No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very Pleasant Surprise
I was greeted upon arrival by a very pleasant an friendly receptionist. Once all paperwork was sorted and I was given a full set of keys for all doors (they shut reception at midnight) I was advised I would have the family room in the basement. A very pleasant surprise. A clean tidy room with 4 beds! Spoilt for choice. Separate shower room and separate toilet. Clean quality towels and toiletries provided. Overall very pleased and would certainly stay again. Location perfect for easy access to west end and Covent garden. Woke too late to have breakfast.

Reviewed by
andy s

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, friendly staff

Reviewed by
Anna S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service!!
We had a great stay here. Staff were really welcoming and hotel was great value for money. Many thanks

Reviewed by
D Clark

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for London
Small room but clean and functional. Good value for London. No iron in room.

Reviewed by
Brett L

From Wymondham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A small hotel in central location
The hotel was small but surprisingly the room I had was larger than expected, some of the decor a bit dated but cleaner than I expected. The bed was comfortable with plenty of bedding and the bathroom shower good enough. For the price I paid it was more than acceptable.
Breakfast room is small so a little 'cosy' with your neighbour, it would benefit from less tables to allow a little more privacy when eating. Breakfast had enough choice of cereal, fruit , youghurts and condiments and there was the option of a hot breakfast is preferd at no extra cost.
I found the traffic noise in the front room of the hotel a little off putting and would request a room at the back but I live is a quiet village so am not used to traffic noise in the night.
All in all a perfectly acceptable hotel for business or tourist traveller, I'd stay again.

Reviewed by
Collette H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value great location
Easy to find . Great central location. Lovely cooked breakfast with friendly staff. Only concern was a broken tap and grubby net. Lovely bed very clean and comfortable

Reviewed by

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute stay to see Theatre show
Excellent value for money for two people including full breakfast. Booked two hours before we arrived and no issues at all. Room not too small (typical for London, I've been in smaller) and very clean. Reception staff friendly. If I have one complaint its the breakfast staff don't speak very good English! But the food and service was fine. Well placed for a Theatre district.

Reviewed by
A Walters

From USA
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
The room was very small and very dusty, I had dust on my finger from turning the television on! I informed the "gentleman" as I paid my £92 bill for the one nights stay about the state of the room as there were also stains on the walks, pillows and headboard - to which his response was 'ok, put your PIN number in' words fail me at this point

Reviewed by
Laura Frost

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, vakue for money
The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with advise to the tube etc., The room was clean and tidy with adequate space, furniture and storage. The bed itself was clean, well made and comfortable. I did collect a business card to stay again in the future.

Reviewed by
Keith Worsfold

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but neds updating
Accommodation rather basic but still reasonable value for money due to central location. En suite needs updating.

Reviewed by
Cliff Piper

From Hayling Island, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next