No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ML Lodge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
108 St Mary Street , Cardiff, CF10 1DX
Please check in at our neighbour hotel The Sandringham which is opposite the ML Lodge, next door to Crouch the Jewellers. Full payment is required upon arrival along with a £20 deposit for the room key which will be refunded on departure.

Cardiff is Europe’s fastest growing city and the hotel is ideally placed in the city centre, with its Edwardian arcades and one of Europe’s first Civic Centres including The National Museum and Art Gallery. The hotel is only a two minute walk from the magnificent Millennium Stadium famous for its international rugby and football matches.

We have our own fast food restaurant on the ground floor which is open until the early hours of the morning. The hotel is in an ideal location for shopping malls, nightlife or any Millennium Stadium event. A continental or a fully cooked breakfast is available if required at £6.50 per person and is served opposite at The Sandringham Hotel.

Please not that we have five floors but unfortunately we do not have a lift. Smoking is prohibited in the ML Lodge.
Picture of ML Lodge, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
53% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In the heart of Cardiff
My son and I were attending a conference of Natural History Curators and needed accommodation near the Cardiff museum and Cardiff Bay so the hotel was perfect for both. There is a wide selection of eateries nearby and we were able to reach pubs and clubs easily if we wanted them. The room was cleaned each day but the sheets and pillowcases were not changed throughout our stay despite the hot and sweat inducing weather. There is no lift and so climbing stairs with bags and cases can present a problem. The only major problem was only being allowed one key between us so if one person wanted to do something and the other something else, one had to wait up to let the other in.

Reviewed by
Martin Barnett

From London, England
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location awful room
Room was extremely shabby and in dire need of modernising.

ManagementResponse

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. The price charged was a lot lower than other city centre hotels so I am disappointed that you did not feel that we were at least good value.

Reviewed by
shay f

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for Money

Reviewed by
tom j

From bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic city centre accommodation.
The room was basic, the T.V. was very small and we couldn't get it to work. There were tea/coffee making facilities, which were most appreciated. The shower door would not close properly and my bath towel had holes in it. Everything else worked properly in the room and bathroom. We were disturbed on both nights by revellers outside making a noise on their way home from the city nightclubs. Next time we visit Cardiff we'll try to find a hotel on the outer edges of the city or with double-glazing!

Reviewed by
P Ratcliffe

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant. Value for money
Happy cheerful reception staff, check in over the road. Clean tidy room, comfy bed, bags of hot water, TV, kettle tea coffee. You get a discount at Cafe Jazz.
Smack in the middle of St Marys Street, short walks to station, shops, castle, Millennium Stadium, Swalec cricket, Ninian Park etc.
Will stay there when ever in Cardiff for cricket, rugby or a concert.
No lift but staff were very helpful to a lady on crutches.

Reviewed by
W HALL

From STAFFORDSHIRE, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware 100 steps
Finding ML Lodge and parking in downtown Cardiff was a nightmare. After parking and walking nobody knew of the place only steps away! After paying, including a £20 key deposit we were given the room on the top floor 100 stairs up a narrow staircase. Carrying 2 suitcases up together was exhausting and dangerous but less exhausting than making 2 trips and even worse coming down.

Reviewed by
P MITCHELL

From STRATFORD, Canada
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good to rest your head
It makes a good base - not very large, but there's a shower and a bed and it's in a great location right in the middle of town.

Reviewed by
Emma Barnes

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most disgusting place I have ever stayed
Do not stay here, the room was up 4 flights of dirty stairs, the carpet was filthy and the bed was old and tired and horrible.

ManagementResponse

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. We do mention the stairs on all websites. I have on your advice had the carpets cleaned and the bed changed. We do act on guests comments.

Reviewed by
h e

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was very clean including the bathroom and the linen. there was hot water and plenty of facilities to accommodate our stay including towels, a hair dryer and tea making facilities. the staff were very helpful and friendly, I reccomend this to anyone if they are planning to stay a couple of nights in Cardiff.

Reviewed by
Sophie C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very central!

Reviewed by
P Denison

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next