Reviews - Shears Inn


1, Paris Gates Boys Lane, Halifax, HX3 9EZ

Price From 95.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Phil Dransfield

  • June 2015

Shears Inn

A very friendly and welcoming place to stay.

Food was spot on and if we are staying in Halifax again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Sarah M

  • March 2015

Stay at Shears whilst working in Halifax

Great place to stay, Housekeeper, can't remember her name and I do apologise to her, was superb, she got up early to make breakfast due to my work commitments.

Great place to stay, good food, great beers available, real ale, not the chemical stuff. able to sit outside by the river. Peaceful on an evening as although in an industrial area, the high buildings kept the normal town noise out.


  • March 2015

Good Little Travellers Rest

Good little travellers rest, beautiful location, this little pub offers simple charm at a very reasonable price, the room was ensuite,small and basic, the bed was clean and comfortable, take ear plugs if you want an early night though, remember your sleeping above the main bar area.

Food wasn`t great, but staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Joyce Mulchrone

  • March 2015

Shears Inn

I enjoyed my stay at Shears.

Chloe was absolutely wonderful. Petrina was quite good. That made me feel at home. Thank you.

  • Dee Taylor

  • February 2015

fantastic, warm & friendly stay

A perfect little hide away and cozy stay for our valentines weekend.

Customer service was exceptional from the minute of booking with a text message from themselves welcoming us to the sheers and dinner booking reservations in advance.. A lovely warm friendly atmosphere from the onset with a good standard of choice from the meal menu cooked to perfection and a hearty proportions given with a good selection of wines and ales. So easy to relax in the surroundings and nothing seemed to be too much trouble providing a very laid back atmosphere. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and tidy and very good nights sleep had. Would definitely recommend the Shears and we will certainly be returning in the future


  • September 2014

the landlord and landlady of the accommodation could not do enough for my self and partner the breakfast was a 1st class very large breakfast will recommend it all

  • Tony Matthews

  • July 2014

Homely friendly atmoshere

The Landlord and Landlady at Shears Inn made me welcome the moment I walked through the door, being a "Essex lad" in West Yorkshire you get a few stares and glares in some places.

The staff were friendly and always making sure you had everything you want. The food was home cooked and one thing is for won't go back to your room feeling hungry after your meal!

  • Anthony West

  • July 2014

Our 1 night stay

It was excellent value, the food really is very good as is the service, you are made to feel very welcome, overall The Shears Inn is very very good, nothing is to much trouble.

The building and surrounding grounds are full of history, a very interesting place.