No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Great Langdale , Ambleside, LA22 9JX
This family run hotel, set in 6 acres of land with spectacular views over the Langdale Valley, has an excellent chef preparing local dishes to be enjoyed in the charming restaurant in front of open log fires. Close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and situated conveniently for visiting many interesting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal, the Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.

All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.

The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar. Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.

Please note a non refundable but transferable deposit of £40 is taken upon verifying bookings.
Picture of New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location, and really lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
k valentine

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most relaxing break ever
Only stayed one night as we were on our way to Scotland. I wish we'd booked longer and will definitely be back soon.
Room delightful with a beautiful view.
Food outstanding.

Reviewed by
Nicola Kew

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Location
The New Dungeon Ghyll is a very pretty and comfortable retreat amid the fells of Great Langdale. If it's sunny you can eat in the beer garden while looking out to the Langdale Pikes. Food is okay but not memorable.

Reviewed by
John Gillham

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent, family-run hotel in a drop-dead-gorgeous setting!
My wife and I were given a warm welcome and shown to a room with a lovely fell view. After a while, we discovered that the TV didn't work, but we were immediately upgraded to another room - where the TV did work! The food, both breakfast and in the evening, was of excellent quality and, though not cheap, we felt it was good value for money. Overall impression: a comfortable, friendly and efficient place to stay - with those gorgeous views of teh Lakeland fells!

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect get away
We had recently got married on the start of our honeymoon and ,looking for a quick getaway for a few days . The hotel couldn't have been better situated or in a better location for our walking and climbing which we both enjoy....the service was excellent the staff friendly and the food and breakfast was really good and came with a smile I might add , nothing was too much trouble.
The weather apart from a spot of rain was remarkable for mid September in the lakes and the views at the back of the hotel looking up at Dungeon Gill were stunning.
At the end of our brief stay we were fully relaxed and ready to go on our next stage of the honeymoon lets see if it was as good as this .
We even talked about coming here again for our anniversary .

Reviewed by
mark s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our brief stay at the New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel - it's not the Ritz but who wants the Ritz in the Lakes? Our room was a decent size, nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast was fine, maybe an extra few pence on the sausages wouldn't go amiss but that's all I could criticise. We ate in the bar, food was good, beer well kept etc but there's also a restaurant we didn't try. The real secret to this place in our view is the great staff - the attitude of all the staff we encountered was welcoming, eager to help etc and they are why I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Reviewed by
Chris Riley

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money - great location - quiet retreat
I have read a lot of reviews regarding this hotel and I can honestly say from personal experience that this hotel is hidden gem. Both myself and my wife thoroughly enjoyed our two nights B & B, we were sad we had to go home!. The hotel has a very relaxed theme, the guests are mixed of young and older generations and none were the wild and party animal type. Children and pets were welcomed and there are plenty of rooms to relax and chill and have a coffee or something stronger from the attached bar.
The prices are fair and the food is of a very high standard, the breakfast is plentiful and the dinning room capable of holding all the guests.
We had dinner on our last night and the chef didn't let us down, top notch stuff!.
The landlady and her merry band of staff work hard and are sociable and helpful and nothing is too much for them.
The bedroom was a nice size and when the night falls we didn't hear a sound and slept like babies.
The scenery is too die for, with walks right outside and the gardens are beautiful.
I would highly recommend this hotel because trust me I have stayed in 5 star hotels in the past and some are not a patch on this!
Come and see for yourself!

Reviewed by
G Cunningham

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff
Brilliant all covered for each other and customer service was outstanding in every regard.

Reviewed by
Richard Wood

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel by Mike Moore
The Hotel is a really nice hotel in a great location. If you appreciate having outstanding walks straight on your doorstep then this is the hotel for you. We were fortunate to have a view from every window. Good hearty tasty breakfast in the morning to set you up for the day, makes it worthwhile getting up early.

Reviewed by
Michael Moore

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was to a good standard with ensuite. The view was beautiful from both windows. The staff were helpful and the food was good. The only slight problem was one bedside light wasn't working. It is ideal if you want to go walking or for a relaxing holiday as the scenery is amazing. It was very good value for money. We would definitely go again.

Reviewed by
Victoria B

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next