No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Campanile Hotel Birmingham- Central East

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Chester Street Aston, Birmingham, B6 4BE
Modern canalside hotel situated 5 minutes drive from the city centre, great for shopping or enjoying the fabulous and diverse nightlife in Birmingham yet quiet enough to relax and enjoy the comfortable bar and bistro. Easy to find from junction 6 of the M6.
Closest hotel to Aston Villa FC, 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk, Birmingham City FC, 5 minute drive
Aston University, 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk
***FREE CAR PARK***
*** 26" LCD TV IN EVERY BEDROOM WITH 50 FREEVIEW CHANNELS***
*** SKY SPORTS & ESPN ON 4 LARGE SCREEN TV'S IN LOUNGE & BAR***
Discounted tickets to local attractions available to purchase direct from the hotel. Save money & beat the queues!
Picture of Campanile Hotel Birmingham- Central East, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 98 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Campanile Hotel Birmingham- Central East
Had booked a double room but was told they only had a twin room left,big mistake by laterooms as they are letting you book rooms which the hotel doesnt have available.

Reviewed by
david b

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Campanile Hotel Birmingham- Central East
Suited the purpose of my stay, the bed was not very comfortable, but all in all good value for money

Reviewed by
Sabina B

From England
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I guess the room lived up to its description & you get what you pay for ... quite basic.
Bathroom floor wasn't exceptionally clean.
here you are provided with 2 towels. The hot tap is extremely HOT!!! No warning given likely to scold.
The room itself had only 1 plug socket! Recommend you take a an extension wire with you.
On the plus side ... bed was comfy & plenty of chanels to watch on TV.

Reviewed by
asma m

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
Nice hotel, friendly staff but room basic

Reviewed by
carrie m

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel shame about the noise
Granted it was New Years Eve but a full on party going on till 24 5am with music so loud I couldn't sleep. Then about 15 people standing outside my room shouting and laughing till 4am. A bit much even though I repeatedly asked them to be quiet. The staff was friendly though and the rooms were nice. Couldn't complain about that aspect.

Reviewed by
Emma Hayes

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leaves much to be desired but could be greatly improved easily
We arrived at the Campanile after much difficulty as the roads and pavement around the area were not disabled friendly with many "Stair only" routes and lack of drop curbs we had a very confusing and frustrating time being able to see the hotel but having the routes blocked to us with gates and stairs Granted this is not a problem with the hotel.
The Staff (Namely Ian) were great and the highlight of our stay.
However this being said there were a lot of issues that made our stay unpleasent (BUT the hotel should be able to remedy this easily)
After almost not being able to get to our room (because although we had booked we were told the rooms are first come first serve so there were no actual reservations. this made things VERY awkward as having booked a disabled room we were almost unable to stay there as they had given the rooms away to other people not having realised that we genuinely needed the disabled room) After this we managed to get up to our acessible room but due to the arrangment of the bed I was unable to actualy get INTO the room I had to lift my mobility scooter in, Had I been using my wheelchair or been there on a day my legs were at there worst with out any ability to self mobalise the room would have been redundant as the toilet was on the far side of the room. Thankfully I was able to use my crutches that day but I was unable to use the shower for lack of somewhere to sit there was a bath however I wouldn't have been able to get out of it. Other than that the toilet was fine bars were secure but due to super poor lighting in the main bedroom I was caught a little distressed the only good lighting was in the bathroom but from a seated position I couldn't see the mirror I managed to get my friend to help me perch on a hand bar as my legs won't last standing more than a few minuets at a time.
There were many more issues such as only 2 power sockets that were Far from the bed one was taken by charging my scooter and obviously this had to be done directly besides the bed since we coultn't get into the room with it, the other was on the far side of the room. I'm partialy deaf and this made it awkward to hear my alarm in the morning to be able to get out on time. In a sad turn of events that was remedied as we were woken to screams in the room opposite. The words "HELP HE'S STABBING ME" aren't the best thing to be woken too neither was the 10 minuet wait for the hotel staff to actually get up stairs and assist what was happening (I still don't know what happened the police were called, and a woman left the room in tears but I can't be sure what actually happened and there have been no news story's to suggest anything sinister) Anyway this was all unhelped by the lack of "Wifi" that was advertised while we were there as there were a few things I had actually needed to do online that day. But I consider our stay to have been lucky another family had turned up while we were checking in who had also booked and traveled a longer way than our selfs only to be turned away. There was also a large newyear party going on in a function hall on our floor which prevented me from getting a little shut eye before we our selfs needed to head out but to be fair it was New year. I will be writing to the actual company to discuss thease issues but we aren't very happy with what went on how ever do accept it was a busy day and that these issues can be ironed out easily. It is a shame and I hope they can remedy the issues because the hotel it's self was very nice and out side of the rooms easy to get around and the bar and lounge seemed pretty relaxed and comfy but I'm afraid there needs to be a few changes before I can consider staying again.
Review Written By Samantha Kent (P Marlow's Fiance)

Reviewed by
P Marlow

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money!

Reviewed by
D Banovska

From Chigwell, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Place very noisy
People shouting and screaming on new years eve. Hotel staff could not do anything about it

Reviewed by
Naseir S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Cheap and not cheerful
The male receptionists first words were "is it not 4 o'clock yet??" Which I found alarming as a first impression. The room was one of the most BASIC AND UNCLEAN ive EVER stayed in, for £55 you expect premier inn standard at least which is basic but clean and good enough, this room was not even that...no where near...premier inn was a star or 2 above this! The only good thing was the free parking!

Reviewed by
paul s

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Cheap and not cheerful
The male receptionists first words were "is it not 4 o'clock yet??" Which I found alarming as a first impression. The room was one of the most BASIC AND UNCLEAN ive EVER stayed in, for £55 you expect premier inn standard at least which is basic but clean and good enough, this room was not even that...no where near...premier inn was a star or 2 above this! The only good thing was the free parking!

Reviewed by
paul s

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next