No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rufflets Country House

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Strathkinness Low Road 1, St Andrews, KY16 9TX
24 bedroom 4 star hotel set in tranquil 10 acre gardens - Award-winning restaurant - Meeting and banqueting rooms
Picture of Rufflets Country House, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great secret in St Andrews
I had a lovely stay.
i was upgraded without needing to ask. The staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful.
Location is perfect for the city centre.
The best thing was the home made shortbread and the sweetest thing was the teddy on the bed.
The most pleasurable thing was to come back at night and find the bed turned down with a hot water bottle - luxury.
I will be back ....

Reviewed by
L Kerr

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Nights Stay
We initially looked at this hotel because it was dog friendly. Dogs are allowed to stay in rooms outside the main hotel but not allowed into the hotel or bar which was annoying. The other annoying thing was that the bar menu finishes at 6.30 basically meaning you have to eat in the restaurant or go out to eat. We chose the latter mainly because of the dogs not being allowed in the bar, The hotel room was nice and there was fresh milk available and lovely home made shortbread. The room was warm and there was a hot water bottle placed in the bed at night. There was loads of hot water in the bathroom but the bathroom tiling was a bit aged and there was blackening of the wallpaper with what looked like would. The breakfast however was excellent. There was an excellent selection of fruit compote and a beautiful cooked breakfast. The staff were attentive and the linen was spotless.

Reviewed by
g clarke

From inverness, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic hotel
Excellent hotel, beautiful grounds, superb location, tremendous staff.

Reviewed by
l dodds

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We loved it
We had a one night stay for my wife's birthday and loved the hotel. The room was beautiful with lovely views across the gardens. Lots of lovely little touches - home made shortbread, binoculars, and of course Rufus, the 'do not disturb' bear. Great location - in the countryside but 5 minutes from St Andrews town centre. Will definitely be back!

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous accomodations. Fabulous service. Fabulous people.

Reviewed by
j bifaro

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel well located
Very comfortable beds

Reviewed by
C Carter

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Excellent - cannot fault.

Reviewed by
C Grant

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
We stayed for one night as a treat for graduating university and we had a great night and wished we could have stayed another night. we stayed in room no. 30 which was a huge room and was very quiet. The staff were great and could not fault the hotel. The food we thought was good value for money and although not perfect it was pretty good for the price paid. It is quite expensive so lookout for deals to make it more value for money.

Reviewed by
K Ferguson

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I had booked it for an early birthday present for my wife. We stayed in a room that had recently been redecoated and it was stunning. The wee touches like the Teddy bear tin of shortbread were appreciated. The bathroom was top spec and my wife said the Molton Brown toiletries an added bonus. ( Room 33)

Reviewed by
D Sharma

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.