Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Christchurch Hotels > The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel

5Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
THE COLDRA , NEWPORT, NP18 1HQ
The Celtic Manor Resort

Venue of The 2010 Ryder Cup, voted Europe’s Golf Resort of the Year 2011 and M&IT Best UK Hotel 2012, The Celtic Manor Resort is a prestigious destination for business, golf and leisure, situated in the beautiful Usk Valley, South Wales.

This world-class resort offers luxury on a grand scale, set against a backdrop of panoramic views amidst 2,000 acres of parkland. There are a wealth of facilities to help you relax and unwind, including the luxurious Forum Spa, voted Best UK Hotel Spa 2011, and the Ocius Treatment Rooms, along with two fitness clubs, six restaurants offering everything from rustic country fare to award-winning fine dining, and three championship golf courses.

A wide range of family activities and outdoor pursuits offer an extra element of fun and excitement for visitors of all ages, including two spectacular adventure golf courses, the exhilarating Forest Jump treetop adventure, tennis, mountain biking, woodland walks, fishing and clay pigeon shooting.

To ensure availability of golf, spa treatments, activities and dining reservations during your stay, we recommend that you contact the Resort directly to book in advance of your arrival.
Picture of The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 98 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit
Excellent setting and fantastic facilities

Reviewed by
Gavin M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely, relaxing break
We found everything that we needed at Celtic Manor. The hotel itself and the grounds are spectacular, the service excellent and the spa superb.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfull
Its just the best hotel in wales, the golf course was brilliant, the gym and leisure facilities were just fantastic, the rooms were just so lovely. but to top it all over the food was out of the world. and the service was quick and everyone was just so helpful. 12 out of 10 for me.

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Celtic Manor Stay
Room was stunning and massive, bed was huge and really comfy .
Hotel was amazing and stunning.

Reviewed by
R Edwards

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Fantastic hotel...largest UK hotel I've stayed in. So much space, so many places to eat, drink & just unwind. Staff were excellent. I would suggest free parking for guests & a discount on the kids activities when our children met us for lunch one afternoon.

Reviewed by
M Davies

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place to stay. Looking forward to going back there.

Reviewed by
Kristy L

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms and food not that great
My room was like a furnace when I arrived.It was west facing and the curtains were wide open, aircon off and the sun was blazing through.
I tried for ages to get the aircon to work and eventually called reception who said that "they could do it remotely" So I assume that it was swtiched off for the whole floor! After 10 minutes and very small amount of coolish air strted to come through but bever enough to cool the room so I openned the patio door and closed the curtains and left for dinner.
We had dinner in the buffet which was very average food but for £32.50each is not good value, unless you want to eat yourself stupid which some were doing.
Overall I would not rush back, I don't play golf and this place is so obviously set up for crowds of blokes who just want to play golf and drink and I suppose for that it does a decent job.

Reviewed by
Paul N

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great - at the right price
Paid £82 through Laterooms. Room very good and good breakfast. Tried the swimming pool and sauna which was great. Didn't try the food or bar, as the prices were not cheap.
Would definately reccomend Celtic Manor if getting the price below £100.

Reviewed by
Simon F

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last Minute Stay at Celtic Manor
Having stayed at this hotel before, all be it a number of years ago we were very disappointed to find that the hotel although stating a five star luxury is actually more of a Butlin's type resort now.
Food was appalling!

Reviewed by
P J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel in Wales
1st class hotel we have ever stayed in not only in wales but the whole of the UK.

Reviewed by
Darren Hughes

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next