No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Woodlands Windermere

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
New Road, Windermere, LA23 2EE
In Windermere, just a short stroll from the lake and Bowness, Woodlands offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and luxurious, 5-star accommodation in boutique-style rooms.

In the heart of the beautiful Lake District, Woodlands is just a short walk from Lake Windermere and the shops, bars and cafes of Bowness. The World of Beatrix Potter is just 15 minutes away, and Windermere Golf Club is a 5 minute drive.

All of the stylish en suite rooms feature designer beds, LCD flat-screen TVs and luxurious toiletries from the White Company. Some rooms have four-poster beds.

A full English breakfast is served each morning and includes fresh, local produce. The bar serves a range of drinks, including freshly ground Italian coffee and organic wine.
Picture of Woodlands Windermere, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woodlands
Very pleasant stay at The Woodlands, booked for my husbands 40th Birthday, room was clean and decor was nice and modern, tea/coffee making facilities also iron/ironing board in room, breakfast was excellent, only downside was the room was small (room 2), but saying that we were only sleeping in it so wasn't a problem.

Reviewed by
R White

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
disappointed hotel didn't have sauna,swimmimg pool as specified,this was all based in another hotel down the road
hotel on a busy road,therefore take earplugs if want a good nights sleep

Reviewed by
J Mitchell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woodlands Hotel
Stayed 2 nights in rooms at back of hotel. Lovely area. Rooms spotless. Very welcoming staff. Recommended

Reviewed by
Karen H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to stay
lovely place to stay nice and quiet staff where very friendly and polite. A nice walk down to bowness centre. Food at breakfast set you up for the day ahead. We stopped in room no 2 it was spotlessly clean nice and cosy perfect.

Reviewed by
D Walker

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay.
we found this property a lovely old guest house with lots of character.
The staff were very friendly, & made us feel very welcome.
The bedroom we had was with a 4 poster bed, but it would of been nice if the poster bed was decorated in fabric, otherwise there seems no point in a 4 poster bed.
But we had a very enjoyable stay, & i would recommend the stay here.

Reviewed by
Mark P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing weekend in windermere.
Great location,great parking facilities,very welcoming,lovely break.

Reviewed by
s evans

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very lovely place to stay, the staff and owners are very nice

Reviewed by
GRAEME W

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

woodlands windermere
Owners very welcoming and helpful with local knowledge. Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel , we enjoyed our stay here. Good location to visit surrounding areas.

Reviewed by
Wendy Wheybrew

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel - watch your room choice and beware value for money
This is a lovely hotel and the staff and owners are lovely.
It is a little bit of a victim of its own marketing and expectation setting.
My experience is that paying for a 'premium' room and don't get me wrong it was a lovely room maybe the cost and my expectations were not met. Maybe had we got one of the better rates on offer the niggles would not have seemed so bad. Two nights for over £270. This was not worth that. As a result I have to reflect that in the quality and value for money scores.
The garden room had no bath. It has a small shower room that floods. We reported it and they dealt with it. The room is big enough to house a toilet and a shower and to just about stand in the space thats left. I remind you this £270 for 2 nights. Quality therefore for the price low and value for money therefore low.
The garden room is in the carpark. Below the kitchen. With no privacy or seating area. No private area. No segregation. No big deal and pleasant enough. But we booked a courtyard room. Not a car park room. And this was £270 for 2 nights.
The hotel has free wifi. It does not work in the garden / cellar rooms. This room was £270 for 2 nights.
The hotel and therefore review is the victim of just being in the wrong charging bracket and reality not meeting the expectation of the marketing or the price.
For 70 to 80 a night - you would probably say, thats a nice room. Pay that ball park and you will probably be delighted.
You can get a lot of hotel for £270 for two nights. And sadly this isn't it.
** The owner did explain to his credit in detail why the rate was what it was. This was in a response to a complaint email I sent on our first day. I appreciate his time doing so and understand his position but that does not alter the material facts for the customer. Too expensive for what it was.

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

woodlands hotel bowness
an excellent hotel, lovely room well equipped comfortable, nice food and friendly staff
car parking available at the hotel and a ten to fifteen minute walk into the Center of Bowness

Reviewed by
d gath

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next