No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stonecross Manor Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Milnthorpe Road , Kendal, LA9 5HP
Situated on the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking and easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591.

All 30 en suite rooms have bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds.

Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland.

Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes.

Our heated-indoor pool with steam room, massage jets and poolside Spa offers a welcome rejuvenation after a day of hill walking or sightseeing

Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place.

Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all.

Swimming Pool Fully Refurbished & Now Open
Picture of Stonecross Manor Hotel, Kendal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service
Booked this hotel literally a few hours before we arrived. Amy on reception was fabulous! Very friendly and lovely, nothing too much trouble. Room was nice, bit tired but clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was probably the best hotel breakfast I've ever had- no nasty bits in the sausages!! We went into the spa the following morning- we were the only two people in there! Really lovely! Definitely would stay again but book last minute- I wouldn't pay full price just because of the rooms being tired.

Reviewed by
R Magee

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
Room a little small but OK for a short break,
Excellent Food and Pool was very good as well.

Reviewed by
steve g

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night in Stonecross
Perfect !

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
A very nice, friendly hotel, staff are really helpful, food was excellent.
I am definitely going to use this hotel again and will return for a weekend break too.

Reviewed by
P Wood

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel pool and great staff made up for average accommodation
Having had a long walk in the Lakeland fells the pool/steam room and massage water jets were perfect, though the Jacuzzi was cold. The room was ok but did not match the quality of the pool area and was in need of updating. Great breakfast and excellent, attentive staff saved the hotel, but money needs spending upstairs!

Reviewed by
R Brown

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel good food but very expensive service was excellent the rooms are clean just very dated and past there sell by date the bed was put together with steel brackets and screws, nails,so not the best night sleep I've had the pool area was brilliant the staff where very helpful but overall I will give it 3 star's out of 5

Reviewed by
g jackson

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay was overall excellent. We went for a break and some peace and quiet.Our room was lovely with four poster bed, settee and arm chair.Although some might find it a bit tired and dated, for us, it added to the charm of the room.The spa was great as most of the time there was just the two of us enjoying the pool,steam room and jaccuzi.We had breakfast- again this was really good.We had an evening meal that was good value for money. We will certainly return to this hotel in the future.

Reviewed by
J Maxwell

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Massively dissapointing
This was supposed to be a £125 room - discounted to £85. It was barely worth £30. Terrible condition in the bathroom, paint peeling and poor grouting etc and marks on the walls in the bedroom. But of an untidy state really.
Absolutely not what we expected. Not the friendliest of welcomes either
We complained and got our money back. Ruined what was supposed to be a romantic stay. I would advise spending less on your luxury pool and more on your rooms

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Stonecross
Stayed on business. Very organised, clean, traditional hotel. Excellent staff and food was amazing. Older clientele. No sky tv couldn't watch the football . Bathroom was a bit tired and bug bear for women.! No mirror positioned by hair dryer.

Reviewed by
C W

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stonecross Manor is a lovely hotel in a nice location on the outskirts of Kendal. The food is excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. the only minor niggle is that the hotel is in need of a bit of a touch up, nothing drastic just looking a bit tired in places. The tiling round my sink for example was not finisned and had left bare tile cement exposed at the back. For an overnight stay it was absolutely fine, nice comfy bed and good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Peter J

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next