No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Salutation Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
34 South Street , Perth, PH2 8PH
This city centre hotel has 84 non -smoking en-suite bedrooms and is only minutes walk from all the shops, theatres, Concert Hall and the Beautiful walks round the River Tay.

All rooms are fully modernised with TV, tea making facilities, telephone and central heating. There is free WiFi in the public areas.

Take dinner in our Adam Restaurant or Bar Supper in Reids Bar where excellent local produce is served by our friendly, helpful staff. There are
34 different choices on our Breakfast Menu including our new Healthy Living range and traditional Full Scottish Breakfast. In Reids Bar where a large selection of malt whiskies can be found, lunches and suppers are served daily. The hotel is only 45 minutes drive away from Edinburgh.
Picture of Salutation Hotel, Perth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
We have stayed here a few times now, and have to say it's always first class, the food is also excellent albeit a wee bit pricey, but worth it, the buffet breakfast is also very good with great choice of food on offer.

Reviewed by
Douglas Mclachlan

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A week-end in Perth
We live north of Inverness and for years we have passed through Perth on out trips south without stopping, so we decided to spend a week-end there. We were not disappointed. We had a very pleasant time, and the Salutation Hotel was perfect. The room was good and the breakfast was the best we have had in a long time. Maybe the Hotel frontage could use a bit of restoration which I am sure would attract more people in.

Reviewed by
Leslie Wilson

From Tain, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nearly there!
In many ways a great stay with excellent service.
The trip was somewhat spoiled by excessive noise on the Friday night and Saturday night,(into the early morning). The noise on the Friday night was caused by other very noisy guests. That on the Saturday night was caused by loud music/with repetitive drumming, coming either from some function taking place within the venue or from very nearby.

Reviewed by
J Guthrie

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have stayed before and had no reservations in returning. Staff are friendly and very helpful. On this occasion stayed for one night only on a B&B basis as part of an all male group on a fishing trip. Single room was more than adequate, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet and of the highest quality. Choice in all departments was fantastic and included many healthy options. All in all I was very pleased with my stay and would certainly recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
Jim Souter

From Forres, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic experience, Except the Bar Meal
The Hotel is Fantastic the lack of a car park is a concern, as one has to use the public car parks. But the concern was unfounded. The only problem was in the Bar area when the meal arrived 'Home made steak and ale pie with vegetables'. The boiled potatoes, which I had requested in place of the offered 'chips' were so cold that the butter did not melt, when I cut the potatoes and put bits of butter in the cuts.
Overall I found the Hotel very good value and would have no problems recommending it to any one.

Reviewed by
Philip Morris

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant
Lower score on room only because it faced a fire escape.Bed pleasant,decor pleasant,bathroom pleasant.
All staff cheery and pleasant.
Food, more than you should eat,great variety and pleasant
Overall very,well you get the picture

Reviewed by
HARRY P

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

central
a nice hotel in the centre of Perth, parking round the corner and lovely food, both in the bar and the restaurant ...

Reviewed by
Paul Firth

From Halifax, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend getaway.
Hotel is located centrally in Perth. No parking, so must park at nearby courthouse car park. Rooms are clean but tired. Food is excellent, especially breakfast.

Reviewed by
R Green

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Hotel is nice for a short break. Floor boards on stairs to rooms very creakie so if in room 222 you can hear everyone going up and down them which was a bit annoying. Breakfast was very nice lots to chose from and the Haggis was delicious . Never had dinner and when out we noticed the history of the hotel in a Witherspoons but this was not on display in the hotel which was a bit sad as tourists would love to see it.

Reviewed by
S Crainie

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Incredibly squeaky Floor Boards!!
As it turned out, we were very fortunate that when entering our originally assigned room on the 1st floor' it had been set as a twin and not a double as requested. Apart from being a twin room, the room was very small with an unpleasant odour but due to the mistake, we were given a replacement room on the 3rd floor, which was spacious with a four poster bed and a very nice en suite. There was a plaque on the door identifying a number of famous celebrities who had stayed there but on the down side, I have never experienced, floorboards quite as squeaky as these. Just after 2.00am, when the guests returned to the adjacent room, I was initially convinced that they had opened our door and walked into our room, such was the noise transferred. Apart from this incident, I enjoyed the stay and breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Archie McCulloch

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next