No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Palace Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Palace Road , Buxton, SK17 6AG
The spa town of Buxton is in the heart of the Peak District, one of Britain's most beautiful national parks. Famed for the healthy properties of its mineral water, the area offers stunning scenery with dramatic cliffs, waterfalls and caves. The hotel is renowned locally and nationally for its standards of customer service, cuisine and accommodation. The beautiful Victorian architecture is matched by richly decorated rooms, and the hotel successfully combines traditional heritage with state-of-the-art facilities. It is the perfect base to visit the Peak District whatever the nature of your stay.

All 122 bedrooms including 4 suites are very well furnished and equipped to the standard you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Most rooms have wonderful views over the town of Buxton and gardens. The hotel has excellent leisure facilities that include a 14-metre swimming pool. Perfect for relaxing or energising your stay. The Dovedale Restaurant offers excellent cuisine and fine wines in a relaxed and peaceful environment.
Picture of Palace Hotel - The Hotel Collection, Buxton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

back in time
Most memrible time...felt like we went back in time ..

Reviewed by
Julie S

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The palace v Premier Inn
Booked two hotels for a wedding weekend a cheep premier in on the first night then the palace on the second night after staying at the premier (newly refurbished) it made the palace look very dated and unclean and it cost twice the amount no breakfast and had to pay £4.50 for parking think I'll stick to premier inn's for the future free parking and eat as much as you can breakfast!

Reviewed by
S Ferris

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The front of house staff were very accomodating and helpful when a few issues arose. They did everything they could under the circumstances, even though the problem couldn't be fixed immediately.

Reviewed by
H York

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wedding guest
My daughter was married at the hotel and several of the guests stayed. The staff were lovely and very helpful, although more staff on the bar in the lounge would have been good. The wedding was lovely, in a magnificent room, (the High Peak suite). The buffet breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
K Scaife

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay overall
We stayed at the hotel for two nights and the wedding itself was on day two of the trip. Unfortunately, we were placed in a room directly above where a wedding was taking place on our first day and it was like I was in a nightclub....not a little drone, full on music which was going to run until 1am! At 11pm I went downstairs and expressed my annoyance at why we'd been placed above the noise (95 per cent of the rooms couldn't hear a peep!) and the staff apologised explaining they thought we were at the wedding on day one of our trip. The staff acted promptly and relocated us to quieter quarters immediately. I shan't hold this against the hotel...these confusions happen and the staff addressed our problem instantly.
The hotel has an 'old school' theme and decor but I think it adds to the charm. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, WIFI works well.
Food and drink are a bit pricey but decent choice on both fronts.
We were in the bridal party so got free parking but the website stated it was £4.50 for 24hrs usually which is a bit of a rip off considering they have there own car park.
Leisure facilities are also good, with a decent gym and swimming pool.
If you're staying in Buxton Iin Buxton I wouldn't write this place off but I would try and request a room on the top floor just in case there is a function going on (numerous function rooms spread across the bottom floor) that really could leave you without a wink of sleep.

Reviewed by
Antony G

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory stay but overpriced in all areas.
Hotel needs a lot of renovation, for the price of the room I would expect a much higher standard of decor, especially the bathroom which was very tired and old fashioned. The food was lovely but very overpriced. Also disappointed by the unpleasant attitude of the receptionist who tried to charge us for 1 child's breakfast when I had booked and paid in advance for 3 rooms including breakfast for 8 people over 3 days at a cost of approx £1000. The cost was taken off but only after a 20 minute wait with me being questioned over who I had spoken to at the hotel about the booking. Common sense should have applied here!

Reviewed by
Charlotte G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
What a lovely hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. You were quite swept away to an elegant time in English history along with the modern conveniences of the 21st century. I will definitely return. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
valerie g

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disorganised chaos rules at the Palace
Booked a room nearly three months ago at the Palace in Buxton and received a phone call three hours before check in time saying that the hotel was overbooked and we were going to be accommodated in a nearby hotel.
The whole point of staying at the Palace on Sept 6 was to join a large group of friends, so to be told we had to move was a huge disappointment. On arrival we insisted on a meeting with the duty manager who offered his apologies and explained that there had been issues with the computer that handled the bookings but was not prepared to tell us how many people this affected ( I suspect quite a lot).
We explained how it felt we were being unfairly punished for the hotels cock up and stood firm that our booking should be honoured, even if it was only for one night. After a lot of platitudes and feeble excuses, the duty manager went to see what he could do after providing a complementary drink (thank you).
He managed to find a room for us in the end but I image an unfortunate latecomer would be greeted with the news they would have to hike up the road to the overflow hotel instead of residing at the Palace for the night. Reading between the lines, the issues at the Palace probably stem from the fact the its parent company, The Hotel Group, went in to administration early last month while it arranged a refinancing package, so lets hope this was only a temporary blip as the Palace at Buxton is a landmark hotel and deserves to survive.

Reviewed by
Iain Wakefield

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded Grandeur
Nice location, nice building and great staff. Room was shabby and the hotel needs modernising. Expensive rooms - small pool which can get busy. Lots of old dears visiting. Great food and nice restaurant.

Reviewed by
Z Hawcroft

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian Grandeur?
The hotel has excellent facilities and has many fine Victorian features front of house. The breakfasts were of a good standard and staff were friendly. We had an evening meal which was excellent. However, we had a room with a double bed which only had one bedside table on one side! Never come across this before in any starred establishment! Generally a rather basic room which looked tired and in need of modernising. No coat hooks! Bathroom very clean and functional though.

Reviewed by
J Cooper

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next