No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Arcade 126 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4JQ
A magnificent four-star Victorian hotel set in the heart of Birmingham, Macdonald Burlington Hotel is conveniently located right in the city centre for a wealth of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is located just a 2 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, 10 minutes walk from Moor Street and Snow Hill Stations. Birmingham International Airport is just a 10 minutes link away and within a short distance of the ICC and the NIA. If you want to explore the culture in the area, the following attractions are all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel: The Hippodrome Theatre, The Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, Symphony Hall, Birmingham Library.

The Macdonald Burlington hotel is steeped in history. Our Victorian architecture and vast marbled reception has welcomed many a prime minister and celebrity, so the team know and recognise how to treat all of our guests as VIPs.

The hotel has 114 bedrooms, all with unique features and char. All the bedrooms come with comfortable beds with thick mattress toppers, crisp white linen and soft duvets flat screen digital televisions, air-conditioning, complimentary bottled filtered water as standard, using water sourced from our own underground spring. The shiny bathrooms come with toiletries and fluffy towels, all to ensure that your stay is a home away from home experience.

An oasis of calm and tranquility, the hotel has a choice of lounge areas, an intimate cocktail bar and the Berlioz restaurant and Scottish Steak Club which serves the best steak in town.

Guests will receive an attractive discount in our local NCP car park. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Burlington Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel for Christmas Markets
Ideal position for The Bullring, Hippodrome, Christmas Markets and close to main stations. Staff were brilliant but were let down by the cleanliness of the bathroom. Executive room was not as described on website. No radio available in room.

Reviewed by
Deirdre W

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Great service and I would recommend it a friend.

Reviewed by
C Foster

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Breakfast was quite small but very tasty

Reviewed by
W Lynch

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly tired furniture in the room but it was clean and spacious. The hotel restaurant was excellent for both dinner and breakfast.

Reviewed by
Steven M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed Pillows
Would suggest another type of pillow to be available in room. Wife could not sleep because pillows shape was big and bulky and ended up with stiff neck.

Reviewed by
D Dundas

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General Opinion
Everything about our short stay at this hotel was first class. Will definitely book again.

Reviewed by
P JOHNSON

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fir Coat no Knickers
The hotel itself was very grand unlike the room that was supposedly an executive room. It was rather small but was clean and adequate for an overnight stay. The room standard did not match what the website says which is quite annoying, for example there was no bath robe. The bed was too soft for me and I'm not sure why it would be described as luxurious?
The staff were friendly but the only reason I got the discounted parking was because I had seen it on the website and I asked about it the following morning. I would have expected the reception person to have told me about this the night before when I had been asked about where I had parked. The paper I ordered was nowhere to be seen the next morning?
Breakfast was fine although the choice was limited, I prefer a buffet where you can choose what you want based on how it looks.
I would have been extremely unhappy if I had paid the full price for this room.

Reviewed by
Andy W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best place to stay for Birmingham shopping.

Reviewed by
Elwyn T

From Llanfairpwll, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In the heart of the city
I felt the price reflected the unrivalled central location of the hotel rather than the quality of the room I stayed in. I found the decor dated and the net curtain in the bathroom looked dirty. When I ran a bath, the hot water took several minutes to come through. I also found the shower mechanism difficult to work and consequently wasted a lot of water as it took me at least five minutes to work out how to switch it off. The air conditioning unit (I think) was right outside the windows and made a noise all night. However, the bed was extremely comfortable, the staff were courteous and helpful and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The fact that the hotel was right opposite the station and on a main street meant it was a perfect location for visiting the city centre shops and Christmas market which was literally outside the door.

Reviewed by
A C

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall an absolutely excellent hotel. The staff couldn't have done anything more to make our stay such a fabulous experience.

Reviewed by
Richard Clark

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next