Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Cardiff Castle Hotels > Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
CASTLE STREET , CARDIFF, CF10 1SZ
The Angel Hotel is Nestled between Cardiff Castle and the Millennium Stadium, the Angel Hotel is perfectly placed for exploring this vibrant city. Steeped in history, the hotel dates back to 1883 and is the most famous in Cardiff. Some of the world's greatest stars have walked down the hotel's magnificent staircase, including Marlene Dietrich, The Beatles and Gregory Peck. Recent investment has restored the building to its former Victorian splendour and it now benefits from air-conditioning in all bedrooms and secure car parking. Parking is on a first come first served basis and charged at £10 per car per day
Picture of Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, would definitely stay again
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was amazing, very fresh and well cooked! Our room was clean and tidy. The bed was unbelievably comfortable,best sleep I have ever had in a hotel bed! I liked that the room had a information book about the area we were staying in. Excellent central location, right between Cardiff castle and millennium stadium. Only a 10min taxi ride from Cardiff bay. Would definitely recommend to couples or groups who plan to go out for the night as right near lots of clubs, bars and restaurants.

Reviewed by
Leigha H

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The impressive entrance hall and staircase was deceptive. I was given a room with a double bed but the room was the size of a compact single. The bathroom was cramped and needs attention with many floor tiles cracked.
Slept well and enjoyed the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Christopher James

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous breakfast! Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Judy H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in the heart of Cardiff
I booked this hotel for it's location, as i wanted to be in a central spot for the castle and museum, the hotel was good value for money,the breakfast was varied and plentiful, the staff were helpful and friendly and my room was spacious and had a view of the castle which was a bonus.. i did find however that parts of the hotel were tired looking, for example threadbare carpets, paintwork in need of refreshing also, the grout around the bath was in need of replacing in some places as it didn't look very appealing..that said the hotel is lovely, especially the grand staircase and beautiful ornate light fittings..i would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Lynne B

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel!!
Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised at how luxurious the hotel was. A beautiful lobby welcomed us and the customer service was brilliant.
The rooms were surprisingly large considering the price we paid and definitely lived up to the 4 star standard.

Reviewed by
H Swali

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit grubby
Excellent service but room dirty

Reviewed by
Ella F

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel Hotel Review
Veru good location for city sight seeing. Hotel staff friendly and efficient. Accommodation fine -only complaint is that the beds are a bit hard especially for us older people! This is common to a lot of hotels but could be resolved by providing optional extra mattress ( or duvet?) to sleep on. I know we are not the only people who find this a problem at some hotels and it can spoil the holiday.

Reviewed by
D Kimbell

From West Lydford, Somerton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and in need of a Refurbishment
Last stayed here about 15 years ago and the room was as I remembered it. Whilst it was clean, the carpet and furniture looked dated and tired for a 4 star hotel. This is in contrast to the public areas that have been through some refurbishment programme.

Reviewed by
Steven M

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Building, however..
The hotel's reception and entrance are lavish and the staff were friendly and attentive. The beds were comfy in our twin room, however the bathroom which was clean was too small. The room could use a refurbishment as it was a bit dated and tired, with a worn out wooden bath panel and pokey shower which even my little wife struggled to use. The main benefit of this hotel is its central location which was beneficial for our social engagements.

Reviewed by
J Gardner

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NIght out in cardiff
Booked for one night , impressive reception area and staff were friendly.Drinks expensive at the hotel bar. The room was a little disappointing , furnishings a little worn but the room was warm and clean.The bed was comfortable and had a good nights sleep.also the bathroom had a very good power shower. The hotel is well placed for a night out in cardiff . Breakfast is buffet style , the full english was lovely. I would book to stay at this hotel again because of its location.

Reviewed by
s hawkins

From Hengoed, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next