No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Visit Wales Assessed Budget Hotel Ratings explained
CAXTON PLACE , CARDIFF, CF23 8HA
Situated in the suburbs of Cardiff part of the Louvre Hotels Group with over 900 hotels in Europe, the Campanile is a hotel suitable for business, families or large groups.
Check-in is from 2.00pm. Please note that RECEPTION CLOSES at 11pm. If you find yourself running late, or get held up in traffic (after 11pm) please contact the reception before 10pm to inform us of your estimated arrival time. Please be advised that this is at the hotels discretion, and is under no circumstances to be confused with a Late Check In
All the rooms are en-suite with shower and bath, direct dial telephone, computer point,Wi-Fi (charges apply) internet access, TV with satellite channels and tea and coffee making facilities. Free private car parking is available on site. Customers are advised that there is a slope on the hotel car park and assistance with luggage will be provided to the guest upon request.
The Campanile Hotel has a “à la Carte” Restaurant, Bar and Lounge and Meeting Room Facilities for a maximum of 25 delegates.
Please be advised that your credit or debit card details are to guarantee the booking only. Payment must be made by the customer in person on arrival at the hotel.
For Companies who would like to pay the accommodation for their employees we will require written authorisation by fax or email with contact details and allowance cost permitted.
Picture of Campanile Hotel Cardiff, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Stay but maybe bring Earplugs
Hotel perfectly met our needs bit of a surprising steep drive way but everything pleasant enough after that. Staff helpful and accommodating and although we decided to eat at the "Sizzler" up the road, the menu at the hotel looked nice enough itself. The bed was very soft, possibly too soft for some but it was ok for me. The room had wall sockets, TV with some freeview channels (no Sports however, think you had to go to bar for those), tea and coffee stuff and a hair dryer which was good. The only problem was that you could hear a water pump going off, possibly when other residents were taking a shower or something so it kept going, luckily for me I always pack earplugs so managed to drown it out, but had I not had them I'd have a pretty bad night. It's not something the hotel can do anything about, so it's not something I'd complain about. It's just how these things work, and as long as you come prepared you're fine. Maybe the hotel could stock earplugs with their other items. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a wonderful stay at Campanille in Pentwyn.
Would highly recommend this hotel. Friendly, helpful staff, great breakfast, room clean and comfortable. Nice and quiet, too. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
P Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic room, not so good timing...
Room was fine, though beds were a bit hammocky.
Staff very helpful, friendly and accommodating.
Price was pretty steep, but - with hindsight - understandable given that weekend's rugby fixture. (Will check the calendar next time, hopefully cost us a wee bit less!)

Reviewed by
D Squier

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had enjoyed a stay 10 years ago, when the hotel was probably fairly new, but this time were disappointed with the dated feel of the room and poor condition of carpets. Worst of all was the noise from guests from upstairs until 3.30am. We tried ringing reception but no one answered, we mentioned the noise the following morning but the man on reception said that there was no 24 hour porter and basically it was our fault we hadn't read the small print on our booking form which gave an emergency number. There was no apology or concern that we had a poor nights sleep. We had paid top whack for this room as it was half term and little accommodation available in Cardiff. The quality of the accommodation certainly didn't match the price paid!!

Reviewed by
M James

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty much what I expected
We were looking for a fairly inexpensive place to lay our heads for a few nights and that is exactly what we got. Having read some of the reviews we were a little uncertain at first but this was exactly what it claimed to be. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel at a 1 star price then you will be disappointed here but the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean. Yes, it's very basic but at the price it is good value for money and I for one would not think twice about staying there again if I wanted another budget break.

Reviewed by
Philip G

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and tidy
First room had a badly cracked wc bowl. Moved immediately to a new room with apologies from the receptionist.

Reviewed by
john H

From Llanon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overnight accommadation
Good confortable room with everything you need for an overnight stop, friendly staff and a good breakfast. only complaint is the walls could do with a bit of sound proofing.

Reviewed by
G Cox

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

purely a place to rest my head!
i dropped my daughter at Cardiff, and due to our location i decided to break my journey with an over night stop. The staff were charming, very polite but in a relaxed, friendly way. The room was fine, the bed was the most comfortable i have slept in. I treated myself to a continental breakfast, all perfect. it was proper coffee, unlike a certain rival chain. The room was ground floor and obviously geared for disabled people. the only negative i can have was the wifi, which was really slow, but i had it on my phone, so not a problem i can assure you, next time i need an over night stop i hope i will be able to Campanile, i certainly have no desire to stay in either Travel lodge or Premier

Reviewed by
c thomas

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only if absolutely desperate
The full price on the date I stayed was £155 because of the ODI cricket but I paid £49 as rooms hadn't sold, I'm not surprised and that was too much:
*Dreadful location - run down industrial state
*Tatty room - very poor decorative state, chipped furniture and cracked loo (obviously for some time judging by the stains)
*Loud noise of what was presumably a water pump cutting in all the while
*No chains on doors/poor security
*Poor food in soulless empty restaurant

Reviewed by
Lindsey P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, value for money. You get exactly what you pay for.
This hotel was excellent, the location is great, nice quiet rest and great service.

Reviewed by
S Saeed

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next