Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Cardiff Castle Hotels > Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
CASTLE STREET , CARDIFF, CF10 1SZ
The Angel Hotel is Nestled between Cardiff Castle and the Millennium Stadium, the Angel Hotel is perfectly placed for exploring this vibrant city. Steeped in history, the hotel dates back to 1883 and is the most famous in Cardiff. Some of the world's greatest stars have walked down the hotel's magnificent staircase, including Marlene Dietrich, The Beatles and Gregory Peck. Recent investment has restored the building to its former Victorian splendour and it now benefits from air-conditioning in all bedrooms and secure car parking. Parking is on a first come first served basis and charged at £10 per car per day
Picture of Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was rubbish under the bed and it wasn't mine! The room we were given , 127 is in desperate need of redecorating. The public rooms were fine, we couldn't have our evening meal as food was only available from 8-9.30 pm which is the time the rugby match was on,(the reason for our and probably most of the other guests visit) However the breakfast and waiting staff were very good.

Reviewed by
p thomas

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good short stay
I spent no longer than a night and it was clean. The Hallways were noisy however I suspect as the building is old but I was woken up by a couple talking and people walking by. The dark wood panneling was a little too dark for my liking. But in general I had a good stay. Close to the train station. Good price.

Reviewed by
kathleen stavert

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room not up to much
Good value as paid a discounted rate. However, the room was in need of refurbishment. The window had no proper latch and when windy rattled. The decor was tired and the standard of finish well below par for a 4* hotel. I think they are trying to make improvements but in reality a full professional make over is overdue. I would stay again but only if cheap as I can put up with the deficiencies for the occasional short stay. The location is handy for central Cardiff with everything within walking distance. Parking at £10 per day is a bonus and fair.

Reviewed by
William R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with history
Location is good, foyer is impressive, bar and restaurant area fine. We didn't eat in so we cannot comment on the quality of the food. Our room on the third floor was not the best but then we didn't pay top price for it either. The hotel looks a little tired in places but everything was clean and the staff were very pleasant.

Reviewed by
R Walters

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didnt get what I booked or paid for
Put me in a single room when I booked a double, failed to deliver breakfast to my room despite my paying for it in advance and then tried to blame me for their error. Bit of a disaster really.

Reviewed by
wendy p

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service
Reception staff and dining room staff were excellent. Very helpful and courteous.

Reviewed by
A Cormack

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great central location.parking a problem. friendly helpful staff.
We had a lovely weekend in the fantastic city of Cardiff and overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Angel Hotel,its only right to point out the negatives ; it would have been nice to know beforehand that access to hotel carpark was completely impossible when there was a match on at the millenium stadium. So had to drive around looking for alternative parking for ages and return to the hotel at 17;30 until bollards had been moved.
The hotel was very clean and full of character,staff helpful and pleasant.
Only other problem was that when checking out there was only one poor lady who was doing her very best to check out dozens of guests in a long queue, she said that her colleague hadnt turned into work that morning and was very apologetic for the wait. Other wise it was a lovely weekend and i would recommend the hotel, just be careful to check if there are any big matches on the day you arrive .

Reviewed by
N Huxley

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy for City
Very central hotel - so rather noisy at night. Room has original features, including windows, so no double glazing to cut the sound more. (I anticipated that and took earplugs!!) Apart from that, very nice to see 'period' building still much as it was. Staff very friendly & helpful.

Reviewed by
P Millar

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel Hotel Cardiff
good location in town center, staff friendly and helpful,room very pleasant and spotless. breakfast a bit disappointing re- buffet breakfast.

Reviewed by
keith f

From Llandovery, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel Hotel Cardiff
Excellent location, great city, friendly, helpful staff. lovely food, onsite parking made for a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
P Williams

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next