The Garrison Hotel

3

635 Penistone Road, Sheffield, S6 2GB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (42)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • david buckley

  • June 2015

A Weekend In Sheffield

A bit noisy on Saturday night because of wedding otherwise okay.

  • Alwyn G

  • May 2015

Short stay

We thought going for an night at the greyhounds was great but to make the most of it we looked at this hotel it was just what we wanted,we would stop there again

  • M Hastings

  • March 2015

Garrison Hotel, Sheffield

I've stayed here many times, and it is a great hotel with friendly, helpful staff and the food is great.

  • D Kitchen

  • February 2015

The Garrison Hotel

Simple cheap lodgings that did the job just fine.

Bar a bit pricey though.

  • Andrew B

  • January 2015

Ideal!

Ideal location for an overnight stay as I was local the next morning.

Had a good meal in the bar and slept really well in a quiet, warm room. Breakfast was OK. All in all well worth the (not very much) money. Will be staying again.

  • Tom K

  • October 2014

Garrison Hotel

Really nice hotel, ideally placed.

Good value for money

  • Roland Howard

  • October 2014

Noise... and more noise!!

Our stay was for 2 nights in room (119) which was below a function area and nearly opposite reception.

We retired at 11 pm but very noisy disco until 12.30 am so no sleep until the party left around 1 - 1.30 am. Then... 5.30 am approx. we were woken by guests approaching reception with suitcases rumbling on rollers over cobbles!. So not enough sleep that Friday night prior to our own family celebration elsewhere on Saturday night. In fact, tired all day Saturday!!. More noise late Saturday night after we had returned to the hotel around 1.00 am. Breakfast choices were limited i.e. a small full English!. Where were the mushrooms, fried bread, hash browns, grilled tomatoes etc?. And the sausages were tasteless!. Sorry, but whilst we may visit Sheffield again we will not be staying at The Garrison!!

  • C Coupe

  • July 2014

Parents staying for son's graduation

Great location for being able to go to and from Sheffield without using the car.

We just had a 10 min walk through Morrison's car park and we were at Hillsborough Interchange where numerous buses and trams stop from early morning to late at night. The car stayed in the hotel car park for the whole of the 3 days and we traveled to various parts of Sheffield during that time. The meal that we had in the bar on the first night, when we arrived, was very good and plenty of it. The young waitress was very helpful and couldn't do enough for us to make sure that we enjoyed our meal.

The breakfasts were what was to be expected for the price but the hot food could have been better cooked at times. On one day, the poached eggs were just right and the next day they weren't so nice. However, there was a selection of food so we had plenty to eat and drink. The room was comfortable with plenty of cupboard and drawer space. Tea and coffee-making facilities and a hair-dryer were in the room. We had a bath with a large shower head over it and plenty of hot water. The rooms all opened out onto a walk-way, which was nice as the weather was so hot that much of the time we had the door and window open. However, it meant that we were easily disturbed by people coming back to their rooms at all hours and standing talking and smoking on the walk-way in the early hours. This wouldn't have been a problem in cooler weather, which would be more normal for Yorkshire. We would certainly consider staying there again and recommending it in the future.

  • L Merriman

  • July 2014

The Garrison Hotel Sheffield Review

I thought the hotel was excellent.

The staff were very friendly and the hotel room was excellent, very clean and plenty of room. The quality of the food was excellent and such good value for money. I would definately recommend staying here.

  • D Cooper

  • July 2014

Went to the dog racing with a works doo excellent location.

Friendly staff. Clean room at a fair price. Excellent value for money