Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester

3

East Street, Colchester, CO1 2TZ

Price From 190.73 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (21)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ralph Washington

  • April 2014

Full of Character

A very pleasant stay at a comfortable Hotel full of Character and History.

  • Philip COZENS

  • March 2014

If you don't mind staying in a pub, then it's ok for a business trip.

I was disappointed that this hotel turned out to be a pub with accomadation.

I was given a good room in the "executive block", which was better than I expected. Clean and good facilities. The main pub was very old and suffered from Big Screen TV and Burgers. Breakfast service was slow.

  • Steve Sutton

  • January 2014

Enjoyable

Very clean and tidy hotel, staff very accommodating

  • Janet H

  • November 2013

Lovely old building

This is a historic inn - lots of character.

But with history comes those features you'd expect eg creaky floor-boards, uneven stairs, draughts etc.

It's a great place to stay if you want history, not so great if you're a light sleeper and you want a good night's sleep as you'll hear every movement in the next room (and maybe the room next to that as well).

Food was served in the bar only (Sunday evening) and was fine. Staff were friendly and helpful (especially the receptionist in the morning who chased up my taxi booking relentlessly.

  • K Shokar

  • November 2013

Hotel itself is excellent rooms have character that match the building and surroundings very good value, only minor negative is that we were above the kitchens and the nose of the extraction systems interrupted sleep in what was a very comfortable bed.

Would use again but choose a different room.

  • Jon S

  • October 2013

Warm but cosy

A very nice hotel situated about 15mins drive from the town...the staff were all very pleasant and its good to finally stay in a hotel where i have no real issues.

The only thing is the rooms get very hot with the heating but probably easily rectified!

  • S Cowen

  • October 2013

fantastic stop over!

Very quirky little hotel...full of character.

The receptionists were very pleasant and the bar staff. Handy because we had parking which was safe. Obviously it is a 3 star and therefore exactly what you would expect from that rating...i.e it was clean but could definitely do with a spruce up In the rooms with new blinds etc and windows. However we both enjoyed our stay while we visited friends.

  • A Hale

  • September 2013

we were up-graded and wish we hadn't been! Our room was the bridal suite in the old part of hotel

The room was very nice on first look in daylight, unfortunately on returning after our meal the lighting was so poor we could hardly read a book.

Added to which, the chairs were most uncomfortable, chairs placed outside of room for decoration purposes looked much better. I certainly would have been very annoyed to pay more for this room. We had a very good meal on our first evening which was beautifully presented, breakfast the following day was equally as good. However the following day I ordered egg, sausage and tomatoes and was amazed to be served just that but with one half of tomato on a huge plate. How much do tomatoes cost wholesale I ask. I think if we could have had our original room with plenty of light I would have been much happier. Keep the old style rooms for foreign visitors who perhaps enjoy the rooms with all the history!

  • Ruth J

  • September 2013

Relaxed and comfortable

Very comfortable bed and Excellent en suite shower facilities.

Early night meant there was a little noise from the corridor as other guests retired to bed but this was not too much of a problem.

  • A Higham

  • August 2013

Great for the price

The staff were very friendly and the hotel was lovely, especially the Tudor bar.

The room was very clean and spacious with a modern bathroom. The only thing that let it down was the old mattress. The town centre is about 10 minutes walk uphill. The castle and the natural history museum are really close and there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.