No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Salutation Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
34 South Street , Perth, PH2 8PH
This city centre hotel has 84 non -smoking en-suite bedrooms and is only minutes walk from all the shops, theatres, Concert Hall and the Beautiful walks round the River Tay.

All rooms are fully modernised with TV, tea making facilities, telephone and central heating. There is free WiFi in the public areas.

Take dinner in our Adam Restaurant or Bar Supper in Reids Bar where excellent local produce is served by our friendly, helpful staff. There are
34 different choices on our Breakfast Menu including our new Healthy Living range and traditional Full Scottish Breakfast. In Reids Bar where a large selection of malt whiskies can be found, lunches and suppers are served daily. The hotel is only 45 minutes drive away from Edinburgh.
Picture of Salutation Hotel, Perth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in Perth
The outside of the Salutation Hotel might not be the most inspiring....but don't be put off, because immediately you enter the hotel, it is very warm and comfortable. Our room was on the first floor, and the first thing that hit us both on entering the room, was the STRONG, and I mean STRONG smell of stale cigarette smoke.
This should not be the case, as Scotland has been non smoking for a long time now, so how could this be? The room was fine, apart from the decor being a little old fashioned, and the shower and toilet could do with upgrading, very dated. Also, nowhere in shower to put your soap or shower gel. The breakfast in the very nice dining room was fabulous.....absolutely first class food. The service by the waiter[s] also excellent. All in all, the one night stay was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Alexandra C

From Oban, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Salutation success
Very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Sheila Lamont

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay at Perth Salutation
Enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Salutation recently The staff and ambiance in this hotel cant be faulted
Great selection of fruit and cereal for breakfast along with making your own choices from buffet style breakfast
Our evening meal was taken in Reids bar and couldn,t be faulted neither in taste nor portion size
Veronique made us feel so welcome and relaxed that we stayed on to have a couple of drinks to wash down our wonderful meal
All staff were very smart in appearance and very attentive and knowledgable and eager to help
The lift had broken down and it snowed heavily but nothing could have marred our stay it was a real treat
I could have stayed there for weeks and surrounding area is a Mecca for shopping if you feel inclined
All in all one of best 2 day breaks I have ever had and cant wait to go again
Only downside and not hotels fault is the parking There is a car park just a few steps away but at £1 per hour from 9am -6pm you better carry plenty of coins if taking your car
Dont let this put you off as you would certainly be missing out on this wonderful hotel that is hundreds of years old and very unique
The interior of hotel has that certain something that makes you feel like moving in permanently
The beds are so comfortable and the good quality pillows make for a perfect sleep
We had a twin room that was a good size and had 2 windows excellent shower cabinet plus a separate bath
Toiletries supplied hairdryer and trouser press and everything you need to make a cuppa or 2 even some shortbread to enjoy with it
This hotel is on the ball and the staff deserve praise for their great personalities and work ethic
a wee mention to the lovely Helen many thanks for your attention at breakfast
Hope to see you all again soon

Reviewed by
w mutch

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Stayed overnight with my husband,,, was very quiet,, was told on booking that the lift was out of order and that we would be given a room on the 1st floor which was great as my husband is disabled,, but when we were given our room key we found out that we were up 3 flights of stairs. Other than that everything was brilliant,, the staff were totally amazing ..especially Veronique who served in the bar,

Reviewed by
A Day-Watt

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room very nice but a little small for two people

Reviewed by
Alastair Johnstone

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had an enjoyable stay at the salutation hotel only comment I want to make is that when we checked in at 3pm our room was cold as the heating had not been turned up I can understand not wanting to waste energy but even having the heating on at a low setting to take the cold air off the room would have been nice

Reviewed by
J Ewing

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A one off hotel
The Salutation is the oldest hotel in Scotland and it most certainly not one of your 'New' Plastic Hotels. It is a hotel with a unique character all of its own so if you are used to the regimented similarity of the big chains then you are in for a very uplifting experience which is helped by a super friendly and efficient staff. The first time visitor is in for a very good experience and will certainly find it is very good value for money. Definitely one of the best, and I highly recommend it..

Reviewed by
Charles L. Gallagher

From Shetland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General
Room good value for money did not expect any more or less. Shower cubical not as clean as it could be a bit mould on bottom glass streaked.
Could have had more tea coffee and milk left out as a twin room only 4 small milks this could be look at. But in general good value for money.

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay. Clean, comfortable room, friendly staff and excellent breakfast. I will definately return and will recommend to friends and family

Reviewed by
Maureen MacKenzie

From Alness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but a bit noisy
Room we had was comfortable, however, could hear noises all night, sounded like a washing machine constantly going so not the best nights sleep. Apart from that our stay was fine and breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
George F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next