No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Picture of Thanet Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice pleasant inner London Hotel
Quiet, convienient and cost effective small hotel.
Rooms are spacious, clean but with older fashioned character.
Breakfast was excellent.
All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the hotel itself although small is located just behind the British Museum on a quite street perfect for those who don't like load noise of the London streets.

Reviewed by
Brian c

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly staff
I had a family room in the basement all to myself so needless to say I didn't have any issues with room sizes, which is one of the main complaints when reading review about any hotels in London. The room would be great for a girl’s trip or a family trip – one small suggestion would be to replace the teeny tiny TV monitor, although watching TV isn’t a big part of a trip to London having a TV which is about 8inches really doesn’t fit the bill for such a large room. The room was very clean and comfortable, the toilet and separate shower were modern and looked relatively new (much better than many hotels in London in the 'budget' category). It was £125 for the room which is quite a lot for one night but if I had shared the room with others it would have been more economical, and with London prices you always expect to pay more. The staff make this place, everyone that I came in to contact with from the check in guy to the owners the next morning to the kitchen staff were all really nice, so many times the kitchen staff clearly don't want to be at work and it shows, but not here, the service is great at this hotel and the breakfast was very hot and plentiful, I had scrambled eggs and salmon and it was very quickly served. I'll definitely put this hotel in to my favourites list for the next time that I'm in London.

Reviewed by
E Cable

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location
Room in quiet street, overlooking garden. Compact, but nothing missing. Plus all important wifi. Friendly welcome.

Reviewed by
Anna S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great b&b
Great location for those traveling to London, for single travelers and groups alike. I was greeted by very polite and helpful staff, and was pleasantly surprised with the room and breakfast in particular. I would highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to staying there again in the future.

Reviewed by
christopher lloyd

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small but clean, could hear movement in corridor.
Staff really helpful during stay.
Did not eat in hotel so cannot comment on food but breakfast room looked clean and tidy.
Window was left open so found spider which disturbed my night, otherwise lovely

Reviewed by
L Jones

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay for visiting Central London and its'attractions. The room was clean and comfortable, particularly the bed! The best nights sleep that I've had for a long time.

Reviewed by
Martin L

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful !!
A wonderful hotel. Good value, very clean, helpful staff in a prime location. we were able to walk into covent garden and to the theatre in 10-15 mins. After a good nights sleep we had an excellent breakfast to set us up for the day. The hotel then looked after our suitcase until we were ready to go home in the evening.

Reviewed by
simon n

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expected a bit more for £100
Staying near central London for under £100 per night can be a quest. We decided we would give this place a go. It is on a street with several other hotels and you could tell by the exterior décor that we had picked the worst one as the canopy was wonky and plants unkempt. We where welcomed by a friendly young man who gave us the keys to room one.
We booked a double room and got a room with 3 medium size beds in it?
The light in the bathroom sounded like it was powered by its own powerful generator. The furniture was falling apart and looked older than big ben. Those are the negatives.
The positives...They serve a nice breakfast, the staff seemed nice and despite the room being a bit rubbish it was clean.

Reviewed by
Daniel Davies

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre trip
Set in a period drama street this five story home is an ideal place to stay, away from the hustle and bustle but still central for the theatres. Very welcoming hosts upon arrival, with extremely in-depth area information pack in the room; Breakfast was relaxed first class service with plenty of choice. The loan umbrellas in the lobby made our evening out much more pleasurable.

Reviewed by
w black

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London weekend
The hotel is easy to find between Russell Square and Holburn station.There was an initial problem that the booking hadnt gone through properly due to Late rooms .The rooms were nice and clean with comfortable beds both in room 7 and my daughters single room number 3.In room 7 it wasnt easy to close window properly so quite a bit of noise during the the night but I suppose thats London for you .Breakfast is excellent and a great start to your day .One minor quibble was the tiny tv in room 7 .I realise its not the first consideration for a london trip but late at night watching a 14 inch tv from across a large room was impossible.

Reviewed by
D DALZIEL

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next