No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cairn Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ripon Road , Harrogate, HG1 2JD
The Cairn, situated only minutes walk from the town centre and Harrogate International Conference Centre, offers excellent value for money. We are renowned for our extremely friendly and efficient service, and are proud to offer a warm 'home from home' atmosphere where many guests return again and again. Please note, accommodation booked must be settled in full on arrival at the hotel.
Picture of Cairn Hotel, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 250 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable accomodation
We stayed at the Cairn overnight. We had a superior room and it was well equipped,clean and comfortable. We did stay with our dog, which we mentioned beforehand, but were still allocated a 3rd floor room, a ground floor room would probably have been more convenient. There was a musical event on in the hotel warning of noise until 12.30. The notice regarding this was in the lift and mentioned that if this was a problem to ask reception to re-allocate your room. The notice might have been better placed in reception so you knew about it when you booked in? Just as a general obervation teh geneeal clientele were quite elderly.

Reviewed by
Karen A

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stay here if nowhere else !
The staff in the breakfast room were awful - all standing around talking, or not to be seen anywhere, and meanwhile dirty plates piling up on everyone's tables. There were inadequate power points in the room and the only one I could find was difficult to use because of its location. I couldn't make the TV work at all; the bath is one of those tiny ones for midgets and so very uncomfortable even for a small person like me; there was no wifi in the breakfast room despite the information saying it was available throughout the ground floor; the corridors in the hotel were shabby and dull and need some attention to make them attractive; - all just very annoying things that could easily be fixed. The reception staff were efficient but not very friendly - all in all not a very comfortable or pleasant place to stay, although I must say that the lobby was very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Mary B

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
My Husband and I + two friends were looking for somewhere to stay close to the show ground in Harrogate and this hotel was recommended to us by another close friend who had stayed here many times, good choice, clean, comfortable, good food, friendly staff, would have no hesitation in staying here again, and definitely recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Janet B

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Harrowgate overnight stay
superior twin room a bit tired, overlooking outhouses and garage. Clean and firm beds. Breakfast terrible. Individual bath gel had been opened and used.
Went down at 9.00 a.m. Self service and everything was cold dried up. Had to ask 2 different people for fried eggs, there was only 1 left and it looked like it was made of plastic. The bacon was like a bit of cardboard.
People on reception were very nice and I do realise the hotel is in the process of redecoration, lovely building will be nice when finished.

Reviewed by
M Kennedy

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was our third time staying at the Cairn. I realise its an old hotel but some modernisation is needed. The dining room looks very tired and in need of brightening up. Our room was very nice but bath was worn and the windows in the bedroom are in need of replacing - they didn't close fully. Having said this we wouldn't hesitate to go back again. Shame we couldn't book a club room this time like we did last, especially as we were in the same room - room 103.

Reviewed by
D Watson

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lock up your valuables
An enjoyable weekend spoiled after money went missing from locked bedroom. Manager involved police.

Reviewed by
Colin S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
Been to the Cairn a number of times but this time was most definitely the worst. We have know for some time that the hotel requires a complete refurbishment but all that appeared to be progressing was the corridors.
The toilet would not flush if you went in within 10 minutes of the previous person. There were no extra pillows in the room and I need to keep my head raised because of a hiatus hernia a- not come across this problem with other hotels.
The TV was a John Logie Baird original design - never expected to see a hotel without a flat screen TV nowadays.
The shower was situated in the bath - which meant that neither my wife nor I could use it - just as well it was only for one night on this occasion.
Went to the restaurant for our evening meal because we are both mobility impaired and did not wish to trail all over Harrogate looking for somewhere to eat. When completed, I handed over my card to pay and was told that I had to go through to the reception to use the card reader there.
On leaving, went to the 24 hour manned reception to relay these points to the hotel - Oops, no-one there!

Reviewed by
A Thorburn

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short but sweet
We had a lovely room at the front of the hotel, however we arrived back to our room at midnight after attending a wedding at another hotel to find that there was a very loud disco in full flow beneath us. At this time of night it was too late to go to reception to ask to change rooms.We cannot comment as to the food as we had breakfast with family elsewhere. The receptionists were lovely both on booking in and on leaving but we did feel that having to wait until 3pm before we could book in, rather late. We did try earlier but we were told to come back later.We booked out at 9.30am but we would stay again at The Cairn should the need ever arise.

Reviewed by
J Ayre

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large but homely
Only had the one night in the hotel. Receptionist very welcoming and helpful. Hotel had a lovely ambience. Room was large , clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was was well cooked , well presented and well served. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
John Mc Candless

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Typical Victorian hotel which has been renovated/upgraded in some of the public areas, but retains many of the original features, the stained glass windows being worthy of note, as are the very squeaky floorboards. However, much more needs to be done to make the hotel worthy of its three star rating and it glossy brochure. The Gents cloak room and toilets on the ground floor is particularly bad, being straight out of the Victorian era, smelly with broken taps and accessories. All the staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful.

Reviewed by
M Sadler

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next