Donnington Guest House

3

41/43 Treyew Road, ,, Truro, TR1 2BY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Daphne L

  • April 2015

Welcoming, good position, accessible. Very good customer relations.

My stay in this B and B was very enjoyable.

friendly staff without being intrusive. Good facilities. I have a special diet and they were very helpful and keen to hear what I could and couldn't eat. the food provided was excellent. I just had one quibble which I told the staff about and they responded very positively. I would totally recommend this accommodation.

  • T Coleman

  • April 2015

A friendly place to stay

I had a lovely welcome and was able to pay up front so I could leave when I was ready.

I was able to come and go easily whenever I wanted. Only breakfast had a time schedule. My main criticism is the UHT milk in the bedroom. absolutely disgusting. couldn't drink a sip. thankfully I had brought some of my own but not enough hence having to try the uht. The dining room isn't locked so maybe the ability to go and get myself a jug of real milk from the fridge would be an improvement. I'm not sure what the milk was for breakfast. It tasted odd to me but maybe it was full cream milk and not semi-skimmed which I am used to. Maybe a choice for those of us who need to watch their weight :-) oherwise for my first time staying in a b&b for the first time alone a great experience!

  • Stuart R

  • March 2015

Donnington Guest House

A great hotel.

Really nice room, much more modern than a typical Guest House. Good shower in the room also. Breakfast was cooked fresh and was excellent, thankfully a Guest House that recognises how important a good sausage is.On the whole, brilliant value for money. Only downside is a bit of a walk uphill back from town..

  • J Carlton

  • February 2015

WiFi

I was disappointed that there was no wi-fi as I booked on business and did not check before hand so maybe it was my fault for not checking.

  • J O'Connor

  • February 2015

Overall, good value. However....

Arrived at and entered spacious car park easily accessed from the main road.

As it was raining heavily it was quite disappointing to find both front doors locked and no response to several rings of the door bells. I eventually spotted a hand written note on the floor next to one of the doors indicating to call a mobile telephone number. I did this and a lady promptly answered and granted me access. I was asked to complete a guest registration form which had clearly written on it 'We do not accept card payments. Cash or cheque with card only'. This wasn't a problem for myself but may have been for someone arriving late in the day for a one night stay as they could have needed to go and find a cashpoint. The breakfast area was quite small. On the second morning of my stay I went for breakfast only to find it was full so I went back to my room for 20 minutes and waited until other guests had vacated. My room was spacious, very clean and suitably equipped. The only real problem was the large dormer sash window overlooked the main road which meant traffic noise is a problem. Light sleepers would be well advised to contact the venue to establish the orientation of your room before booking.

Overall, at the price I paid, I would say the stay was excellent value for money. If I had paid full price I would have been far less happy especially as the electric shower decided to deliver only cold water 4 minutes into my shower.

  • Richard B

  • February 2015

Donnington

On the outskirts of the city - easy to find and conveniently placed for all routes.

Spacious room, friendly and helpful staff.

  • L Jones

  • February 2015

Great place

Great place to stay if you are looking for somewhere cheap to stay.

Good parking and very nice friendly staff.

  • Cristie S

  • February 2015

Home from home

Very impressed, as a guest house I wasn't expecting a lot but it had more to offer than most hotels.

The room/furnishings were a bit dated, but it was an excellent stay, good sized room, facilities very good (fridge, hair dryer, tea and coffee, power shower, additional heater) breakfast was very tasty and plenty on offer, the staff were very accommodating and friendly, the view from the room was exceptional, and was not to far from the town centre. Thank you for a lovely stay. Would defiantly recommend staying here.

  • t nicholls

  • February 2015

staying with a young baby

The hotel was lovely beautiful view from our room of the cathedral.

Staff made us feel so welcome and couldn't do more to help us as we had a 1 year old with us. Room was lovely and spacious. Clean and tidy and really pleasant. Great value for money we will be using regularly :)

  • Mike S

  • January 2015

Over night stay

Very friendly staff, Had better rooms for the money but ok, clean.

Good breakfast.