No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE WOODLANDS LODGE HOTEL

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Bartley Road,Woodlands , Southampton, SO40 7GN
Perfect for both business & pleasure. Country house hotel with well equipped rooms, set in extensive grounds within the 'New Forest'. Direct access to the forest through the back garden. King size beds with en suite bathrooms. Quiet and peaceful but convenient for Southampton, which is just 15 minutes away. Private parking adjoining the hotel is free to residents. Pets are accepted in a limited number of rooms, an extra charge is payable so please check before booking. This hotel does not accept American Express or Dinners Club cards.
Picture of THE WOODLANDS LODGE HOTEL, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in the middle of New Forest
Very picturesque hotel in a lovely setting. The room was nicely decorated with a whirlpool bath and separate shower. The only downside to this hotel is that the family room is placed on the second floor directly above a number of standard double rooms (we stayed in room 5). The hotel is relatively old and therefore does not have any sound proofing, and the noise from the family room sounded as though there was a herd of very loud heavy footed elephants about to come through the ceiling! This went on all weekend and is not fun at 10pm when you've been travelling all day! The breakfast was freshly cooked and very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again but insist on not being near a family room!

Reviewed by
D Thomas

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Great staff. Great hotel. Great food. Special mention to Chrissie the receptionist...great service ethic.
If I had to give constructive criticism then would say decor needs a bit of a refresh, particularly room 18.

Reviewed by
Jeremy Blandford

From Market Drayton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a quiet weekend away
We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. The staff were amazing and went above and beyond what is expected to ensure that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay.
We ate in the restaurant the first night and had breakfast both mornings. The food was divine , I have a nut allergy and the chef appeared very conscientious of this throughout our stay.
Our room was clean, spacious and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and had good quality bedding. The view from the room was very picturesque.
The only niggles were the shower leaked into the bedroom, not a problem to us, but it did draw attention to the carpet which on close inspection is quite grubby and stained. The hot breakfast is good quality and cooked to perfection, it's a shame it can't be part of room service as with 2 toddlers my partner and myself rarely get that opportunity .
The gardens are beautiful and peaceful , I was disappointed that the chess set in the garden is incomplete as this is the thing that made woodlands stand out from all the other hotels when I was choosing our accommodation on line.
Apart from those couple of niggles this was the perfect stay if you need a quiet break where you will be welcomed and well looked after.

Reviewed by
maisi p

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely break
We were made very welcome by the friendly staff. We enjoyed our short stay and would definitely be returning guests. Great breakfast also !!

Reviewed by
Linda H

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

from arriving to leaving, it was perfect, freindly on arrival, shown to room, room was clean, bed was big and comfortable, bathroom came with spa bath and shower cubicle. beakfast in the morning was faultless, the member of staff in the morning was fantastic.

Reviewed by
k marshall

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair priced hotel

Reviewed by
ALAN F

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Selected hotel more for its location relative to my meeting the following day. Turned out to be a very good choice. Arrived late to a warm welcome and provided with food options even though this was after the kitchen should have closed. Room was spacious, comfortable and clean. "New Forrest Breakfast" was excellent, and served promptly. Would recommend this hotel for an overnight stay or several day leisure trip.

Reviewed by
JIm S

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
We stayed for 1 night. The room was very comfortable with a nice size bed,tea making facilities, a bath & separate shower & very fresh clean bed linen. The welcome was friendly & the breakfast was good. Excellent value for money.
We would not hesitate to book again.

Reviewed by
j matthews

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Ideal Stop-over in the New Forest
I was only on a short-stay stop-over for a family bereavement so I only had Bed & Breakfast accommodation for two nights. All of the Staff that I met were extremely polite, yet very friendly. The room accommodation was spacious with en-suite facilities and a luxuriously comfortable bed with plenty of warm bedclothes in which to snuggle-up for a long, extremely quiet, good nights sleep. The room was clean and spick & span with all the usual Tea; Coffee; Local mineral waters, provided. Every item of "The New Forest Breakfast" was cooked to perfection, and presented to my table in as idealistic perfection as I have encountered elsewhere in the world. You can have as much as you want; and I had enough to last me until evening. As for value: The cost of my two nights stay was cheaper than any of the near-by, (10 miles radius,) Motels. I shall be returning to this unique part of the World during the coming Summer and Winter, and I shall stay at this Hotel.

Reviewed by
Raymond Wells

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumn break
Lovely country hotel on the edge of the New Forrest with friendly staff .

Reviewed by
Linda E

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next