No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Newport

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE COLDRA,GWENT , NEWPORT, NP18 2YG
Make yourself at home at the comfortable Holiday Inn Newport hotel, set in woodland just off junction 24 of the M4. The leafy Coldra Woods form an attractive backdrop to our welcoming hotel, 10 minutes' drive from Newport city centre. Bring your laptop to surf the web with wireless Internet by the fireplace in the Lobby, and enjoy a dip in our heated indoor pool . Holiday Inn Newport has plenty of complimentary parking , and is just 2 minutes by car from Celtic Manor Resort 's championship golf course. Make Holiday Inn Newport your peaceful base for meetings in Cardiff city centre , 25 minutes' drive away. You can invite up to 500 delegates to a seminar or gala dinner in one of 12 naturally lit meeting rooms , all with wireless Internet. Dedicated staff are on hand to help your event run smoothly. Holiday Inn Newpor t's banqueting space and woodland setting make us a good choice for wedding receptions. Imposing Chepstow Castle and medieval Tintern Abbey are among the attractions that dot the beautiful Wye Valley, while breathtaking waterfalls and caves are waiting to be explored in the Brecon Beacons . A full Welsh breakfast buffet is available in Harpers Restaurant , and you can order burgers and curries while you check email in family-friendly Harpers Bar. Work out in the modern Fitness Centre and relax with a coffee and woodland views on the patio.
Picture of Holiday Inn Newport, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, pleasant Hotel

Reviewed by
J W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff but very dated hotel
The hotel restaurant and room were very dated. Not sure why but I was put in a disability room.

Reviewed by
Nicola D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Stopover
Very ideal for a stopover especially enroute to your final destination with the M4 just a minute away

Reviewed by
Ken Chikukwa

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When you can find it - it is excellent
We had difficulty finding this location. Very unusual for Holiday Inns which are normally easy to find. But when we got there the room was excellent but there was somebody's breakfast festering outside the room but this was quickly removed when mentioned to Reception, suggesting that Housekeeping was a tad tardy. The meal was excellent salmon and tuna. Overall very pleased.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value room breakfast over priced
Very convenient location and easy to get to. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was overpriced for what it was, wasn't very fresh and the restaurant staff were not that attentive. However the reception staff were excellent and could not do enough the help from giving directions and booking taxis.
The only other downside was housekeep knocked the door at 9am!

Reviewed by
Rhiannon D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good,easy to find relaxing accomodation
May not be the most visually appealing building at first sight, but don't be put off, reception areas etc, very pleasant an spacious. Rooms very good, staff very helpful and food was more than adequate. Loation is easily accessible from M4

Reviewed by
D Griffiths

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was fine not as nice and modern as the holiday inn Guildford we stayed in the previous week
Food was not great really for children carvey or a la carte and had to ask about the kids eat free option where as in Guildford it was there every night printed off for children to choose from with extremely friendly staff who spoke to the children and gave them colouring things each night.
Had to then eat in bar ordered fish n chips for my son which was awful filled with bones it became un eatable for him with frozen chips!
At this hotel there was no talking to the children or offers or activities to keep them entertained during meal tines
All In all very disappointing experience compared to the week before stay. Accomodation was fine but the good wasn't.

ManagementResponse

Dear Alison M, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Alison M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but tired
Like a lot of Holiday Inns these days. This one is tired and the accommodation is dated

ManagementResponse

Dear Richard N, Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about your stay. We are pleased that most of the aspects of your visit were commendable. I am sorry however if you found our accommodations to be dated. We take all feedback seriously and we will use your comments to improve and upgrade on what we can offer. Sincerely, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Richard N

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy, comfortable and comvenient
great location, very friendly and competent staff, delicious food

Reviewed by
Sean S

From Cork, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Very clean well impressed with room ' staff and food. Will def stay agian.

Reviewed by
Richard E

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next