Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Essex > Colchester Hotels > BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester

3AA ประเมิน โรงแรม Ratings explained
East Street, Colchester, CO1 2TZ
The oldest Hotel in England’s oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Rose and Crown Hotel, originally a 14th century posting house, lovingly restored to a modern day hotel. Nine executive rooms featuring flat screen LCD televisions, air-conditioning, laptop charging safes and premium quality fixtures and furnishings. Alternatively, choose from the historic oak beamed rooms in the original house, or the more contemporary rooms in the main building. All rooms have an entertainment system and either Wi-Fi or Internet data port. The Oak room restaurant has been recently refurbished and offers a contemporary setting and great casual dining, a favorite with the locals and guests alike. Have a pre-dinner drink in either the hotel lounge or enjoy the Tudor Bar/Brasserie with its more traditional foods and ales. The hotel is within walking distance of Colchester Town centre (15 minutes) and accessible to all the historic sights of East Anglia. The BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown in Colchester was awarded Best Small Hotel in Essex.
Picture of BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester, Colchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old building
This is a historic inn - lots of character. But with history comes those features you'd expect eg creaky floor-boards, uneven stairs, draughts etc.
It's a great place to stay if you want history, not so great if you're a light sleeper and you want a good night's sleep as you'll hear every movement in the next room (and maybe the room next to that as well).
Food was served in the bar only (Sunday evening) and was fine.
Staff were friendly and helpful (especially the receptionist in the morning who chased up my taxi booking relentlessly.

Reviewed by
Janet H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic stop over!
Very quirky little hotel...full of character. The receptionists were very pleasant and the bar staff! Handy because we had parking which was safe. Obviously it is a 3 star and therefore exactly what you would expect from that rating...i.e it was clean but could definitely do with a spruce up In the rooms with new blinds etc and windows. However we both enjoyed our stay while we visited friends.

Reviewed by
S Cowen

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were up-graded and wish we hadn't been! Our room was the bridal suite in the old part of hotel
The room was very nice on first look in daylight, unfortunately on returning after our meal the lighting was so poor we could hardly read a book. Added to which, the chairs were most uncomfortable, chairs placed outside of room for decoration purposes looked much better! I certainly would have been very annoyed to pay more for this room.
We had a very good meal on our first evening which was beautifully presented, breakfast the following day was equally as good. However the following day I ordered egg, sausage and tomatoes and was amazed to be served just that but with one half of tomato on a huge plate! How much do tomatoes cost wholesale I ask!
I think if we could have had our original room with plenty of light I would have been much happier. Keep the old style rooms for foreign visitors who perhaps enjoy the rooms with all the history!

Reviewed by
A Hale

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed and comfortable
Very comfortable bed and Excellent en suite shower facilities. Early night meant there was a little noise from the corridor as other guests retired to bed but this was not too much of a problem.

Reviewed by
Ruth J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for the price
The staff were very friendly and the hotel was lovely, especially the Tudor bar. The room was very clean and spacious with a modern bathroom. The only thing that let it down was the old mattress. The town centre is about 10 minutes walk uphill. The castle and the natural history museum are really close and there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

Reviewed by
A Higham

From Spain
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with charm and character
Ample tea bags. Safe, comfortable room with privacy, character and charm. Deep bath and clean, spacious room. Every comfort and reassurance for the lone female traveller.

Reviewed by
Anne P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Back to the Future
This hotel just oozes history but with all the comforts of the twenty first century. It was worth not going for the cheapest room but paying a bit extra for the four poster bed. We could not have asked for a better room. The breakfast was excellent, as was the evening meal if not a little over the top for a pub. However it is within walking distance of Colchester town centre, which was a big surprise... You get the feeling of a town that is both alive, but cared for by the locals. There were many good restaurants to choose from and we tried Thai which was a few hundred yards up East Hill from the hotel and had a fantastic meal.

Reviewed by
David S

From Sandown, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
We stayed just for one night for a family gathering. The hotel is ideal for use as a meeting place, very relaxed and comfortable. Our room was in the main part of the hotel which is has loads of character. The room was of a high standard and spotless. We used the bar menu for our evening meal, the Fish & Chips were excellent. The full English Breakfast was very good and gave us a good start to our long journey home. The staff were very professional and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you.

Reviewed by
ERIC SMITH

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Selected the hotel because of its proximity to relatives we were visiting and it being an interesting old building. The hotel itself was immaculate and the staff were very personable and helpful. We were located in the new wing which was a little noisy with the traffic / air-conditioning , but no noise from other guests. The restaurant was closed due to a wedding party but the bar staff were happy to reserve a table for us for dinner. The restaurant menu offered a good choice and the food was served promptly and was excellent quality. A very enjoyable meal. Breakfast, however, was a bit of a disappointment - quite mediocre for the price. The full English was overly greasy and the portions small. The wedding party were just finishing their meal when we came down to breakfast but the breakfast staff got our order wrong - along with 2 tables next to us. Generally though, a very nice stay.

Reviewed by
M Ward

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Staff and Modern Comfortable Room
My room was very clean and though from the outside the building has the charm of being historical, my room and particularly bathroom was very modern and comfortable.
The staff were very helpful, though I didn't have much reason to call on them because I had no problems during my stay. I eat in the restaurant once and it was perfectly fine - perhaps a little overpriced for what it was.

Reviewed by
J Page

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next