Wentworth House Hotel

4

106 Bloomfield Road, Bath, BA2 2AP

Price From 187 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (41)

49% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Stevie Thomas

  • June 2015

Nice place.

Slightly dated decor but that's not a problem. The room we stayed in had a homely feel. Breakfast was good. Very close to bath city centre.

  • Mike S

  • June 2015

Very pleasant hotel & happy to stay here again

Very pleasant hotel with amicable staff.

Large, quiet rooms with good sized bathroom

Beds full kingsize with net curtains & comfortable. Plenty of tea, coffee etc (never enough of those little caramel biscuits at any hotel are there though!)

About 20 mins walk downhill to town centre so bear this in mind if you're going on a shopping spree. Recommend both the Mai Thai restaurant & the Stables bar (homemade pies & pizza with wide selection of ciders) for fair priced evening meals

  • david c

  • May 2015

Good value Bath stay

Very nice welcome and clear information about the easy ways into town.

Just far enough out to be relaxing and a good view of Bath without being too far away. Very clean single room with double bed.

  • Adrian Crask

  • April 2015

Odd ( Down ) Indeed

Nice little place, convenient for the town centre - needs a bit of TLC

  • john c

  • March 2015

Average without any excellence

Breakfast great Room small Room television signal digitally failing Room bed falling apart at leg joint and poor mattress.

Standard keys to room ( low security level in doors). Pool etc not in use

Currently undergoing decoration works

Bar area - not recommended to drink the displayed bottled wine by member of staff as not chilled. Chilled house wine came ready poured from another area

I was not made aware of any of the above prior to making the booking. It's a real shame as this building has so much potential if the occupiers/ owners sorted the issues above out.

  • olivia c

  • March 2015

One night stay

On the positive, we were met politely, offered advice how to get into town and received a lot of assistance when my husband locked himself out of the room.

The breakfast was nice. The room was a upgrade but the decor is tired and the housekeeping could be improved. The bed however was very comfortable.

  • R Lee

  • February 2015

Valentines Weekend

Great location in Bath, a convenient walk right to the city centre.

Lovely presentation of the room, chocolate hearts were a nice touch. We just wanted somewhere in a good location, somewhere clean, tidy and friendly and we got that. We could have paid far more for a fancier hotel in the town but it ticked all the boxes. Nice and warm in the hotel, although got a little hot in the night with the heater on full. The bathroom was a little shabby but again clean and fine for what we needed. Breakfast room lovely with great views, and nice breakfast both days - I'd read it was nice on other reviews so glad to see this was true. I imagine in the summer if the pool and jacuzzi is in use it would be really popular, in the winter it all just looks a little sad and unloved. The man who welcomed us was pleasant as were the breakfast staff. The only let down, and I really don't want to have to write anything bad as we had a nice stay but the bed was terrible and that's not being picky or just not used to a different bed. It basically just felt like it had seen better days, wobbly shaky frame and a mattress that was down to its springs. It was a shame to have nice decor and bedding and then not make sure the bed is up to standard as well. The only thing I wondered was whether its simply because the rest of the stay is so nice guests feel bad about saying the bed's are terribly uncomfortable. Because of that one reason we likely wouldn't stay again because we'd be worried about getting a room with a bad bed, which again is a shame as the rest of the stay was otherwise perfect.

  • Iain P

  • November 2014

Never again

As somebody said previously the car park was good , and the breakfast was okay .

However , the rooms themselves left a lot to be desired . The furniture was old and dated , the kind my parents had in the fifties and sixties and the rest was tacky and tasteless . Our headboard was hideous , and when we saw the empty room next door , it could only be described as a "tarts boudouir" . And as for the seats in the bar , where do you start !!. The description on the website bore no relation to reality.

  • Natercia R

  • November 2014

Nice spontaneous weekend

This hotel had some bad reviews but we went anyway as booking last minute there was not much available.

Even though the price per night was slightly expensive (£110), it did include breakfast (including full english) and was just £6 taxi fare away from the town centre. The room was clean, the bed was extraordinarily confy and we even had a small conservatory, which was a nice place to have some tea. Very good customer service as well. All in all a good hotel for a city break.

  • Wendy P

  • October 2014

A very tired hotel in need of refurbishment .

The hotel was ideally placed to walk into Bath and we were able to park the car but that was the only positive comments on the hotel.

Our bedroom, which was apparently updated,was shabby with poor lighting. The heating only came on at night all night and was not on in the morning, The one in the bathroom didn't work at all. The manager did not appear after we registered and paid our money and no one else was available in order that we could request to change to a better room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone .The pictures on the hotel website bore little resemblance to our room.