Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Christchurch Hotels > The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel

5Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
THE COLDRA , NEWPORT, NP18 1HQ
The Celtic Manor Resort

Venue of The 2010 Ryder Cup, voted Europe’s Golf Resort of the Year 2011 and M&IT Best UK Hotel 2012, The Celtic Manor Resort is a prestigious destination for business, golf and leisure, situated in the beautiful Usk Valley, South Wales.

This world-class resort offers luxury on a grand scale, set against a backdrop of panoramic views amidst 2,000 acres of parkland. There are a wealth of facilities to help you relax and unwind, including the luxurious Forum Spa, voted Best UK Hotel Spa 2011, and the Ocius Treatment Rooms, along with two fitness clubs, six restaurants offering everything from rustic country fare to award-winning fine dining, and three championship golf courses.

A wide range of family activities and outdoor pursuits offer an extra element of fun and excitement for visitors of all ages, including two spectacular adventure golf courses, the exhilarating Forest Jump treetop adventure, tennis, mountain biking, woodland walks, fishing and clay pigeon shooting.

To ensure availability of golf, spa treatments, activities and dining reservations during your stay, we recommend that you contact the Resort directly to book in advance of your arrival.
Picture of The Celtic Manor - Resort Hotel, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not up to its usual high standards....
We have stayed at the Celtic about 6 times now and have always really enjoyed our visits. Sadly I think this will be our last stay as standards seem to be slipping. Delays with luggage, lights not working, long waits for service in the lounge and not enough courtesy transport vehicles to and from the restaurants..... not really what you'd expect from a "5 Star" hotel.

Reviewed by
Pamela S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I don't normally spend this much money on a one night stay, but the Celtic Manor was excellent value and a good choice. The Staff were perfect: polite, efficient and readily offered help. The accommodation was ideal - as expected. The only minor criticism is for the Lodge Restaurant where my Order was clearly not taken correctly by the waiter or was ignored by the kitchen staff. My wife and grandson were both very satisfied with the fare they were provided with.

Reviewed by
Raymond Nicholas

From Goodwick, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Fab hotel with great facilities for everyone. If you get bored here, then probably nowhere is good enough.

Reviewed by
k hasan

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

v good

Reviewed by
e evans

From Pwllheli, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Celtic Manor
Add ons like Car Parking - Mini Bar tariff and room service tray charges detract from the value for money aspect - The service levels however are very high

Reviewed by
L Kershaw

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight retreat
My husband and I were at the hotel to have some us time, our room was clean and comfortable.
We dined at The Rafters where we found the staff to be courteous and the food was beautiful.
Breakfast however was served at the Oxford Restaurant, we were shown to a table which was just off the conservatory , the servers ran along the back window of the conservatory , we opted for the Full English, no bacon, no eggs (did arrive eventually), no bread basket for toast ( did arrive eventually). No jams or marmalade, long queue, awaiting the toaster, my coffee had been poured on arrival now cold, full English now cold, requested extra butter, toast now cold, I appreciate breakfast is a busy time but appeared unorganised, staff were every where, they appeared to be overwhelmed with clearing tables, returning plates and cutlery to the kitchen, whilst serving tea and coffee and helping customers with their requests. Would like to think this was just a bad day for breakfast, and would like to think if we return in the future breakfast would be a nicer experience.

Reviewed by
A Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing night away
Very friendly staff considering it was such a big hotel. First class service in all areas of the hotel. We were very impressed at being able to use all of the hotel facilities prior to check in and after check out. Would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a special break away.

Reviewed by
G Harris

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

celtic manor review
excellent

Reviewed by
J Vickers

From Canterbury, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half-term short break
Great facilities for children of all ages, buffet style in olive tree suited all tastes but did not think the food was that outstanding

Reviewed by
Susan D

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming hotel
We booked this as a last minute half term break.
Hotel is very kiddie friendly, has amazing staff and everyone had a great time.
Only comment were that the prices for food (and especially Kiddie menus) were a bit on the high.

Reviewed by
jayesh m

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next