Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Bridgend Hotels > The Wyndham Arms- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wyndham Arms- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DUNRAVEN PLACE , BRIDGEND, CF31 1JE
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN 2014 – The Wyndham Arms Hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment. Come along and take a look at our new luxurious bedrooms, modern en-suits and homely pub!

About Us - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has 26 individual bedrooms, all en-suite. All of our rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. Irons and travel cots available upon request. Laundry service for guests available, fees apply. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas.

Location - We're ideally located in Bridgend which is perfect for both leisure and business. With easy access to both Cardiff and Swansea we’re ideal for those attending events at The Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or Swansea Liberty Stadium.

Local Attractions - Famous for its Bridgend Designer Outlet, Glamorgan Heritage Coast and two nearby beaches. The hotel is a short drive from Porthcawl beach, a favourite with our guests, why not take the family for a day out or visit the famous Elvis Festival hosted in September annually.

Transport - Cardiff and Swansea are easily accessible by public transport or by road. Just a 5 minute walk from the train station and bus station, both of which have regular direct transport to both cities. We're situated just a short drive from the M4 meaning both Cardiff and Swansea are within half hour's drive from the hotel.

Car Parking - The Wyndham Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, however this does mean we have no onsite parking facilities. We recommend the Embassy Car Park which is just a short walk from the hotel; approx. 100 meters. Please note that the Embassy Car Park is an attended car park. Rates can be found advertised at the pay point, and payment will be needed in advance. This car park has no height restrictions, perfect for vans. Directions can be given on request.

Directions - Driving from the M4 junction 36, follow signs to Bridgend town centre on the A4061. Follow the A4061 to a large roundabout, continue straight towards the town centre. At the small roundabout turn left, first exit, and then immediately left into the Embassy car park. roundabout. Walk across the foot bridge and continue straight, you will see The Wyndham Arms straight ahead.

Picture of The Wyndham Arms- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, BRIDGEND at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 250 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family room
I stayed in a family room with my partner and two children aged 7 and 14. The room was newly decorated and to a high standard and there was air conditioning which was very good. The size of the room was fairly small for a family room. There were 2 single beds and one sofa bed only big enough for one person. My daughtef is 7 and my son is 14 so we needed another bed. I reported this to the receptionist who was very helpful and rearranged the room for so that a matress could be brought into the room which was made up as a bed. This meant we had to comprise on space in the room so was given a 30% discount on the price we paid for that night. I was happy with this.

Reviewed by
Lisa C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel for not much money...
No complaints - excellent value, good room, friendly staff. Wetherspoons breakfasts are good too. Parking is about 200M away and £6 a day. Very happy with this hotel.

Reviewed by
Nick V

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single Traveller
Great Room recently refurbished, Friendly, helpful staff.
Travelled alone to attend a funeral, felt very comfortable staying here.
Easy access to countryside or city centre.

Reviewed by
L Worsfold

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern town centre hotel
Very pleasant staff, hotel has been refurbished. Room was very modern with AC and comfortable bed. A very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
S Lee

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family room large, clean and decorated smartly. Pleasant staff. Friendly regulars in bar. Great value for money. Good food and drink reasonably priced. Although pub downstairs could not hear any noise in our room. Located near shopping area and easy access to coastal towns.

Reviewed by
s pruett

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced room
Overall the hotel is clean and reasonably presented (recently re decorated 2014 i believe) but in all fairness £70 per night is slightly overpriced (rate for the next day, ie Sunday was £39). Whilst it is normal for hotels to capitalize on different days etc we felt this was taken a little to far on this occasion. Generally speaking it was a good experience but next time i think we would look around a little bit more before booking. A fairer tariff for the evening would have been between £55-£65.

Reviewed by
m thomas

From Ammanford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Accommodation was excellent, all looked new;y refurbished. Only down side was no parking, but there were a couple of large carparks only a short walk away.

Reviewed by
Linda C

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot in the town of Bridgend
Considering the room was above a lively and popular pub the noise level was non-existent apart from one couple leaving the pub, can't complain!
Air conditioning and a hairdryer were unexpected bonusses, the staff were great, even offering to call a doctor when I slipped on the stairs, big feet and clumsy.
I recieved a phone call just before as the lift was out of order, a nice touch even if stairs and me don't get on!
I ate in the evening and breakfast time and was impressed by the quality and the price, love the free coffee refils until 2am.
Overall it was clean, comfy and quiet with good staff and service, i will stay again when I visit.

Reviewed by
d jacob

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

summer 2014
Just refurbished. Great room. noisy at weekend outside (Wetherspoons is popular) would go again.

Reviewed by
Robert W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We spent two nights at the Wyndham Arms over a week-end, our room was excellent, the bathroom was very spacious with everything we needed. The bonus was the air conditioning, the week-end was very hot but we slept exceptionally well because we were nice and cool. The staff were very polite and nice to us, the receptionist even took our bags to our room, which we thought was a very nice touch. We will stay there again without a doubt and thank you to all.

Reviewed by
Joyce Gilmore

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next