Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Christchurch Hotels > The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel

5Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
THE COLDRA , NEWPORT, NP18 1HQ
The Celtic Manor Resort

Venue of The 2010 Ryder Cup, voted Europe’s Golf Resort of the Year 2011 and M&IT Best UK Hotel 2012, The Celtic Manor Resort is a prestigious destination for business, golf and leisure, situated in the beautiful Usk Valley, South Wales.

This world-class resort offers luxury on a grand scale, set against a backdrop of panoramic views amidst 2,000 acres of parkland. There are a wealth of facilities to help you relax and unwind, including the luxurious Forum Spa, voted Best UK Hotel Spa 2011, and the Ocius Treatment Rooms, along with two fitness clubs, six restaurants offering everything from rustic country fare to award-winning fine dining, and three championship golf courses.

A wide range of family activities and outdoor pursuits offer an extra element of fun and excitement for visitors of all ages, including two spectacular adventure golf courses, the exhilarating Forest Jump treetop adventure, tennis, mountain biking, woodland walks, fishing and clay pigeon shooting.

To ensure availability of golf, spa treatments, activities and dining reservations during your stay, we recommend that you contact the Resort directly to book in advance of your arrival.
Picture of The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 114 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Cannot recommend this hotel, in my opinion does not deserve the 5 Star rating.
Majority of staff were fine but too many just not interested.
Fire alarms sounding from 12.40 am until nearly 4am is unacceptable, and this is by no means an isolated incident. Discount given on room was totally inadequate for the inconvenience of getting no sleep all night.
15 minute queue for breakfast is totally wrong for a hotel that charges at these rates, breakfast itself was fine but nothing special. Merlins bar was acceptable but once again nothing to write home about.
Must try harder!

Reviewed by
Mark J

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay although lacked the 5+ cleanliness I'd expect
We had a lovely stay at the Celtic Manor with our 2 children over 1/2 term. Fantastic facilities and plenty to keep the children entertained.
Beds were very comfy and the food was excellent at breakfast and our evening meal at the Olive Tree.
Only down side was the cleanliness of the room was not up to standard. The lamps next to our bed were thick with dust and obviously hadn't been cleaned for some time, as was areas around the bed such as headboard etc. Not being pedantic but the skirtings and wardrobes were also thick with dust. Reported to reception who agreed to service our room, but still wasn't cleaned up.
Cleanliness was not 5* and as demonstrated on TV series Hotel 24/7!!

Reviewed by
M Richards

From Hengoed, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A disappointing stay.
The rooms were clean but tatty for such a highly rated resort. The spa & leisure staff were friendly & helpful . The leisure facilities were lovely, however our stay was ruined by rude and unhelpful staff in the hotel; at breakfast , on reception and in the Merlin bar. It appeared that hotel guests were an inconvenience. We had a very poor dining experience in the lodge brasserie and there is a restricted menu if you are not an out and out meat eater . A disappointing stay , overpriced for service and room quality . Would not recommend .

Reviewed by
Louise R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to. Celebrate
The hotel has a very unique atmosphere and it's sheer size means that even though it was very busy it was very relaxing
The food was excellent as was the service and friendliness of the staff
I was voluntarily helped to improve the arrangements for my next visit in December with my grandchildren
My wife really enjoyed her Spa treatment occasion and my time in the Health Forum was relaxing

Reviewed by
Raymond Gerken

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful food and customer service
The food at the function we attended in the Manor House was exceptional, as was the service provided by staff. The breakfast in the main hotel the following morning was also lovely. lots of variety, all well cooked, and considering how busy the dining room is the staff managed incredibly well (with military precision). The bedroom was very nice (Room 921) with a balcony, although bed sheets didn't appear to be of best quality, and counterpane had a split in it. Didn't have the best nights sleep as the bed was very firm (Perhaps just personal taste) but a mattress topper would have sorted that. I am being very picky as expectations were very high.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing
Room stated luxury, window frame was cracked, no main light in bedroom, towels were hard where you would have expected soft (same as in spa and not even offered a robe). All in all very disappointing as this was a 60th present I had expected it to be luxurious. Mall shops rather disappointing. But the golf and golf pro were fantastic. The food at rafters together with the staff was fabulous and the staff fantastic 10+

Reviewed by
Annie G

From Keynsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it!!!!
we have stayed here a few times, but stayed in one of the suites and what a suite!!! we absolutely loved it, we didn't want to leave, cant wait to go back.........

Reviewed by
nathan smith

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Final Summer Treat
Excellent hotel-with a stunning reception area-great customer service-fabulous Spa and very good food. Spent 3 nights in the hotel and will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The overall experience was excellent and the breakfast very good indeed. Whilst some of the resteraunts were good, others were rather disappointing and represented poor value for money. Staff were excellent as was the transport provided by the hotel. The facilities were excellent- a very beautiful place.

Reviewed by
S Clark

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely stay, beautiful grounds and surroundings.
We couldn't get into our room until 4pm so you pay a lot of money for a 19 hour stay. we also had to queue along time to get a table for breakfast. Apart from that it was lovely.

Reviewed by
J Loveless

From Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next