No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Coombe Abbey Hotel Warwickshire

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Brinklow Road Warwickshire, Coventry , CV3 2AB
A warm welcome awaits as we invite you to step straight into the history books and enjoy the unique experience that is Coombe Abbey Hotel.
Originally a 12th Century Cisterican Abbey set in 500 acres of breathtaking parkland, with formal gardens designed by Lancelot "Capability" Brown, Coombe Abbey offers a haven of peace and tranquility from the stresses of the outside world.Imagine a hotel where every room is different, where you may find a grand four-poster bed, or a bathroom which is hidden behind a bookcase.It does not matter how many visits you make to Coombe Abbey as every trip will feel like the first. That's because each of our magnificent bedchambers is unique, offering guests warm lighting, rich colours and stunning furnishings.Dining at Coombe Abbey is a feast for all senses. While yours eyes delight in the surroundings of our Garden Room Restaurant your taste buds can savour the flavours of Coombe's fine food. The dress code for the restaurant is smart/casual no demin or trainers. Should guests wish to dine at the hotel then pre booking is essential, this can be done through our reservations team. If a table reservation is not
made then it can not be guaranteed that a table in our restaurant would be available.

A warm welcome awaits you.Coombe Abbey is just 4 miles from the A46 and 6 miles from the M6 motorway.The M1, M40, M42,M69 are all close by. Coventry Airport is just 5 miles away, while Birmingham NEC and International Airport are a short drive away.
Picture of Coombe Abbey Hotel Warwickshire, Coventry  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location and fantastic restaurant food
Unique historical setting , great for photos and excellent grounds. Room looked old with four poster bed but apparently was a new one built in 1990's. Room very dark so atmospheric and in keeping. Conservatory breakfast good , better when cooked to order than buffet (not sure why this varies). Bar food ok (burger way overcooked) but restaurant food was exceptional . Variety , imaginative and superb flavours. Do walk around the park it is excellent. Staff exceptionally friendly yet professional. Rooms vary a lot so would be good to know which part of the building you will be in. My only negative (except for the burger and long wait for it - rescued by Tony and some crisps plus great stories) was the thick layer of dust on top of the huge four poster bed (I am tall enough to reach) . Difficult not to be impressed by the building and surroundings . This is a hotel with real character (and characters).

Reviewed by
C Bradley

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, great food and a place with real character.
Fabulous room with great character. Could do with more lights as very dark but that is very much a minor comment as I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend the hotel.
Food was very good plus the bar and restaurant service was outstanding.
Stayed at the hotel a few years ago and all was good then so will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
Peter Bell

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Can't fault my time at Coombe Abbey, the room was great with loads of period features. The staff provided excellent customer service and were all really helpful. The hotel has a wonderful period feel with complimentary grounds with formal garden to take a stroll in - I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Norris

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

v good
a great place to unwind & step back in time. leave your mobile off!

Reviewed by
wayne h

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning accommodation, lack lustre food
The abbey is simply stunning - it's a very special place. It's only the food that let it down. Customer service as we arrived at the lobby was fab - again, only let down at the bar when we waited over an hr (as our order was forgotten) for the most over-priced (£14.95) plaice and chips. The plaice was in small over-fried pieces and husband's curry tasted like a Wheatherspoons special, but we were both so tired and hungry, we ate it and left. The breakfast in the morning was perfect though!
We paid for an upgrade on the room. And although you couldn't possibly have found fault with the opulent decor which was gorgeous and very much in keeping with the stunning hotel, the room (109) seemed smaller than the others with a view of the back of other rooms. (Possibly should've stayed in the standard room as we'd have had views to the front with the same size room. Seemed we just paid the £30 upgrade for the 4 poster bed? Would love to try out one of the incredible suites with stairs to bed!
So on the whole, a breathtakingly beautiful hotel and a fab experience - just with a few food issues.

Reviewed by
Naomi E

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paid for a luxury room and it was no way near as nice as some of the standard rooms I seen

Reviewed by
Liam G

From Dawlish, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night away
When I arrived at this venue I was so impressed. I loved the whole thing apart from the breakfast. The building itself is beautiful along with the internal architecture and the grounds. I even viewed the bigger rooms to go back with my husband. My only disappointment was the breakfast. Having paid nearly £15 as an extra for a breakfast I found that the quality was rather poor and tasteless. Because of this I will not be going back.

Reviewed by
R Bellamy

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unusual hotel
Very nice unusual hotel, set in a lovely location and very querky.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Blewbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really nice stay and the breakfast was perfect

Reviewed by
P Davie

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic hotel
My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night and again on our anniversary. We asked for the same room with the secret bathroom which we had and we love this room. The hotel is beautiful and has a spooky ambience which is great.
This hotel will make you want to visit again and again.

Reviewed by
ruth holloway

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next