Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa

4

Neston Road Thornton Hough, Wirral, CH63 1JF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (51)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Lennon

  • March 2015

Bad Experience

Paid for Superior Double, wife having cancer treatment next day.

Room should have had slippers and robes, water, fresh fruit. Reception doubted our word until my wife showed the receptionist where to look on the site, she levelled blame at Laterooms, didn't apologise. We then had 3 deliveries to the room..crazy still no interest or concern ie ownership shown. When checking out same person sked if we had had a nice stay...not for £300 including dinner. now then another issue, I agree it may have been their rules but....we looked at the menus, the bar menu had so soup available to start and rib eye steak. Advised that neither of these could be served in the main restaurant 'Lawns' as it was for fine Dining. So asked if we could have the soup as starter and the main course from the 'Lawns menu' in the Lawns restaurant,. The manager said no it was policy that they could not serve the lounge or bar menu in the main restaurant. so we elected to have the starter in the bar area and then move into the restaurant for the main course. This was now a problem, the manager wasn't happy with this so reluctantly offered to serve us in the restaurant. The restaurant was empty for most of the evening, max 3 couples. The manager/waiter once settled to the situation was polite,

Overall impression poor service, low level of customer service, no empathy, no apologies. Well below national standard.

  • peter rogerson

  • February 2015

our stay

An exceptional weekend.

the service was excellent. the room was excellent. cant fault the place. you get the service you pay for. a hotel to be proud of thank you.

  • Ian J

  • December 2014

Nicer than the chain hotels, although foods and drinks are a tad expensive.

I was delivering training in the area with a colleague and need a short notice place to stay.

I tried to book direct using a corporate rate by calling the hotel but the room rate was still over my budget. I would have thought selling two rooms the day before would be of interest to the hotel. So I went online a used a website to book the same rooms for much less. The standard rooms we had were okay. The bar drinks and food are priced quite highly.

  • Gaynor Isaac

  • November 2014

Lovely stay - a charity evening

Great reception service with a small hiccup around whether breakfast was included in the booking

( it was a pre paid advance room booking ) being swiftly resolved

The room was spacious and clean however did have a distinct smell of cigarette smoke which I advised the housekeeping manager of and she attended the room with air freshener, clearly not the fault of the hotel but of ignorant travellers

Service in the hotel bar was really great , pleasant team who were eager to go the extra mile in terms of service

The food served at the function was top notch restaurant quality with again great service from the team

Breakfast was a buffet with a good selection of hot and cold, I prefer table service with a menu , but that is just personal choice , food was good , fresh and hot the breakfast service team were all extremely happy and efficient

Would definitely stay again a nice treat and lovely team

  • Emily M

  • November 2014

Great!

I really enjoyed my stay at Thornton Hall.

I have stayed in many hotels that come with a "Spa" and have often been disappointed. The Spa at Thornton Hall however was even better than I hoped (the snow cave is very cool!). Staff were lovely, and the food in the restaurant in the Spa was absolutely fantastic, as well as being well priced. I am travelling to the area again with work and will definitely stay there again.

  • B Cassidy

  • November 2014

Nice chilled stay

Very nice comfortable beds ..egyption cotton sheets lovely bathroom with a tv .to watch while having a soak ..The water wasnt very hot in the bathroom and the colour scheme in our room was a bit depressing it was olive green but besides that it was a lovely stay .

  • M Parker

  • October 2014

Breakfast

Being able to help ourselves to the sunday breakfast buffet was great and gave more options and value for money than the standard breakfast, however the quality of ingredients was excellent.

  • RACHEL M

  • September 2014

Disappointed

Found a top in room that didn't belong to me and flyers about the World Cup which had finished months ago.

Both were found behind a movable chest of drawers. Bed linen had a hole in it, a change was requested and torn linen replaced by torn linen . Reception staff told me i hadn't paid for rooms in advance , which I had. This wasn't sorted until the next day involving three trips by myself to reception. Staff rather rude and condescending.

  • S Carter

  • August 2014

We stayed for one night as we were guests at a wedding down the road.

The main hotel seemed nice, we only used it for breakfast. The room was disappointing, very old and tired and not what I would class as 4 star, it is in need of a refurb. However it was clean and the bathroom was more up to date. The room was also huge.

Overall nothing wrong with it but it was disappointing when we saw the standard of the room expecting 4 stars . Our room was in the accommodation wing.

  • Dale Taylor

  • August 2014

Lovely Hotel!

Awesome hotel, great food, lovely staff.

Would go out of their way to help you. Really liked this hotel. Very clean, very well kept and lovely surroundings.