No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wentworth House Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
106 Bloomfield Road , Bath, BA2 2AP
Wentworth House hotel is a Victorian mansion in a peaceful location over-looking the city of Bath but just 15 minutes walk from the city centre.The hotel has a large car park, a Garden hot tub open all year round and an outdoor swimming pool(open in the summer).
Picture of Wentworth House Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The anticipation far exceeded the actual experience
We actually thought we'd managed to find a little gem in the generally expensive hotel scene in Bath, £115 a night seemed quite reasonable given its location, grand rooms and...an outdoor swimming pool, perfect for the Indian Summer we were all enjoying. One out of three isn't great. Despite a balmy 20+ temperature, the pool was closed and looked like it had been for some time. Our room was anything but grand, the bathroom could not be any smaller, I have the bruised elbows as proof. Decor and furnishings were tired and lack lustre, the room was dark and overlooked by people having breakfast in the dining room. The breakfast was the high point of the stay, a good choice of cereals and fruit and the cooked breakfast was freshly made. The manager was nice enough and took the time to phone us to remind us he would be locking up at 10.30, but none of the other staff made the effort to engage. On the second night we returned to find the bed covers had been thrown to the top of the bed but nothing had been tucked in or straightened, minimal effort there and none of the teas, coffees, soaps, etc had been topped up. All in all a very disappointing experience and certainly not worth the price.

Reviewed by
D Keightley

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the hotel was pleasant it appeared very dated carpet in hallway in serious need of cleaning.
Hotel guest book in room said bar snacks and evening meal were available but when I asked was told that was old information. I think for £115 per night I would expect a little more the ensuite was so small couldnt even brush teeth without having bathroom door open.

Reviewed by
T Dennett

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was nice enough but the bathroom was in a separate room which wasn't ideal.

Reviewed by
J Vachon

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned room, over cluttered and shower room small. Not bad breakfast and only a short walk away from bath centre. not bad value for money.

Reviewed by
E Hancock

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Velvet overload
Clean bedding. interesting decor, lots of bright velvet upholstery everywhere. Excellent cooked breakfast. Good location 20 minute walk to centre of Bath, but very uphill on way back.

Reviewed by
Hazel P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressions of Wentworth House Hotel
I chose this hotel over other hotels in Bath because it clearly says there is an outdoor swimming pool. However, it was completely out of action which was very disappointing. There is no possibility to get any food or a snack if you arrive in the evening which means the only place you can go is the expensive Bear pub down the road. There is also a hot tub which is advertised but that did not seem to be working either.

Reviewed by
C Egford

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in all departments
Friendly staff, clean accomodation, quirky room and hotel, great location, fantastic breakfast. All plus points! Would recommend and go again

Reviewed by
Ian A

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was excellent - clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast is a little pricey at £10 per person - although you can go up time and again to help yourself to a variety of fare, for the two us we certainly didn't eat £20 of food (we walked into Bath for our first morning's breakfast having a much less expensive and substantial meal in a pub). A big bonus staying at this hotel is the fact that you can leave your car in the hotel's car park - Bath city centre is a mere 10-15 minute walk.

Reviewed by
N Howard

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed. Room was really grubby. Thick dust on skirting boards, dirty head board with a cushion behind to stop headboard banging on radiator. Dust so thick it had turned into fluff.
Very dirty hand marks on doors where my wife used dettox wipes to clean. Dirty toilet and basin.Had a real problem adjusting the shower to right temperature. My wife used to run a guest house where everything was spot on. Would never stay again. Light on ceiling was thick with dust.
Who cleans these premises and gets paid!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Michael Rous

From Birchington , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked an extra night.

Reviewed by
N Burt

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next