No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holt Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wrexham Road, Nr Holt, Wrexham , Wrexham, LL13 9SW
In its own grounds, just 5 minutes from Wrexham and only 15 minutes from the heart of Chester's city centre, this privately owned hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. The Holt Lodge has a good location, with easy access by road to both Wrexham and Chester. The coast of North Wales is also within easy reach.

There are 36 comfortable rooms, all with en suite baths and showers. All rooms have a telephone, a digital TV, a trouser press, ironing facilities, a hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities.

In the evening, the beautifully appointed bistro offers an extensive à la carte menu and boasts a great reputation for excellent cuisine. For a quieter, more casual atmosphere, you can relax in the comfortable bar area. Tea, coffee and drinks are available all day.

The Holt Lodge has its own car park at the rear of the hotel
Picture of Holt Lodge Hotel, Wrexham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly located but would not return
The hotel is set in a pleasant location but I would not return to this hotel because of 2 main reasons, 1) I booked a double room away with my partner and was given a room with a double bed and a single which I would consider to be a family room, they class this as a doudle as I was told 2) You can hear every single noise from the rooms above, for some reason the hotel placed a family with young children above my room and all I could hear for hours was the sound of people running around upstairs, when I asked why they did not place families with small kids on the ground floor in view of the travelling sound, to this they just said we are not to know people have kids even though we were asked who would be staying in the room at the time of booking. We also clearly stated we were a party of 2 why three beds? The other thing I would need to mention was that a cleaners rather large trolley was left blocking the hall all afternoon and night, in the event of a fire I would think this less than ideal not to mention the amount of people that struggled passed it with bags while I was there. At £64 I would expect more myself.

Reviewed by
barry w

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant & bar area were nicely presented & modernised... In comparison to the room we stayed in was a bit dated & tired looking. Otherwise good food, pleasant staff & a good stay, woken at dawn by a Cockerels dawn chorus, way better than traffic noise

Reviewed by
V Lacey

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

chesham

Reviewed by
SANDRA H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money.
Room very clean and comfortable. Slight problem with bathroom as Taps not working. Shower was good though. Excellent breakfast and very good service from staff who were friendly. Will use the Hotel again.

Reviewed by
H Lutterloch

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel very good but wi fi useless

Reviewed by
christopher alan jones

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

two day break visiting family in general area
We found the hotel very convenient for family visiting and could not fault the room chosen for us, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and finding us a ground floor room was necessary as my wife is disabled.

Reviewed by
ronald vaughan

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful
I traveled to Wrexham during the storm of Wednesday 12th Feb I phoned the hotel to say I would be very late - no problem - I was told to drive very careful, be as late as I liked - better to arrive late than not at all. Hotel was open for me at 1.00am. Room was fine (I have stayed on a number of occasions). Breakfast was good with the usual very pleasant breakfast waitress. All in all good value and will stay again.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
There was no Wi-Fi in two of the rooms and it was intermittent in the lounge/bar area. The first room had no remote control for the tv (one had been ordered days before), no iron or ironing board (although one was provided upon request) the shower dripped dripped dripped all night and no Wi-Fi at all. Second room was better but again no Wi-Fi. There is a massive sign outside saying free Wi-Fi but alas was only in the bar area. The place is tired and is in need of modernising - very disappointed.

Reviewed by
F Smith

From Elland, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked in for one night. Extremely helpful lady (Chris) at reception. Room was excellent. would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Peter P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tough mudder
It was okay apart from I couldn't get the wifi to work

Reviewed by
A Simpson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next