No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value great location
Easy to find . Great central location. Lovely cooked breakfast with friendly staff. Only concern was a broken tap and grubby net. Lovely bed very clean and comfortable

Reviewed by

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute stay to see Theatre show
Excellent value for money for two people including full breakfast. Booked two hours before we arrived and no issues at all. Room not too small (typical for London, I've been in smaller) and very clean. Reception staff friendly. If I have one complaint its the breakfast staff don't speak very good English! But the food and service was fine. Well placed for a Theatre district.

Reviewed by
A Walters

From USA
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
The room was very small and very dusty, I had dust on my finger from turning the television on! I informed the "gentleman" as I paid my £92 bill for the one nights stay about the state of the room as there were also stains on the walks, pillows and headboard - to which his response was 'ok, put your PIN number in' words fail me at this point

Reviewed by
Laura Frost

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, vakue for money
The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with advise to the tube etc., The room was clean and tidy with adequate space, furniture and storage. The bed itself was clean, well made and comfortable. I did collect a business card to stay again in the future.

Reviewed by
Keith Worsfold

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but neds updating
Accommodation rather basic but still reasonable value for money due to central location. En suite needs updating.

Reviewed by
Cliff Piper

From Hayling Island, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Even better than our expectations
Everything about this hotel was perfect for us. The owners and staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful; the location is excellent as the street is quiet and attractive with a pretty square at one end, Holborn tube station a short walk away and Covent Garden and many other attractions within easy walking distance, including the British Museum just around the corner. Our room was large, clean and comfortable with (in our opinion!) the essential tea and coffee making facility! The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice to suit all tastes, served in a very pleasant room. The outward appearance of the hotel is very good and the inside doesn't disappoint, combined with a warm welcome whenever you arrive there and plenty of information leaflets to help you decide where you want to visit in London and beyond if required. We wish we could have stayed longer and would definitely like to book this hotel again in the future. Thanks.

Reviewed by
Linda H

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Tower Bridge
Trying to fit in several sightseeing trips in 24 hours, we found the location great for easy travel from Euston and visiting the poppy tribute at the Tower and later a theatre trip to see Les Mis. The room was clean, airy and quiet, ticking all our boxes for a city trip. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was substantial , served in a lovely dining room setting , did not feel rushed by staff to finish.

Reviewed by
kate w

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top stuff!
Excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi as a bonus too. Bed was very comfy! Only slight problem was a leaking roof but only minor. Creaky floor boards add to the character and the history of the hotel was interesting to read to. All in all highly recommended.

Reviewed by
S Pascoe

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location

Reviewed by
Neil R

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value, great location
I'd stay there again. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Gerhard W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next