Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Cardiff Castle Hotels > Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
CASTLE STREET , CARDIFF, CF10 1SZ
The Angel Hotel is Nestled between Cardiff Castle and the Millennium Stadium, the Angel Hotel is perfectly placed for exploring this vibrant city. Steeped in history, the hotel dates back to 1883 and is the most famous in Cardiff. Some of the world's greatest stars have walked down the hotel's magnificent staircase, including Marlene Dietrich, The Beatles and Gregory Peck. Recent investment has restored the building to its former Victorian splendour and it now benefits from air-conditioning in all bedrooms and secure car parking. Parking is on a first come first served basis and charged at £10 per car per day
Picture of Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

At the right price, well worth it
Just under £50 on a Thursday night, which was a good price for the location. Decor is a bit dated, but everything was very clean and tidy. Massive telly and a good kettle and I (we) slept well. Check-in is a bit late (3pm), check-out is a bit early (11am). However, on this trip it didn't matter. The price paid was good for what we got. During busy times, I'd probably not spend more than £60 though. Staff (especially reception) were very professional, helpful and made us feel very welcome. They're a credit to the hotel.

Reviewed by
E Benjamin

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent accommodation,clean comfortable ,spacious room.

Reviewed by
Janet E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit of faded grandeur but good big comfortable room. We asked for a quiet room away from main road and thats just what we got.

Reviewed by
Patrick B

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
We found the hotel provided us with all we needed for an overnight stay. Room was fine but you could see they had to use their imagination to get everything into a small bedroom.

Reviewed by
Mike V

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Booked a twin room, allocated a superior double which was inconvenient as I was with my 36 yr old son. Receptionist did allocate me a twin but didn't feel a discount was applicable despite not bring allocated a superior room. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Austin H

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Angel
Perfect for city centre, v clean and friendly staff. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
R Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second business trip Sept/Oct 2014
I returned to the Angel for a second week, this time on a room only basis. I was given a slightly larger room, otherwise the specification was very similar. Oddly, again, one of the bedside lamps did not work. Otherwise, I could find no fault with the room. Indeed, I spent a lot of time in it, working.
I did not try the restaurant and my one attempt to obtain room service was abortive because I had not "pre-authorised" payment for it. ( I obtained a satisfactory breakfast elsewhere).
The reception staff were very helpful when I had need of medical assistance (more helpful than the NHS - I went to a Nuffield Hospital in Cardiff Bay).
Overall, a satisfactory stay .

Reviewed by
Christopher Drew

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room nice place but a high price don't like the fact we had to give a payment of £50 on a credit card at the bar just to drink

Reviewed by
L Molino

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor hotel
No wifi, moved to a single room although we were a couple, no tv working in the room. Never would I ckassify this hotel as anything but 2 or at best 3 star. No refund even though room went from a double to a single.

Reviewed by
Renu T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business trip September 2014
The reception and restaurant staff were friendly and obliging. On my first visit I booked a rate which included breakfast. On reflection, this was overpriced. Although the restaurant staff were good, the room was depressing and it was possible to obtain a better breakfast in nearby cafes at less than half the price. The food purchased outside the hotel was, also, freshly prepared, not served from a heated dish on a buffet. this said, the accommodation was all that I required, comfortable. The only real issue was a bedside lamp that did not work. There was a slight note of austerity in the soap dispensers by the bath and hand basin. I suppose that giving away small bottles of shampoo and bath foam is uneconomic?

Reviewed by
Christopher Drew

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next