No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Donnington Guest House

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
41/43 Treyew Road, , , Truro, TR1 2BY
Family run by Darragh and Michelle, the Donnington Guesthouse caters for business travellers, those on holiday and all other visitors. We take pride in our reputation for friendly, personal service and traditional Cornish hospitality, whilst offering good value for money. All rates include a full cooked breakfast and parking. The Donnington can accommodate up to 28 guests in 14 rooms across two elegant Victorian houses, and offers lovely views over the Cathedral and surrounding countryside. All rooms have en-suite facilities or private bathroom. They also have tea and coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV with Free-view and DVD player. Most rooms have fridges and iron, ironing board, hairdryer and microwave can be provided on request. All rooms are non-smoking. The Donnington is a 10 minute walk to the City Centre and close to the train, bus or coach stations. It is also ideally located for the Royal Cornwall and Duchy hospitals, County Hall, records office and Truro College. Conveniently situated on the A390, it is the perfect base for visiting the Roseland, Eden Project and Falmouth and is within easy access to the main A30 for West and North Cornwall and Newquay Airport. Cornwall’s many dramatic coastlines, historic country houses and beautiful gardens are less than a 30 minute drive away. Our rate is per night per room which includes a full cooked breakfast. The breakfast comprises of: -tea, coffee and fruit juice -cereals -yoghurts -preserves and toast. -sausage, free range egg, lean back bacon, grilled tomato, mushrooms, baked beans and hash browns. Any balance of payment outstanding should be made by cash or cheque on departure. Regretfully there is no facility to take credit/debit cards on the premises. As we are family run, we are not staffed 24 hours a day in the same way as a hotel and so we appreciate the approximate time of your arrival.
Picture of Donnington Guest House, Truro at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Good standard accommodation, good value and excellent service.

Reviewed by
C Price

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value for money
I really enjoyed my stay at the donnington,the price per night was excellent and so was the breakfast.All the staff were friendly and helpful.I found the location very good as its just a 5 minute walk from the train station,which i used every day to visit other towns around cornwall.My room was clean and tidy with a fridge and microwave which came in very handy.

Reviewed by
j dean

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay at the Donnington.
A very friendly welcome and service at a very busy time, The room, whilst good value, could benefit from improvement to the overall decorative finish. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Brian T

From Emsworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and Helpful
All of the staff were very friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble for them
Michelle and Daragh have made "The Donnington" a nice comfortable place to stay ......Super breakfasts !

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did the job
Lovely friendly welcome. Maybe could invest in a new mattress.

Reviewed by
m littlewood

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Staff pleasant, beds very soft. Cheap & cheerful.

Reviewed by
C Ward

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for a onenight stay
The house is divided into two sections and we were in the annexe. The ensuite was fine. The single beds were a bit creaky and the curtain hooks kept falling off but it was ok as a reasonably priced stopover. We arrived very late in the evening which didn't seem to be a problem for them.

Reviewed by
J Gwynne

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
It was a lovely place to stay just needs a lick of paint in the room we were in and the curtains need putting up properly. People were very friendly and food was good.

Reviewed by
Joanne N

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only a one night stopover.
I only booked one night here - a single room for myself & a double for my sister & brother-in-law as we were renting a car the next day & moving on. Both rooms were in the 2nd of the 2 houses, next to the main house where breakfast was served in the front room. My room was up a steep flight of stairs but, fortunately, one of the staff, or the owner (no introductions were made) carried my small case upstairs & I was able to leave my large case in my sister's room for the night. While on the subject of luggage, it was impossible to wheel cases from a vehicle or from one house to the other because the front parking was gravel so they had to be carried (not easy for older people). The accommodation was adequate for one night but we wouldn't have wanted to be staying longer - although a lot of people seemed to be quite happy making it their base for touring. We could hear quite a lot of traffic noise from our front rooms. The staff were very helpful, especially with our luggage & calling a taxi to take us to the car rental office the next day.

Reviewed by
P Smith

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a gokd stay
I had a good stay at the Donningto.The staff are really friendly and helpful, the room was good.The only thing I did not know was that it was on a main road which was a bit noisy but got quieter at night.But I would still recommend for a stay.

Reviewed by
stephen w

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next