No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Manchester

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Stanley Road Handforth, Manchester Airport, SK9 3LD
Following a £5 million refurbishment, the Hallmark is now a relaxed boutique-style hotel, in a quiet location, less than 3 miles (4.8 km) from Manchester Airport and close to road and rail networks. The Hallmark Hotel Manchester has a range of stylish rooms, all featuring comfortable beds, a 32-inch flat-screen TV with Freeview channels, tea/coffee making facilities and modern en suite bathrooms with showers. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi throughout, free car parking and free use of the health club and spa; facilities include a 20-metre pool, hot tub, sauna, steam room and gym. The stylish lounge bar serves a range of hot and cold beverages throughout the day, along with a selection of fresh pastries each morning; tasty bar snacks and light bites at lunchtime; and a unique early-evening Tapas table. For fine food and wine in an informal setting, the Brasserie offers a choice of modern European dishes and some good old classics, served fresh by a highly professional team.
Picture of Hallmark Hotel Manchester, Manchester Airport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, very quiet

Reviewed by
g franks

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
Rob Edwards

From Stoke On Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hallmark hotel
Very pleasant stay. Our only quibble was the price of a double gin and tonic - £11.60!

Reviewed by
K Kwiatkowski

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, staff & facilities. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
A Loftus

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhat Disappointed
Facilities were extremely nice. Bathtub/shower needed hand bars to hold on and the bath could be a little lower for older folk who have difficulty lifting their leg over the tub, and the hand bars for safety while taking a shower. I believe the hotel should have a service, included in the price, for pick up and return to the airport. Wi-Fi was just not available, though they were supposed to have it. I never could get on-line and when I called the desk was informed they would see what they could do.....however, nothing happened and I never did get on-line. As for recommending to friends, it would only be if they didn't require Wi-Fi and and were younger.

Reviewed by
K Leffew

From Florida, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No room service available after 9.30pm despite the in room menu saying it was available.
Room was very warm.

Reviewed by
Angela S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place made special by receptionist's attitude
Lovely stay. Hotel has been refer bushed but stairwell needs freshening up... Just a carpet clean and some fabreeze would help guys! Well dressed window covered mould and rust on framework. Well dressed I guess is the closest I can get..... Don't delve too deep! Enjoy the good bits and turn a blind eye to the not so good. Marvellous Indian restaurant in Handbridge...£9.95 special on a Sunday. Enjoyed the hotel spa and overall it was great for what we wanted would use again.

Reviewed by
Anne R

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights room only
I booked 2 nights room only. I found the hotel was a little 'tatty around the edges' and it could do with a little decorating/cleaning. My room looked out what appeared to be the delivery entrance. This proved a little noisy on occasions and as the window was not double glazed, it afforded little respite from the noise outside. The doors to each room shut in such a way that it was perhaps unavoidable that you were constantly subjected to the noise of slamming doors. However, the bed and room were comfortable and clean overall. I enjoyed the use of the swimming pool, but again found the leisure facilities a little 'tatty around the edges'. As stated, the pool is part of a health club so you need to be flexible on the times you want to the use the facilties if you want to avoid the crowds, children etc.

Reviewed by
Tina K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot and loud
My partner has previously enjoyed stays here, we were incredibly disappointed this time around.
The room was of expected quality, clean and comfortable but this time unbearably hot due to warm weather, and lack of air conditioning. Approached reception staff about this and requested a fan for the room to be told they were all out and there was nothing they could do. A disappointing lack of interest from staff or even an apology. Luckily one receptionist gave us her own fan from behind the desk which helped a little. Found it disappointing that it was first come first serve...so if you are late to ask- tough luck! even though we were paying the same as other hotel guests. If you can't provide the same service for all guests you need to buy more fans.
Food was pretty good in the lounge although a shame that I had a club sandwich served with burnt toast....not the standard of food I expected at Hallmark.

During our stay, there was a wedding on Friday night...our room was directly above the car park, with open windows due to heat and it was very noisy until after 1am. Saturday night there was a 'ladies night' till 1am...again loud music from event downstairs and noise from shouting, singing party goers, not ideal for a relaxed weekend away! Obviously the hotel can't disclose private function info to guests but maybe they need to think about room allocation for wedding guests/other guests, so that not everyone is disturbed by music etc. There was a list of up coming events over the summer....so I assume many other guests will also be disturbed by the new party environment at hallmark.
Breakfast was nice and we were pleased with the food yet some staff were abrupt and rushed.
The staff we dealt with all seemed indifferent to guests, no "hello, how are you?" Or any apology for long waits at reception desk. We weren't asked how our stay was or offered any kind of apology or anything to make us more comfortable when we queried the heat in the room.
My girlfriend stayed here many times in the past through work and had a completely different experience, I don't usually complain or leave negative feedback but we felt we wanted to let the hotel know.
We are both feeling very disappointed.

Reviewed by
R Grainge

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel and was only disappointed. After looking online at this hotel we were very excited to say the least. It looked nice and modern. After checking in we both looked at each other to say 'is this it'. The room was tired and small. Looking around the phone was outdated and old which would be a consequence later in our stay. The bathroom was also small and the shower was pathetic thats before it stopped working. Every 4 star hotel I've ever stayed in has had a power shower. Apparently not in this one! After my partner had a shower the shower literally gave a few drops out the head and barely washed you (that is not an exaggeration). It was late and we just wanted to sleep (it was the same in the morning). After waking up we wasn't sure what time we needed to check out so i tried to ring reception and was only transferred to the room opposite us which was highly embarrassing for both parties. I feel genuinely let down by this hotel it isn't all what it seems online. I will certainly be more careful booking through websites in the future... And to top it all off the wifi was down for 5 hours!!

Reviewed by
jack g

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next