Reviews - Stonecross Manor Hotel


Milnthorpe Road, Kendal, LA9 5HP

Price From 179.66 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (26)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • P Burley

  • August 2015

Nice hotel but our room was in need of redecoration

Nice hotel on the outskirts of Kendal.

The public areas are very clean and well decorated. Only stayed in one room for one night and the room, while clean, was in need of redecoration. Did not eat here as used local services in the town. 4/5 rating overall.

  • Annabel E

  • August 2015

Friendly staff, but slightly tired hotel

We had high hopes arriving at Stonecross Manor.

The building is impressive and handsome, but sadly the interior doesn't match up to the exterior. The decor is tired, the rooms are slightly shabby with tatty old furniture and it all just feels a little grubby - sorry. We had stained headboards, split and peeling bath panels, scuffed and grubby walls. It all just felt a bit 'ick'. The staff were helpful and pleasant though, and we managed to get a good nights sleep despite being situated on the main road (15 minutes walk) into Kendal. Breakfast was buffet style - slightly disfunctional, and not great quality. It feels as if someone needs to love the place a little more. Not good value for money.

  • Scott F

  • August 2015

Could be a 4* !!

I eat out a lot and so have certain expectations when i stay at a 3* hotel such as this.

I have to say the food served here more than exceeded my expectations. It was phenomenal, could not be faulted!. Possibly one of the best meals I've EVER had!. Fantastic!. The hotel itself just needs a lick of paint in the common areas and a bit of updating in the rooms and it would more than qualify as a 4* business!. We will be back.

  • J Stewart

  • July 2015

Stay 22/7/15

Staff very friendly and accommodating, breakfast was okay.

Unfortunately, the room we had was in dire need of redecoration and the furniture was only fit for the bin.

  • Paul O

  • May 2015

Good and restful stay!

Great Chef, that was the Highlight.

Excellent Service. Pool is a great Addition and the town of Kendal is within easy driving distance - though unfortunately my stay was work related.

  • A Prosser

  • April 2015

Another good night at Stonecross Manor

Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, good food - everything you need from a hotel.

  • S Bunn

  • April 2015

Business Traveller

Nice location, really nice staff.

Quite clean and tidy but housekeeping lacked attention to detail in the rooms and the bathroom was in desperate need of several minor repairs which would not have been costly and has clearly been an unpleasant issue for a long time.

Overall fairly good value for money, comfortable and clean enough for an overnight business stay.

  • A Greene

  • January 2015

Stonecross Manor Hotel

Good value and good food.

  • Daniel Robinson

  • January 2015

quiet through the week but just what we needed

  • kevin w

  • January 2015

Lakes stay

An older hotel.

Staff great, the pool was really nice and good food