No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ripon Spa Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street , Ripon, HG4 2BU
The Ripon Spa is a grand Edwardian hotel set in acres of award-winning glorious gardens in the historic city of Ripon. There’s ample free parking so you can walk into the city and enjoy the delightful Market Square where the Ripon Hornblower “Sets the Watch” each evening at 9.00pm in a ceremony dating back over one thousand years. Of course make time to visit and explore Ripon Cathedral whose history dates back to the 7th Century.

This is a great choice as a base to explore glorious North Yorkshire – the Unesco World Heritage site at Fountains Abbey, some of the grandest Great Houses and Gardens, and of course Bettys in Harrogate – the most famous tearooms in England!

There’s free WIFI for residents, roaring log fires in the lounges and bar, and our Brigade of Chefs ensure you will enjoy the finest Yorkshire produce at every meal. Come and see us soon!
Picture of Ripon Spa Hotel , Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty place
This hotel has plenty of space and proportions grand. Its decor is on the old fashioned, but not vintage, side. Electrical sockets are all low down, soap dispenser a little high for a short person, and the paintwork on window frames was in need of attention. However, maintenance was clearly being carried out in other parts of the hotel. The service was friendly and good, and an error on the bill corrected without fuss. We enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
J Harper

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumn break
Clean and comfortable with good friendly service and excellent food in the bar- but the hotel is badly in need of refurbishment; and though the cooked breakfast was good(and the pleasant views of the garden, squirrels and croquet lawn from the dining room a bonus!) some additional provision of fresh fruit/ choice of juices/ muesli/granola wouldn't go amiss.

Reviewed by
Shirley H

From Pembroke, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Friendly staff and beautiful grounds; very convenient location. Wish I had been staying longer.

Reviewed by
G Rose

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to Ripon and Fountains Abbey
I expect the interior design gurus would like to give this hotel a modern makeover! It belongs to a more quiet, polite and elegant part of the last century but I would not wish to change anything. Except maybe a little maintenance here and there. Beautifully kept, extensive grounds and with a wonderful public park next door. Plenty of parking space. A quiet open location but only a few minutes walk to the city centre. I would not hesitate to return.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay

Reviewed by
A Reid

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ripon Spa Hotel
We had a very positive experience at the Ripon Spa Hotel. Having read some reviews we were fairly confident of what we would get, and our expectations were fulfilled. The hotel has Edwardian charm and a touch of 'shabby chic', with slightly faded grandeur, but lovely gardens, great service and very comfortable rooms.

Reviewed by
E Ellis

From Knebworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop-over

Reviewed by
A Reid

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old-style hotel full of character
really enjoyed our stay and walking round the beautiful garden. Close to Rpon Centre and Fountains Abbey

Reviewed by
Elizabeth M

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Review
A good and enjoyable experience

Reviewed by
W Beesley

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay.
We have stayed here before and felt the hotel had gone downhill. Both rooms were small. One was very dark ;the view from the small window was obscured by a large tree immediately outside. The window frame in the other room was broken and the window could not be closed. The cost of this single room at £130 per night seems high.The restaurant was closed for dinner and we had to eat in the bar. The hotel was preoccupied by a golf croquet tournament affecting the availability of public rooms. The waiter service was very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
J Moran

From Woking, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next