Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Essex > Colchester Hotels > BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
East Street, Colchester, CO1 2TZ
The oldest Hotel in England’s oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Rose and Crown Hotel, originally a 14th century posting house, lovingly restored to a modern day hotel. Nine executive rooms featuring flat screen LCD televisions, air-conditioning, laptop charging safes and premium quality fixtures and furnishings. Alternatively, choose from the historic oak beamed rooms in the original house, or the more contemporary rooms in the main building. All rooms have an entertainment system and either Wi-Fi or Internet data port. The Oak room restaurant has been recently refurbished and offers a contemporary setting and great casual dining, a favorite with the locals and guests alike. Have a pre-dinner drink in either the hotel lounge or enjoy the Tudor Bar/Brasserie with its more traditional foods and ales. The hotel is within walking distance of Colchester Town centre (15 minutes) and accessible to all the historic sights of East Anglia. The BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown in Colchester was awarded Best Small Hotel in Essex.
Picture of BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester, Colchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Staff and Modern Comfortable Room
My room was very clean and though from the outside the building has the charm of being historical, my room and particularly bathroom was very modern and comfortable.
The staff were very helpful, though I didn't have much reason to call on them because I had no problems during my stay. I eat in the restaurant once and it was perfectly fine - perhaps a little overpriced for what it was.

Reviewed by
J Page

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Rose and Crown
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We particularly liked the old fashioned feel of the property - the oak timber frames and slightly creaky floors. The room was perfect for our needs, great value, very comfortable and clean. Our only feedback would be that the shower was difficult to turn on without getting cold water over you and the warm water took time to come through and was a bit noisy when it did.

Reviewed by
Nadia A

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent couple of days in Colchester
An absolutely fantastic stay, the room, service and reception and bar staff were all great. There were always plenty of parking spaces when returned from driving into Colchester.
I shall definitely be staying at the Rose and Crown again. Many thanks for making my return to Colchester after 34 years very enjoyable. Just one very minor criticism - It would be good to have more options when ordering breakfast. I only eat cereals, but the options were only either full English or continental breakfasts.

Reviewed by
Stephen Maltby

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable, but the view outside the room was of old palettes and a fence

Reviewed by
P Baker

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel, recommended
We had a very good weekend break. The staff are all helpful and polite. We ate in the bar which was great with a log fire, fast service and good quality food. Breakfasts were good too. Rooms are a mix of old and new, we had a newer one but all are clean and well serviced. Will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
G Markham

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first visit to this hotel, but when visiting Colchester will stay again, all the staff very friendly and when travelling alone this is much appreciated.
The food from the bar was really good. Best I have had in a while.

Reviewed by
Karen Hodgkinson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old and well-positioned
The only downside was the dirty toilet on arrival but when mentioned to the man on reception he came and cleaned it. (Also you only get a very small biscuit with the coffee in the room and only one pillow each.) The hotel is ideally placed in Colchester and it is lovely to be able to have a meal (simple pub food) in the old bar (with real fire) and a drink and then just walk a few steps to your room (ours was in the modern annexe).

Reviewed by
P Davies

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super
excellent would highly recommend

Reviewed by
sandy everitt

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm and welcoming hotel
I enjoyed this hotel because it was unique - a lovely old building with cosy bar and nicely decorated room of a good size.

Reviewed by
Marisa G

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming and very olde world. sociable and pleasant staff

Reviewed by
David C

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next