Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Cardiff Castle Hotels > Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
CASTLE STREET , CARDIFF, CF10 1SZ
The Angel Hotel is Nestled between Cardiff Castle and the Millennium Stadium, the Angel Hotel is perfectly placed for exploring this vibrant city. Steeped in history, the hotel dates back to 1883 and is the most famous in Cardiff. Some of the world's greatest stars have walked down the hotel's magnificent staircase, including Marlene Dietrich, The Beatles and Gregory Peck. Recent investment has restored the building to its former Victorian splendour and it now benefits from air-conditioning in all bedrooms and secure car parking. Parking is on a first come first served basis and charged at £10 per car per day
Picture of Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

She needs a makeover
The room (215) was very clean, but dated. The whole hotel seems to be run by competent, courteous staff; but now needs investment to replace worm carpets and fittings.
The room had 2 large, old fashion sash windows, but while it was warm with no draft, most of the putty was missing and there were weeds on the windowsill.
A nice place to stay, good location, great staff, but needs money spent to really give the Angel back the opulence I remember of old…

Reviewed by
Gary Williams

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good All Round
A brief stay but very pleasant and friendly

Reviewed by
R Banks

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top hotel
Really lovely hotel, friendly staff and really great location would stay again for sure

Reviewed by
Victoria Stone

From Pembroke, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel of a stay!
We stayed at The Angel Hotel, Cardiff for a Christmas night out. The service was excellent. Very welcoming staff with nothing being too much trouble! The hotel was clean & quite a beautiful building with a gorgeous grand staircase for those ballgown photos! The room was a good size, bathroom spotless, warm (it was December & blowing a gale outside), with ample tea & coffee. Despite there being a function taking place in the hotel, it was lovely & quiet. The only downsides, very small car park which cost £10! And rattly windows, but it was blowing a gale, & the room was very warm despite the rattles!
I thoroughly recommend The Angel if you're visiting Cardiff!

Reviewed by
Nia B

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection
As we visited the Angel hotel with another family couple, we were very disappointed with what was to be our accommodation for the evening, and I have written directly to the manager.

Reviewed by
Phillip John

From Maesteg, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

xmas shopping stay
awkward to give a proper review as we were only there for b&b, we found the bed very uncomfortable, otherwise everything else was ok, main foyer was very christmasy

Reviewed by
Antony L

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel and fantadtic staff. Would recommend the Hotel to my friends an family

Reviewed by
D Hornblower

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reasonable hotel, rooms very dark, too poorly lit to read or work in
We stayed for one night, arriving early evening intending to do some reading and work and use the internet. There was a desk in our room and the wifi signal was fair. However, the room was poorly lit, with one side wall lamp and some low level mini-spotlights that starkly lit up the pillows only on the beds, where also the wifi signal was weakest. There was enough light to see your way around the room but a real strain to read or write and felt oppressive. Whilst the welsh receptionist was lovely and porter helpful they were unable to find a solution; the porter explaining after some searching that the hotel had no additional lamps they could provide. He showed us another room which was also dimly lit and said all the rooms were similarly dark. My temptation was to rush out to the nearest department store and buy a cheap desk lamp or camping torch but sadly it was too late, and it would have been a disruption and hassle to move to another hotel. The lounge and restaurant areas are poorly lit too. Needless to say it was a sheer delight and uplifting to experience daylight, even in the drizzling rain, once we left the hotel.

Reviewed by
diana b

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Very nice hotel great staff food good yes it can do with a bit of tidy up in places but do not be put off by some bad reviews it is a very old hotel

Reviewed by
R Fardoe

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy with traffic,Room needed secondary glazing to help with noise,My Sister had secondary glazing,
The Hotel is Beautiful and I have stayed there Several times and never had any complaint.Our Room was situated at The front of Hotel,Traffic is heavy from very early Morning.Noise could have been less if Secondary glazing was installed as was in other rooms,unfortunatley,Our stay was spoiled by a Poor nights Sleep.Other than that,I would always stay in The Angel,would request a Quieter Room First Though.

Reviewed by
Angela Giovannone-Roberts

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next