Palace Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4

Palace Road, Buxton, SK17 6AG

Price From 132.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (62)

58% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • mary g

  • April 2015

Four Star Hotel?!!!

Location and size of hotel is good.

Near to town centre but with decent size grounds and nice view. Car parking not included in price of room. Booked a double - but room was converted twin with beds pushed together. No bedside table or light on one side and because bed head was fixed to wall - nothing to lean back on on one side.

Spent ages looking for hair dryer. Had to ask for one at reception as was not in room. Stingy amount of milks for tea and coffee. Asked at reception for more. They could not find any : (

No "do not disturb" sign for door. Asked at reception - who took an age to find one. Other things not right with room, but we were reluctant to mention as service so poor and slow. ( Bath did not drain properly and toilet seat fell off!!). Overall hotel was a nice space but needs money spent on decor / fixtures and fittings and does not deserve four star rating as customer service very poor.

  • Nick A

  • March 2015

Looks good on the outside

Looks good as a hotel, but once out of the areas that are public areas, the Bedrooms are tired, My room had peeling paper on the ceiling.

The beds were not comfortable at all, there was a draught from the badly closing windows. There was no power socket near the bed to charge you phone

The bathroom was tired and needed a refit,

The shower would be good if you were 5ft something but as a 6ft3 man it was no where near adequate. The hot water ran out after about 4 minutes. The breakfast was brilliant, the staff were attentive and polite. This hotel just needs some investment to be honest

  • Keith Wood

  • March 2015

Very Tired

This once top end hotel is now only a shadow of what it once was.

Upon arrival you are greeted by a barrier to the car park - for which you pay the privilege of PAYING £4.50 per night - with signs everywhere telling you that for that price they accept no liability. Check in is 3pm with a 1pm check-in an additional £10 - and a 11am check-in an additional £20. Money making at its best. Our room, 323, was on the 3rd floor (top) and very tired indeed. The bathroom was a long corridor obviously added when en-suite became the norm. The room however was warm and the bed comfortable. There was no water to the sink at any time and the shower was erratic. The only lift took forever to arrive each time so we used the stairs to descend. the price of drinks was astounding at £44 for 4 nightcaps. The saving grace was the excellent breakfast - at an additional £12 - on top of the £119 for the double room. This hotel needs investment to justify the prices - or accept its place as a standard 3*

  • Ali B

  • January 2015

Recommended

A beautiful hotel in the centre of Buxton.

Staff were amazing and everything is walking distance. The room was a little small and I am not a fan of the separate hot and cold taps. Great stay though, much recommended

  • Sonia B

  • December 2014

Majestic Suite

Quality, glamour, peace and scale - the suite we stayed in was wonderful - more like an apartment than a hotel suite.

Stunning views across Buxton, 2 minutes from the station and staffed by people who enjoyed working there, took pride in the hotel's heritage and made our stay comfortable, relaxed and joyous.

  • Julie S

  • November 2014

back in time

Most memrible time...felt like we went back in time ..

  • H York

  • November 2014

The front of house staff were very accomodating and helpful when a few issues arose.

They did everything they could under the circumstances, even though the problem couldn't be fixed immediately.

  • S Ferris

  • November 2014

The palace v Premier Inn

Booked two hotels for a wedding weekend a cheep premier in on the first night then the palace on the second night after staying at the premier (newly refurbished) it made the palace look very dated and unclean and it cost twice the amount no breakfast and had to pay £4.50 for parking think I'll stick to premier inn's for the future free parking and eat as much as you can breakfast!

  • K Scaife

  • November 2014

wedding guest

My daughter was married at the hotel and several of the guests stayed.

The staff were lovely and very helpful, although more staff on the bar in the lounge would have been good. The wedding was lovely, in a magnificent room, (the High Peak suite). The buffet breakfast was delicious.

  • Antony G

  • November 2014

Enjoyable stay overall

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and the wedding itself was on day two of the trip.

Unfortunately, we were placed in a room directly above where a wedding was taking place on our first day and it was like I was in a nightclub....not a little drone, full on music which was going to run until 1am. At 11pm I went downstairs and expressed my annoyance at why we'd been placed above the noise (95 per cent of the rooms couldn't hear a peep!) and the staff apologised explaining they thought we were at the wedding on day one of our trip. The staff acted promptly and relocated us to quieter quarters immediately. I shan't hold this against the hotel...these confusions happen and the staff addressed our problem instantly. The hotel has an 'old school' theme and decor but I think it adds to the charm. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, WIFI works well. Food and drink are a bit pricey but decent choice on both fronts. We were in the bridal party so got free parking but the website stated it was £4.50 for 24hrs usually which is a bit of a rip off considering they have there own car park. Leisure facilities are also good, with a decent gym and swimming pool. If you're staying in Buxton Iin Buxton I wouldn't write this place off but I would try and request a room on the top floor just in case there is a function going on (numerous function rooms spread across the bottom floor) that really could leave you without a wink of sleep.