Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Cardiff Castle Hotels > Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
CASTLE STREET , CARDIFF, CF10 1SZ
The Angel Hotel is Nestled between Cardiff Castle and the Millennium Stadium, the Angel Hotel is perfectly placed for exploring this vibrant city. Steeped in history, the hotel dates back to 1883 and is the most famous in Cardiff. Some of the world's greatest stars have walked down the hotel's magnificent staircase, including Marlene Dietrich, The Beatles and Gregory Peck. Recent investment has restored the building to its former Victorian splendour and it now benefits from air-conditioning in all bedrooms and secure car parking. Parking is on a first come first served basis and charged at £10 per car per day
Picture of Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 107 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection
The room we were allocated was on the 3rd floor. It was very dated and every step we took the floorboards creaked which was very annoying. The only window was a veloux roof window which we had to step on a chair to open. The hotel was far from being busy so why were we allocated this room?
The continental breakfast consisted of a plateful of sliced cheese and salami. Having said that, the full english breakfast that my husband had was excellent.
All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was good

Reviewed by
M GIRALDO ARREDONDO

From London, Reino Unido
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection
Please with the customer service received. Ideal location for city visit.

Reviewed by
M Malooq

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a bit disappointed with the room windows had a lot of draft coming through them . and what was the worse thing was the fact that I had work to do on the internet and low and behold there was no connection at all , and when I asked about this to reception the girl said she was trying to get it fixed , I said it was said on booking it was free and I even asked if I can pay for a better connection has when trying to connect it said premium internet extra . and yet when I asked if I can pay to get it she said that it was the same has the free one .. I thought why are you charging extra for same one ? . So I had to go out to a local pub to get my work done ..

Reviewed by
michael lewis

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, reasonably priced but oh so tired!
Location wise this is a great hotel in the centre of Cardiff, the staff were friendly and helpful and the room and bar rates were very reasonable, unfortunately the rest of the hotel is in need of a major refurbishment. The room, whilst very spacious was extremely tired with worn decor. I really cannot say anymore, it needs money spending on it, I hope it gets the investment as other than that it has huge potential.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

She needs a makeover
The room (215) was very clean, but dated. The whole hotel seems to be run by competent, courteous staff; but now needs investment to replace worm carpets and fittings.
The room had 2 large, old fashion sash windows, but while it was warm with no draft, most of the putty was missing and there were weeds on the windowsill.
A nice place to stay, good location, great staff, but needs money spent to really give the Angel back the opulence I remember of old…

Reviewed by
Gary Williams

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A surprise
The room was very spacious, the bed was huge and the bathroom was spotless. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The secure parking in the city centre was a bonus.

Reviewed by
susan u

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good All Round
A brief stay but very pleasant and friendly

Reviewed by
R Banks

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top hotel
Really lovely hotel, friendly staff and really great location would stay again for sure

Reviewed by
Victoria Stone

From Pembroke, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel of a stay!
We stayed at The Angel Hotel, Cardiff for a Christmas night out. The service was excellent. Very welcoming staff with nothing being too much trouble! The hotel was clean & quite a beautiful building with a gorgeous grand staircase for those ballgown photos! The room was a good size, bathroom spotless, warm (it was December & blowing a gale outside), with ample tea & coffee. Despite there being a function taking place in the hotel, it was lovely & quiet. The only downsides, very small car park which cost £10! And rattly windows, but it was blowing a gale, & the room was very warm despite the rattles!
I thoroughly recommend The Angel if you're visiting Cardiff!

Reviewed by
Nia B

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next