No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neston Road Thornton Hough, Wirral, CH63 1JF
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa is one of the regions' largest Spa Resorts, Yet each of our 62 bedrooms and suites have the atmosphere of an intimate hotel. Each bedroom offers Free Super Fast Fibre Optic Wifi, New Smart TV's offering a huge selection of channels plus interactive services as well as Sky Sports 1, 2 & 3.

Our award winning Spa which is one of the finest in the region offers state of the art fitness equipment, 20 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room & two outdoor Hydro Spa Pools. We also boast 11 spa treatment rooms in our holistic & clinical Spas offering anything from a relaxing massage to IPL. Our newly renovated Mud Rasul & Snow Cave along with the leisure facilities are available complimentary to hotel guests. The Hair Spa is open 7 days a week along with the Nail Bar.

We have various dining options from our award winning 3 AA Rosette Lawns Restaurant to The Times Brasserie. Lounge meals and room service options are also available.

Nominated - World Spa Awards 2013

"Best Spa Award Winner" 2012 Liverpool Lifestyle Awards - HQ Hotel Open Golf Championship 2014 & Ricoh Womens Open 2012

- Free "Super Fast Fibre Optic WiFi" throughout hotel - Free car parking - Just 20 mins from Liverpool & Chester - 20 Mins from Royal Liverpool Golf Club - 15 mins from Wallasey Golf Club.

Liverpool One shopping district, Cheshire Oaks and Blue Planet Aquarium are a 15-minute drive from Thornton Hall. Chester Zoo, Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs, and Deeside are all 20 minutes' drive away.
Picture of Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa, Wirral at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay - a charity evening
Great reception service with a small hiccup around whether breakfast was included in the booking
( it was a pre paid advance room booking ) being swiftly resolved
The room was spacious and clean however did have a distinct smell of cigarette smoke which I advised the housekeeping manager of and she attended the room with air freshener, clearly not the fault of the hotel but of ignorant travellers
Service in the hotel bar was really great , pleasant team who were eager to go the extra mile in terms of service
The food served at the function was top notch restaurant quality with again great service from the team
Breakfast was a buffet with a good selection of hot and cold, I prefer table service with a menu , but that is just personal choice , food was good , fresh and hot the breakfast service team were all extremely happy and efficient
Would definitely stay again a nice treat and lovely team

Reviewed by
Gaynor Isaac

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
I really enjoyed my stay at Thornton Hall. I have stayed in many hotels that come with a "Spa" and have often been disappointed. The Spa at Thornton Hall however was even better than I hoped (the snow cave is very cool!). Staff were lovely, and the food in the restaurant in the Spa was absolutely fantastic, as well as being well priced. I am travelling to the area again with work and will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Emily M

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice chilled stay
Very nice comfortable beds ..egyption cotton sheets lovely bathroom with a tv .to watch while having a soak ..The water wasnt very hot in the bathroom and the colour scheme in our room was a bit depressing it was olive green but besides that it was a lovely stay .

Reviewed by
B Cassidy

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Being able to help ourselves to the sunday breakfast buffet was great and gave more options and value for money than the standard breakfast, however the quality of ingredients was excellent.

Reviewed by
M Parker

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Found a top in room that didn't belong to me and flyers about the World Cup which had finished months ago. Both were found behind a movable chest of drawers. Bed linen had a hole in it, a change was requested and torn linen replaced by torn linen ! Reception staff told me i hadn't paid for rooms in advance , which I had. This wasn't sorted until the next day involving three trips by myself to reception. Staff rather rude and condescending.

Reviewed by
RACHEL M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for one night as we were guests at a wedding down the road. The main hotel seemed nice, we only used it for breakfast. The room was disappointing, very old and tired and not what I would class as 4 star, it is in need of a refurb. However it was clean and the bathroom was more up to date. The room was also huge!
Overall nothing wrong with it but it was disappointing when we saw the standard of the room expecting 4 stars . Our room was in the accommodation wing.

Reviewed by
S Carter

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first year anniversary
My husband and i stayed here for our first year wedding anniversary, at reception when we checked in we were greeted kindly by a friendly member of staff and we were asked what wine we like and were given a complementry bottle of white wine in an ice bucket and two glasses which was lovely in our room overlooking the gardens on our room balcony. We had a lovely stay i am fussy and takes alot for a place to impress me but i was overwhelmed with joy here, an amazing tv plus tv in bathroom, lovely unique spa toiletries, a good choice tray with fresh milk instead on request and a spacious room with a huge bed! Best 3 nights sleep i have had in years. On top of this the staff and cleaning staff are so friendly and will go out of their way to help, breakfast was amazing very fresh fruit and fruit juice. I highly recommend staying here as on top of this it is quietly tucked out of the way safe from noise with fantastic views depending on the room you book, we had the double executive garden view room.
The spa was relaxing lovely to sit out in the outdoor hot tub while crisp air blows in your face overlooking the beautiful fields and we watched some birds of pray around the field which was lovely. Only thing with the spa is i wished there would be no children aloud or restrictions as one day we wanted to relax and have a nice swim but there were two children splashing up and down the pool which was upsetting. However this is the only thing i could wish to improve it was all perfect. Thank you to the hotel and spa for a lovely relaxing anniversary away! 10/10

Reviewed by
hannah langdale

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunately we arrived quite late & had a wedding to go to, also we left early the next morning

Reviewed by
L Banks

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thornton hall was a beautiful hotel with a excellent spa we loved the outside jacuzzi and sauna and snow cave can't wait to stay again.

Reviewed by
G K

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel!
Awesome hotel, great food, lovely staff. Would go out of their way to help you. Really liked this hotel. Very clean, very well kept and lovely surroundings.

Reviewed by
Dale Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next