit this room does it no favours im afraid.

ManagementResponse

I am disappointed to read that you have not enjoyed your stay. We are a small family run business that does update as finances permit. We are changing carpets periodically. I will get the maintenance issues fixed but the blind does open. The door was very stiff and has been repaired and I apologise that this was not picked up by us beforehand. Sadly there are many stairs with no lift available. However this is mentioned on all sites and we inform guests as much as possible as this is usually the main basis of any complaints. Once again I am sorry that you did not feel you received value for money.

Reviewed by
s biscoe

From sudbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
I'm in Cardiff quite a lot, but this was the first time I've stayed at the ML Lodge. I was very pleasantly surprised with the size and quality of the room. The quality of the cooked breakfast was also excellent. I would definitely consider using this hotel again.

Reviewed by
M Dillner

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next