Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Bridgend Hotels > The Wyndham Arms- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wyndham Arms- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DUNRAVEN PLACE , BRIDGEND, CF31 1JE
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN 2014 – The Wyndham Arms Hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment. Come along and take a look at our new luxurious bedrooms, modern en-suits and homely pub!

About Us - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has 26 individual bedrooms, all en-suite. All of our rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. Irons and travel cots available upon request. Laundry service for guests available, fees apply. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas.

Location - We're ideally located in Bridgend which is perfect for both leisure and business. With easy access to both Cardiff and Swansea we’re ideal for those attending events at The Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or Swansea Liberty Stadium.

Local Attractions - Famous for its Bridgend Designer Outlet, Glamorgan Heritage Coast and two nearby beaches. The hotel is a short drive from Porthcawl beach, a favourite with our guests, why not take the family for a day out or visit the famous Elvis Festival hosted in September annually.

Transport - Cardiff and Swansea are easily accessible by public transport or by road. Just a 5 minute walk from the train station and bus station, both of which have regular direct transport to both cities. We're situated just a short drive from the M4 meaning both Cardiff and Swansea are within half hour's drive from the hotel.

Car Parking - The Wyndham Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, however this does mean we have no onsite parking facilities. We recommend the Embassy Car Park which is just a short walk from the hotel; approx. 100 meters. Please note that the Embassy Car Park is an attended car park. Rates can be found advertised at the pay point, and payment will be needed in advance. This car park has no height restrictions, perfect for vans. Directions can be given on request.

Directions - Driving from the M4 junction 36, follow signs to Bridgend town centre on the A4061. Follow the A4061 to a large roundabout, continue straight towards the town centre. At the small roundabout turn left, first exit, and then immediately left into the Embassy car park. roundabout. Walk across the foot bridge and continue straight, you will see The Wyndham Arms straight ahead.

Picture of The Wyndham Arms- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, BRIDGEND at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 238 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location, cracking hotel and just renovated
You couldn't be better placed in Bridgend and the prices are unbelievably cheap for the quality you get. Well Recommended

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing standard of hotel and staff
I had a single room for the night and to say I was shocked at the standard is an understatement. The room was really clean, very high standard, the staff were awesome. A couple of issues with the power in the however this stemmed from a power cut experienced just before I arrived. All issues were dealt with very swiftly. Very impressed.

Reviewed by
Steve Anderson

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value & centrally located
Friendly service, modern interiors and great value drinks and food. Free parking in Brewery Lane over night.

Reviewed by
Daniel S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
Very nice recently refurbished hotel with a central location, Parking is away from the hotel but is attended throughout the night, about a 2-3 min walk. Food was wetherspoons standard but Ok for the night, very quick friendly service.

Reviewed by
Kevin L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money even more so now that all rooms have been renovated to a very good standard.

Reviewed by
Rodney P

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and spacious room and for £30 per room a real bargain. Reception very helpful and could not do enough for us.

Reviewed by
Philip V

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel! Great value and clean!!
The hotel itself is lovely, all areas clean. Was met by a very nice friendly receptionist. Room is nice and modern, lovely and clean with tea and coffee making facilities. Hotel nice and secure, very comfortable!! Value for money and would defo book again
Only bad note is the food! Having ate there many times and usually have lovely food and great service so I was very disappointed with the meal I had on the saturday evening. Poor quality and poor service.....we were not offered sauces and our meal was literally a burger in a bun.....salad was missing and literally 10 chips!! Think it was a matter of it being extremely busy....which accounts for the poor service but not for food quality

Reviewed by
Gemma G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved the hotel but not the staff
Room was lovely, much better than expected. Big,clean, comfortable with everything we needed and a very reasonable price and right in the town centre.
However due to a miss understanding with the booking we were spoken to rudely by a team member who then proceeded to ring her extremely drunk, slurring manager to re explain the policy to us. Very embarrassing for all involved and highly unprofessional and not necessary.

Reviewed by
S Martyn

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent hotel but an unusual check in experience
Despite being a frequent traveler, I rarely write reviews unless I have something nice to say about the place but for this, I have decided to make an exception.
If you are looking to stay somewhere central in Bridgend, close to restaurants, is not too expensive and rates high on cleanliness then this is just the place to stay.
Just be prepared for one or two oddities:
If you are checking in late (after 10pm) you find no one answers the door buzzer, don't panic and wait for a kind soul to let you in. When you make your way to the reception and find it's closed, again do not panic, atleast you are inside the hotel. Make way to the bar downstairs and speak to the bar staff there. Stay calm though if they tell you they have lost the keys to the reception. Admire the elegantly framed paintings and photographs, while they are trying to lift the shutters and climbing over the counter to get inside the reception so they can do the check in. You cannot blame them for not making an effort atleast. At last once you have checked in and they tell you they are sorry for the mess and offer you a free breakfast in the morning, just take it easy, for it may not actually happen. Don't get too frustrated if you find yourself frequently making trips to the reception during your stay only to find there's no one there, they are clearly busy elsewhere.
If you are willing to ignore a few things like that, it's a nice hotel.

Reviewed by
m sharma

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wyndham Arms Bridgend
Hotel was good but lack of parking was disappointing. Nearby parking was more than we were told.

Reviewed by
Susan A

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next