No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Pilmour Links,St. Andrews,Fife , St Andrews, KY16 9JQ
The Rusacks is only a stone's throw away from the world's most famous golf course, and offers a magnificent view of the legendary 18th green of St. Andrews Old Course. Originally opened in 1887, The Rusacks has overlooked this magnificent vista for over a century. Many golfing and rock-and-roll legends have stayed as guests here and witnessed some of the most famous moments in golfing history.

Traditional comfort with breathtaking views over the legendary course and the sea beyond. There are 70 bedrooms including suites and golf view rooms. All rooms are themed around some of the world's top golfers, famous tournaments and infamous hazards like Hell's Bunker and the Valley of Sin, and are all decorated to a high standard. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

Award winning restaurateur Adrian Pieraccini has teamed up with Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, St Andrews. The first gastro pub in St Andrews, The One Under, opened in December 2009 and the new restaurant, Rocca Bar & Grill opened in February 2010. Rocca, recently awarded AA3 Rosettes, has the absolute best location and panoramic views directly over the 18th hole of the world famous Old Course and beyond towards the West sands beach.

The new gastro pub " The One Under" is the place for a relaxed drink or meal - the perfect 19th hole within putting distance of the old course.
Enjoy a relaxed light lunch or afternoon tea in the bright conservatory with wraparound views of The Old Course, visit our new Jubilee Gallery of golfing greats created by artist Joseph Austin.
Picture of Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, good location ad excellent food

Reviewed by
A Greene

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manhole
This is the fourth time my husband and I have stayed at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, the staff were as usual very friendly and welcoming.
Unfortunately I was unwell when we arrived, so looking forward to a relaxing time.
For the first time we had no bath, minor I suppose. We were placed at the front of the hotel, and unfortunately for us there was a manhole right outside, and when every vehicle went passed they managed to hit it. Yes I mean every vehicle.
As I work with public, and very used to people complaining, we wrongly said nothing. The second night was just as bad, the only good thing about it we were up so early we got a fab window seat for breakfast.
When we checked out, we were asked about our stay, and my husband quietly advised the receptionist to contact the council, regarding the noisy manhole. Only to be told, yes we know about this and they have put a complaint in regarding it.
I was very disappointed, they knew about the noise but still put guests into this room? Had the hotel been fully booked I would have said we were unlucky, as it wasn't, I would have expected more from them.

Reviewed by
Lilian Chatwood

From ABERDEEN, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but don't eat in the bar
The hotel, its surroundings, customer service was all great. However, I elected to eat in the downstairs bar. I started with soup, which was so hot I had to wait for it to cool down. Accompanying the soup were 2 small bred rolls, these were obviously frozen, microwaved and arrived so hard I could not even bite through them.
My main course was steak which was full of grissle and very expensive.
On the plus side the breakfast upstairs in the main restaurant was excellent

Reviewed by
A Greene

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel in a great position for visiting St Andrews, good room clean and well appointed.
Only downside was the abrupt service at breakfast when after waiting around 10 mins for the tea and coffee to be brought to the table I asked the head waitress about the delay her response was abrupt and not helpfull we waited another 10 mins before they arrived, not good enough for a hotel of this standing.

Reviewed by
Graham S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice stay in St Andrews
Really enjoyed the stay at the Russacks, the staff were really helpful and freindly, even to the point of allowing us to swap our room to one a bit further away from the road. Great!

Reviewed by
Daniel Cowley

From Glasgow, USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit
The hotel was ideally situated for the Old Course and the Bar's location was superb for watching the golfers on the 1st and 18th holes.

Reviewed by
Janet P

From Potters Bar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food
The food in the Gastro pub was awful.

Reviewed by
Linda Clark

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming star with excellent service without the stuffy attitudes you get in similar hotels

Reviewed by
Michael McVey

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graduation 14
Room did not have air conditioning and the weather was warm and uncomfortable.I had booked twin rooms and was allocated doubles but this was corrected very efficiently.Food in Rocca was excellent quality.However there were big delays between courses.It was graduation and very busy,but tables were booked months in advance so better plans should have been made.

Reviewed by
Helen F

From Ballymena, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super location
On arrival our room was in basement. Door wouldn't open. Funny smells in basement. Reception then put us in refurbished third-floor bedroom. Why not put us there to start with?

Reviewed by
ian b

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next