Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Cardiff Castle Hotels > Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
CASTLE STREET , CARDIFF, CF10 1SZ
The Angel Hotel is Nestled between Cardiff Castle and the Millennium Stadium, the Angel Hotel is perfectly placed for exploring this vibrant city. Steeped in history, the hotel dates back to 1883 and is the most famous in Cardiff. Some of the world's greatest stars have walked down the hotel's magnificent staircase, including Marlene Dietrich, The Beatles and Gregory Peck. Recent investment has restored the building to its former Victorian splendour and it now benefits from air-conditioning in all bedrooms and secure car parking. Parking is on a first come first served basis and charged at £10 per car per day
Picture of Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy and will not be returning !
Room was dated and was dirty.

Reviewed by
Dewi Jones

From Pwllheli Gwynedd, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid if you can
The room heating was absolutely boiling hot with no way of turning it down due to a broken thermostat it was very noisey with busy traffic on a Main Street but the person in the room next to us had the tv on loud all night and you could hear all his coughing and every other noise he was making as if he was in the same room as us. This hotel was at one time no doubt a very plush and elegant stay but sadly no more.

Reviewed by
SHAUN J

From Abertillery, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good last minute booking
For the price the hotel was good and situated a short walk from shops/local attractions, would recommend

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Burry Port, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired in comparison to others in the City
I've stayed in the Angel a number of times but it had been about 2 years since I last stayed. On this visit the room looked dated with dark heavy furniture and old fashioned curtains. The kettle didn't work and the hairdryer was next to useless. In the bathroom the water did not drain from the bath very quickly whilst having a shower and I was concerned about it overflowing therefore I had to turn the water on an off.

Reviewed by
Lisa T

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant!
From entering the building and being greeted with the most grandest entrance and very friendly staff at the reception, the stay was a delight. Accessible, clean and beautiful inside and out. Staff more than happy to help. The views of the castle was beautiful. Central location to everything you would want to initially see in Cardiff City Centre, would gladly stay again!

Reviewed by
naomi f

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel
Booked a one night stay for rugby. The welcome and the staff were great. Food was excellent. The price increase due to rugby day was atrocious. The room needs refurbishment. Old fashioned, squeaky door. In the evening there was nowhere to sit and relax to have a drink. We sat on the stairs at first. Customers were lost as they took a look and left as there was nowhere to sit.

Reviewed by
G Elias

From Cardigan, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A enjoyable weekend away.
The hotel seemed lovely on arrival helpful person on desk,went to are room it was clean and welcoming.The bed was comfortable slippers sealed on bed was a nice touch but the dressing gowns had marks on them which was disappointing,but we made the most of our stay the stairs were wonderful.Maybe a little detail on that but we would stay again.

Reviewed by
sian j

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

At the right price, well worth it
Just under £50 on a Thursday night, which was a good price for the location. Decor is a bit dated, but everything was very clean and tidy. Massive telly and a good kettle and I (we) slept well. Check-in is a bit late (3pm), check-out is a bit early (11am). However, on this trip it didn't matter. The price paid was good for what we got. During busy times, I'd probably not spend more than £60 though. Staff (especially reception) were very professional, helpful and made us feel very welcome. They're a credit to the hotel.

Reviewed by
E Benjamin

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent accommodation,clean comfortable ,spacious room.

Reviewed by
Janet E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit of faded grandeur but good big comfortable room. We asked for a quiet room away from main road and thats just what we got.

Reviewed by
Patrick B

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next