Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Christchurch Hotels > The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel

5Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
THE COLDRA , NEWPORT, NP18 1HQ
The Celtic Manor Resort

Venue of The 2010 Ryder Cup, voted Europe’s Golf Resort of the Year 2011 and M&IT Best UK Hotel 2012, The Celtic Manor Resort is a prestigious destination for business, golf and leisure, situated in the beautiful Usk Valley, South Wales.

This world-class resort offers luxury on a grand scale, set against a backdrop of panoramic views amidst 2,000 acres of parkland. There are a wealth of facilities to help you relax and unwind, including the luxurious Forum Spa, voted Best UK Hotel Spa 2011, and the Ocius Treatment Rooms, along with two fitness clubs, six restaurants offering everything from rustic country fare to award-winning fine dining, and three championship golf courses.

A wide range of family activities and outdoor pursuits offer an extra element of fun and excitement for visitors of all ages, including two spectacular adventure golf courses, the exhilarating Forest Jump treetop adventure, tennis, mountain biking, woodland walks, fishing and clay pigeon shooting.

To ensure availability of golf, spa treatments, activities and dining reservations during your stay, we recommend that you contact the Resort directly to book in advance of your arrival.
Picture of The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel lovely, room super and no complaints.
However, the hotel was let down by slow service at dinner - plenty of waiting staff, but no food coming out of the kitchen in reasonable waiting time. If we had been going elsewhere after dinner we would have been too late! At the prices charged for the meal which was excellent, this was disappointing.. Do they need more help in the kitchen?? The restaurant certainly wasn't overfull. Next time we will eat elsewhere, what a shame!
Had to ask twice for tea-/coffee at breakfast after waiting 15 minutes. There was no marmalade available.

Reviewed by
Ivan Odds

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting couple of days

Reviewed by
P Broadhead

From Hengoed, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Time to unwind !!
The Resort was very impressive !! I also learnt the Manor Lodge was originally a maternity hospital where the owner of the whole resort was born. It definately left an impression on him. It was a lovely relaxing place with plenty to do,I was very impressed and will most definitely return. I intend on going back with my daughter to share my experience.

Reviewed by
P ROSS

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
Easy check in, impressive building, friendly staff, great food

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a view!
Amazing resort, view from the tenth floor just awesome both inside and out. Bit disappointed on first arrival that concierge couldn't find my booking which caused me to panic slightly. Once he saw we were right he disappeared!!

Reviewed by
R Love

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a fantastic time at The Celtic Manor Resort, it was a little bit of 'grandure!'
We had a great time at Celtic Manor and would definitely book again. The grounds of the hotel and the golf courses are absolutely beautiful and immaculately kept. My Father and I played the 20/10 course and really enjoyed the experience. The only problem was that we could not book in until 4pm which meant it was difficult for my Mum and girlfriend to use the facilities as their cases had to be left in the car or behind Reception, a 2pm book in would have been much more reasonable. Also, although my parents would have liked to have eaten dinner in the hotel, my girlfriend and I couldn't see anything that we would have liked and all was too expensive to risk trying.

Reviewed by
S Rudd

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with great service.

Reviewed by
d down

From exeter, USA
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good value short break.

Reviewed by
Gwynne Jenkins

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Easy check in. Great views from room - never thought I'd say that when the view is of the M4, Newport and Llanwern steelworks. Good gym and pool.

Reviewed by
Gillian K

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for Golden Wedding we enjoyed , no complaints! staff where excellent .Its a great Hotel

Reviewed by
B Price

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next