Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Cardiff Castle Hotels > Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
CASTLE STREET , CARDIFF, CF10 1SZ
The Angel Hotel is Nestled between Cardiff Castle and the Millennium Stadium, the Angel Hotel is perfectly placed for exploring this vibrant city. Steeped in history, the hotel dates back to 1883 and is the most famous in Cardiff. Some of the world's greatest stars have walked down the hotel's magnificent staircase, including Marlene Dietrich, The Beatles and Gregory Peck. Recent investment has restored the building to its former Victorian splendour and it now benefits from air-conditioning in all bedrooms and secure car parking. Parking is on a first come first served basis and charged at £10 per car per day
Picture of Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, central location
I have stayed at the Angel several times, the rooms are small but very nice, with windows that actually open - lovely for fresh air! The breakfast is always excellent with a good range of quality produce. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the city centre, ideal for a night out and shopping the next day.

Reviewed by
j davies

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good central location with car parking.
Newspaper problem quickly sorted at reception.

Reviewed by
steve armstrong

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

n/a

Reviewed by
Andrew Schofield

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
We stayed for one night while the rugby was on and I honestly cant fault it.
Quick check in, and our room was lovely. We had a view of the castle.
A good nights sleep and a lovely Full English breakfast in the morning.
Excellent.
the decor in our room was very very nice but I think the bathroom could have benefited from being updated.

Reviewed by
j powell

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff
Great Hotel, brilliant staff, great location. Very good to have car parking in the city centre.

Reviewed by
J DOWNES

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and conveniant
Stayed one night, but have stayed several times before. Made to feel welcome and the ambiance of the Hotel entrance and staircase always makes me feel special. The hotel is in the centre of Cardiff but we heard no noise and slept well. Good breakfast with all food in place which was not always the case. As we had a special offer it was certainly value for money.

Reviewed by
B Jones

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Room
Nice spacious room. Little table very wobbly. At first glance the rooms look very nice but coud do with a bit of TLC in places. We were on the 3rd Floor overlooking the road, which was nice as we are usually at the back overlooking the very noisey air con units.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean, elegant, good value

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Great location and views of the castle, but not that well cleaned - found a broken false nail on the trouser press, lipstick on one of the mugs and dust on the kettle. Also asked for a wake-up call on the morning we were leaving and didn't get it. Luckily we woke up on time anyway!

Reviewed by
Hannah T

From Portsmouth, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas stay in Cardiff
Pleasant room even though view was dismal with noisy air conditioning! Breakfast was good but the chairs in the dining room were stained and a turn-off!!!
Overall ok but they need to pay attention to carpets and marks in doors and upholstery.

Reviewed by
Andrew Spurway

From Y BARRI, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next