Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester


East Street, Colchester, CO1 2TZ

Price From 167.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

70% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • D Collins

  • August 2014



  • Ralph Washington

  • July 2014

Returning Guest

Second visit in 3 months.

Still delighted by it's charm.

I could not get to sleep because of the noise of a fan or an electrical appliance nearby, so I contacted reception at midnight and was, without fuss, give another room to sleep in for the night - leaving my belongings in the original room which I returned to in the morning to shower and dress.

  • John Y

  • May 2014

very convenient in Colchester

This was ideal as a base for sightseeing.

Everything was as it should be, shame there was a wedding reception at the hotel which meant that parking was tight

  • Ralph Washington

  • April 2014

Full of Character

A very pleasant stay at a comfortable Hotel full of Character and History.

  • Philip COZENS

  • March 2014

If you don't mind staying in a pub, then it's ok for a business trip.

I was disappointed that this hotel turned out to be a pub with accomadation.

I was given a good room in the "executive block", which was better than I expected. Clean and good facilities. The main pub was very old and suffered from Big Screen TV and Burgers. Breakfast service was slow.

  • Steve Sutton

  • January 2014


Very clean and tidy hotel, staff very accommodating

  • Janet H

  • November 2013

Lovely old building

This is a historic inn - lots of character.

But with history comes those features you'd expect eg creaky floor-boards, uneven stairs, draughts etc.

It's a great place to stay if you want history, not so great if you're a light sleeper and you want a good night's sleep as you'll hear every movement in the next room (and maybe the room next to that as well).

Food was served in the bar only (Sunday evening) and was fine. Staff were friendly and helpful (especially the receptionist in the morning who chased up my taxi booking relentlessly.

  • K Shokar

  • November 2013

Hotel itself is excellent rooms have character that match the building and surroundings very good value, only minor negative is that we were above the kitchens and the nose of the extraction systems interrupted sleep in what was a very comfortable bed.

Would use again but choose a different room.

  • Jon S

  • October 2013

Warm but cosy

A very nice hotel situated about 15mins drive from the town...the staff were all very pleasant and its good to finally stay in a hotel where i have no real issues.

The only thing is the rooms get very hot with the heating but probably easily rectified!

  • S Cowen

  • October 2013

fantastic stop over!

Very quirky little hotel...full of character.

The receptionists were very pleasant and the bar staff. Handy because we had parking which was safe. Obviously it is a 3 star and therefore exactly what you would expect from that rating...i.e it was clean but could definitely do with a spruce up In the rooms with new blinds etc and windows. However we both enjoyed our stay while we visited friends.