No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Seabank Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
WEST DRIVE , PORTHCAWL, CF36 3LU
If Porthcawl with its position midway between Swansea and Cardiff is the ideal spot from which to explore all that South Wales has to offer, then The Seabank Hotel is the perfect base for that exploration. Overlooking inviting beaches with calming sea views, The Seabank Hotel delivers all that you could wish for in a modern hotel, whilst retaining its sense of history and heritage.

Built in the nineteenth century The Seabank Hotel commands the promenade with its almost ship-like exterior, much as it must have dominated the town at its original construction. Many changes have occurred since tutors boomed at the residential college-boys, yet still a distinctive character pervades the hotel, due as much to the attentive friendliness of the staff as the comfortable decor of the interior.

IMPORTANT CLIENT INFORMATION.
DINING:
Breakfast is served from 8am to 9am, dinner from 6pm to 7pm. The hotel will confirm your dining times on arrival. You can pre book your evening meals at a discounted rate of £10 per person per night - contact the hotel by phone or email. Hotel not suitable for hen/stag parties.

PAYMENT & CANCELLATION:
A deposit of £25 per person (non-refundable) is due at the time
of booking. Full payment will be taken from the card provided 3 days prior to your arrival. In case of cancellation up to 3 days prior to arrival no fee will be charged. In case of cancellation less than 3 days prior to arrival or in the case of a no-show the full amount of the stay will be charged.
Picture of Seabank Hotel, PORTHCAWL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast was a let down food was cold and coffee lukewarm was cooked in bulk and not to order

Reviewed by
Ian Parsons

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home comfort
This hotel should be 3 star and very good choice of menu at breakfast and evening meal, and served promptly with entertainment in the evening which my mother and myself enjoyed

Reviewed by
linda a

From Mountain Ash, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent hotel
Room was basic but good for a single room. great shower! Television was very small. Breakfast wasn't very tasty but it was a busy morning. Had a Good night sleep the bed was comfortable and the room was a comfortable temperature. staff were very friendly and hospitable

Reviewed by
E H

From , England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and breakfast not cooked to order
The decor of the hotel was a little dated and in need of modenisation, whilst I appreciate this is an old hotel there are ways of decorating to keep the old world feel with a modern touch and I felt this hotel needed a face lift.
The breakfast was quite obvoiously prepared and not cooked fresh as it was delivered to our table within minutes of being ordered, the kitchen would benefit from cooking to order as my breakfast was luke warm and had obviously sat in a warming area.

Reviewed by
K Fox

From Rogerstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Seabank Experience
Excellent location with adequate parking right on the seafront. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We paid the £10 extra for a "superior" room with a sea view although it seemed pretty standard for a decent hotel and we didn't have the best view of the sea although to be fair it was a late booking and the best rooms were probably occupied already.
The only adverse comments I have concern the "Full" English breakfast supplied and the price charged for a glass of wine. I was charged £4 for a 175ml glass, while most hotels and restaurants charge £4 to £4.50 for a 250ml glass of house wine - a size I was told was against the hotel policy for some reason! The English breakfast supplied was very skimpy compared to most hotels and guesthouses I've stayed at, with only one sausage, one rasher of bacon and not a mushroom or hash brown to be seen. Perhaps I should have asked for a full welsh breakfast.! Finally I was disappointed to be told that the only coffee served with breakfast was instant! If these issues were addressed the ratings and level of satisfaction would be much higher all round.

Reviewed by
M Baker

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was comfortable, good bathroom, hotel could do with a makeover, parts looking very tired.

Reviewed by
j isaacs

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we arrived in porthcawl it was blowing a gail we were missarable and wanted to return home.
We checked into the hotel and was made most welcome by the friendly staff in customer service.
lifting our spirit.When we opened the door of our room and saw the all round veiw of the sea our spirit was lifted higher.We could only think we had the best room in the hotel it was big,and spotlessly clean. We sat for some time just looking out at the sea.watching the waves lashing against the shore. When we went for dinner, the staff in the dining room, made us feel very welcome.the servise and the food was excellent,as was the breakfast the next morning.Checking out it made us wish we were staying longer.I hope to visit the Seabank Hotel again and stay longer .Simply the best.M Mc Carthy

Reviewed by
Mabel Mc Carthy

From Aberdare , UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and a lovely hotel with lots of character
Beds were very comfortable and the food was very good and we look forward to returning to this hotel at a future date.

Reviewed by
G Blake

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and friendly staff
Good value and friendly staff. Some of the corridors are a little bit scruffy but my room was excellent and so was the breakfast. The evening meal was a bit bland but excellent value at £10 for 3 courses.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very tidy thanx

Reviewed by
jason john

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next