No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Arcade 126 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4JQ
A magnificent four-star Victorian hotel set in the heart of Birmingham, Macdonald Burlington Hotel is conveniently located right in the city centre for a wealth of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is located just a 2 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, 10 minutes walk from Moor Street and Snow Hill Stations. Birmingham International Airport is just a 10 minutes link away and within a short distance of the ICC and the NIA. If you want to explore the culture in the area, the following attractions are all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel: The Hippodrome Theatre, The Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, Symphony Hall, Birmingham Library.

The Macdonald Burlington hotel is steeped in history. Our Victorian architecture and vast marbled reception has welcomed many a prime minister and celebrity, so the team know and recognise how to treat all of our guests as VIPs.

The hotel has 114 bedrooms, all with unique features and char. All the bedrooms come with comfortable beds with thick mattress toppers, crisp white linen and soft duvets flat screen digital televisions, air-conditioning, complimentary bottled filtered water as standard, using water sourced from our own underground spring. The shiny bathrooms come with toiletries and fluffy towels, all to ensure that your stay is a home away from home experience.

An oasis of calm and tranquility, the hotel has a choice of lounge areas, an intimate cocktail bar and the Berlioz restaurant and Scottish Steak Club which serves the best steak in town.

Guests will receive an attractive discount in our local NCP car park. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Burlington Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great reception and bar staff . Room v. Comfortable but a bit shabby ,handle off door cupboard and the shower didn't empty very easily , but bed v. Comfortable and a far cry from those unattractive hutches of most hotels . Good pictures ,and some thought had gone into their selection but it all needs a bit of a paint and tidy up . Nevertheless a very comfortable stay . Will come again .

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and staff
The staff and the quality of room were both very high and for £68 it was great value. I arrived around 9.45am on the day of my booking hoping I could just leave my bag there and was told I could actually check in and use my room. This was great and meant I could relax before attending the conference later in the morning.

Reviewed by
Pete F

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was lovely and very friendly. The room was beautiful and the sandwiches were delicious
The hotel was very central to the shopping centre and the train station was a minute walk away - would definitely stay there again as the hotel was beautiful and very relaxed

Reviewed by
Jennifer b

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfied customer
Perfectly situated for when you have a train to catch in the morning.

Reviewed by
Jason Plant

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never lets us down
We often stay at the Burlington in Birmingham and always get brilliant service. The rooms are always clean, staff are friendly and very accommodating. Our favourites on Reception are Sarah and Richard - they are so helpful and always have a smile.
We love this hotel to bits.

Reviewed by
D Bentley

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Stay
The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, my room was very well decorated. However, my room was very hot throughout the stay as the Air Conditioning was not working for my entire stay, upon arrival I reported this at Reception to be told it would be fixed that afternoon, upon return this was still not fixed, I then reported it again on the following afternoon to be told no one had been to see it and the engineer commented that the air con unit in my room is very faulty and rarely works. To be told it would be fixed and then to find it is out of repair was unsatisfacory. I was then offered a fan for the rest of my stay, which made the room very uncomfortable. I also reported that the safe within my room was locked upon arrival however this was not fixed either throughout my stay. I would not have minded the heat within the room if I could open the windows to let cool air in, however my room overlooked all of the air conditioning units, which were very noisy throughout day and night. I have stayed in other Macdonald hotels and received much better service.

Reviewed by
K COOKE

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent

Reviewed by
H Bengali

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very comfortable and clean .

Reviewed by
Judith B

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good as always.
Stayed here quite often and this was another great stay. Executive double room with a huge king size bed. Staff polite as always. Recommended 100%.

Reviewed by
Lucy R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location, location, location
We had a brilliant stay over the bank holiday weekend. Our visit to the Burlington started with a lovely greeting, we were promptly served and shown to our room (206) The room was surprisingly spacious for a twin. The usual goodies awaited us, ample tea, coffee, bottled watered etc. we decided to order room service late one night and waited almost half an hour to be told they didn't have the ham for the ham sandwich which I had ordered. I chose tuna instead and was told the entire order would be compensated. When we checked out the food and drinks from that night had been removed from our bill as promised. Nice touch. The hotel us in a very central location and despite being so close to New Street station, I had the best nights sleep uve had in a while. No noise, comfy beds and pillows.
Only thing that let it down was the bathroom, although it was quite stylish and clean the glass shower screen didn't sit onthe bath properly. Every time we had a shower water would flood the floor. The first time I used the shower I almost did the slips stepping out of it. When I told the guy on reception he said he would get maintance to look at it. By looking at the bath panel and floor you could clearly seevthis had been an on going problem for sometime.
Taking everything into account I would definitely return.

Reviewed by
R Holden

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next