No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
112 Bridge Street , Worksop, S80 1HT
One landmark that has dominated Worksop since the 16th century is the BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, a former coaching inn that has been serving the public for over 400 years. All 45 bedrooms are well appointed with a choice of double, king size, twin, executive or family suites. A choice of dining is available, be it a light meal in the Lounge Bar taken throughout the day or evening, or a more extensive dining menu as offered in the 50-seat restaurant. The well-equipped Ostlers function suite offers flexibility to the conference and function organizer alike, whether it is banqueting for up to 140 or theatre seating for up to 180. The BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel holds a civil wedding license and is a very popular marriage venue. Located in the center of Worksop, the BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel is on the doorsteps of Clumber Park a National Trust and the beautiful Sherwood Forest. Worksop is surrounded by golf courses within a 15-minute drive and is networked by the M1, A1 and A57 link road.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, Worksop at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel for people who like steps.
No signage to indicate there is a car park behind the hotel. Although I had booked weeks in advance I was given a room with a cracked hand basin and inside the room five steps down to the bathroom area. Also very steep steps up to the bedrooms. No offer to help with baggage despite age and steps.

Reviewed by
Joy F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
very nice hotel

Reviewed by
Angie H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Can't fault this hotel, friendly staff, great service, fantastic food and room was great. Bed could have been better but that was the only minor flaw.

Reviewed by
adrian w

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelling alone safely
My single room was well situated quiet, comfortable, very clean, if not a bit basic. The reception staff were not able to inform me of the running of public transport over the Easter period of which there is none on Easter Sunday, or if there were any places of interest within walking distance, or around Worksop. So my stay was spoilt by this. I was also unable to get any one on reception between 05:00 and 06:30 on the Monday morning, either by phone or presenting myself there, when I eventually got the guy's attention, he was unable to tell me if the trains were running as normal on Easter Monday for me to travel home, nor did he have a customer information number for the trains that I could call. Maybe Easter is not a good time to visit Worksop ! The food was excellent and the waiting staff were top standard .

Reviewed by
k kean

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem in Worksop
Right in town easy to get to, very friendly staff and service.

Reviewed by
M Evans

From Pentre, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If I never stay there again....
.....I won't be sorry. Hotel decor is tired to say the least - only stayed B&B - bed did not have a pocket sprung mattress, room was dingy, room furnishings were old & depressing, car parking inadequate, breakfast was just about OK, but on a positive note, it all seemed clean enough.... Although I only stayed two nights, received one newspaper, they managed to bill me for three! Room was extremely hot & stuffy (air con hasn't reached Worksop yet) - with the windows open you get the benefit of being woken up in the early morning by the roadsweeper running up & down the pedestrian precinct outside. With the windows closed, you can still hear it as there's no double glazing, either! What a dump!

Reviewed by
Stephen J

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

EXCELLENT TOWN CENTRE LOCATION PERFECT FOR OUR NEEDS
LOVELY HOTEL WITH LOTS OF CHARACTER WE WERE GIVEN THE PRIORY ROOMS, WHICH WAS OF A VERY HIGH STANDARD.
USED THE HOTEL FOR AN OVERNIGHT STAY AFTER VISITING A CONCERT IN CLUMBER PARK, IDEAL FOR THIS AND WILL DEFINITELY USE AGAIN

Reviewed by
Beverley P

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was easy to find, very welcoming and not to large. the staff very helpful and the rooms very nice. this hotel is in the main street in worksop but is easy accesable to get to other places

Reviewed by
jean s

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay of two nights
Polite and help full staff and the room was nicely fitted out.

Reviewed by
R HEYWOOD

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 217 toilet and bath downstairs ???
No fridge
Shower not working very well

Reviewed by
George Kerekgyarto

From Caldicot, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next