No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Campanile Hotel

Visit Wales Assessed Budget Hotel Ratings explained
CAXTON PLACE , CARDIFF, CF23 8HA
Situated in the suburbs of Cardiff part of the Louvre Hotels Group with over 900 hotels in Europe, the Campanile is a hotel suitable for business, families or large groups.
Check-in is from 2.00pm. Please note that RECEPTION CLOSES at 11pm. If you find yourself running late, or get held up in traffic (after 11pm) please contact the reception before 10pm to inform us of your estimated arrival time. Please be advised that this is at the hotels discretion, and is under no circumstances to be confused with a Late Check In
All the rooms are en-suite with shower and bath, direct dial telephone, computer point,Free Wi-Fi internet access, TV with satellite channels and tea and coffee making facilities. Free private car parking is available on site. Customers are advised that there is a slope on the hotel car park and assistance with luggage will be provided to the guest upon request.
The Campanile Hotel has a “à la Carte” Restaurant, Bar and Lounge and Meeting Room Facilities for a maximum of 25 delegates.
Please be advised that your credit or debit card details are to guarantee the booking only. Payment must be made by the customer in person on arrival at the hotel.
For Companies who would like to pay the accommodation for their employees we will require written authorisation by fax or email with contact details and allowance cost permitted.
Picture of Campanile Hotel, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had enjoyed a stay 10 years ago, when the hotel was probably fairly new, but this time were disappointed with the dated feel of the room and poor condition of carpets. Worst of all was the noise from guests from upstairs until 3.30am. We tried ringing reception but no one answered, we mentioned the noise the following morning but the man on reception said that there was no 24 hour porter and basically it was our fault we hadn't read the small print on our booking form which gave an emergency number. There was no apology or concern that we had a poor nights sleep. We had paid top whack for this room as it was half term and little accommodation available in Cardiff. The quality of the accommodation certainly didn't match the price paid!!

Reviewed by
M James

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty much what I expected
We were looking for a fairly inexpensive place to lay our heads for a few nights and that is exactly what we got. Having read some of the reviews we were a little uncertain at first but this was exactly what it claimed to be. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel at a 1 star price then you will be disappointed here but the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean. Yes, it's very basic but at the price it is good value for money and I for one would not think twice about staying there again if I wanted another budget break.

Reviewed by
Philip G

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and tidy
First room had a badly cracked wc bowl. Moved immediately to a new room with apologies from the receptionist.

Reviewed by
john H

From Llanon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overnight accommadation
Good confortable room with everything you need for an overnight stop, friendly staff and a good breakfast. only complaint is the walls could do with a bit of sound proofing.

Reviewed by
G Cox

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

purely a place to rest my head!
i dropped my daughter at Cardiff, and due to our location i decided to break my journey with an over night stop. The staff were charming, very polite but in a relaxed, friendly way. The room was fine, the bed was the most comfortable i have slept in. I treated myself to a continental breakfast, all perfect. it was proper coffee, unlike a certain rival chain. The room was ground floor and obviously geared for disabled people. the only negative i can have was the wifi, which was really slow, but i had it on my phone, so not a problem i can assure you, next time i need an over night stop i hope i will be able to Campanile, i certainly have no desire to stay in either Travel lodge or Premier

Reviewed by
c thomas

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only if absolutely desperate
The full price on the date I stayed was £155 because of the ODI cricket but I paid £49 as rooms hadn't sold, I'm not surprised and that was too much:
*Dreadful location - run down industrial state
*Tatty room - very poor decorative state, chipped furniture and cracked loo (obviously for some time judging by the stains)
*Loud noise of what was presumably a water pump cutting in all the while
*No chains on doors/poor security
*Poor food in soulless empty restaurant

Reviewed by
Lindsey P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, value for money. You get exactly what you pay for.
This hotel was excellent, the location is great, nice quiet rest and great service.

Reviewed by
S Saeed

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Serves a purpose
Easy to park upon arrival. Quite quick check in. Basic double room unfortunately the walls were paper thin and around 11:30pm the residents above me were clearly having an orgy. No invite to me that's my only complaint!

Reviewed by
David O

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cardiff visit
I have used this Campanile on numerous occasions. I enjoy the chalet type accommodation, and the privacy that this affords. Staff are always approachable. Food is not great and limited, but suffices for an overnight stop.

Reviewed by
Bob Stafford

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The noise of a water pump all night!
The room was comfortable but the noise of a pump witch everytime anyone used a tolet or cold water tap the noise in room 126 did lead to a challenge to sleep through the night! After reading signs stating that if you make any noise after 11pm. You could be fined £150!!! I feel that they need to review there own policy's. As had little sleep a 200 mile drive was none to pleasant after only a few hours of cat naps as a water pump was going untill at least 4am!!

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next