No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Donnington Guest House

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
41/43 Treyew Road, , , Truro, TR1 2BY
Family run by Darragh and Michelle, the Donnington Guesthouse caters for business travellers, those on holiday and all other visitors. We take pride in our reputation for friendly, personal service and traditional Cornish hospitality, whilst offering good value for money. All rates include a full cooked breakfast and parking. The Donnington can accommodate up to 28 guests in 14 rooms across two elegant Victorian houses, and offers lovely views over the Cathedral and surrounding countryside. All rooms have en-suite facilities or private bathroom. They also have tea and coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV with Free-view and DVD player. Most rooms have fridges and iron, ironing board, hairdryer and microwave can be provided on request. All rooms are non-smoking. The Donnington is a 10 minute walk to the City Centre and close to the train, bus or coach stations. It is also ideally located for the Royal Cornwall and Duchy hospitals, County Hall, records office and Truro College. Conveniently situated on the A390, it is the perfect base for visiting the Roseland, Eden Project and Falmouth and is within easy access to the main A30 for West and North Cornwall and Newquay Airport. Cornwall’s many dramatic coastlines, historic country houses and beautiful gardens are less than a 30 minute drive away. Our rate is per night per room which includes a full cooked breakfast. The breakfast comprises of: -tea, coffee and fruit juice -cereals -yoghurts -preserves and toast. -sausage, free range egg, lean back bacon, grilled tomato, mushrooms, baked beans and hash browns. Any balance of payment outstanding should be made by cash or cheque on departure. Regretfully there is no facility to take credit/debit cards on the premises. As we are family run, we are not staffed 24 hours a day in the same way as a hotel and so we appreciate the approximate time of your arrival.
Picture of Donnington Guest House, Truro at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, everything you need, friendly welcome
Good value accomodation. Single room small but quite adequate with a surprisingly reasonably sized ensuite shower room. Extra heater if needed, also hairdryer & fridge in room. Shower gel provided which I was not expecting forthe price. Relaxed breakfast buffet style with plenty of supplies. Cooked breakfast prepared to order. Made to feel welcome & valued. Room could do with a repaint and curtains being properly hung, but adequate. I enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Heather S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
The charges for a single room for very nominal. I liked the place and would like to stay again if needed. All in all I would say that it was value for money and would recommend to my friends

Reviewed by
K Singh

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed
The room smelt of damp, with obvious water damage and mold in the ceiling tiles. The sheet on the bed appeared to not to have been changed from the previous occupant and the towels were threadbare. The lady running the hotel was very pleasant and the food was of a reasonable standard. Had I been able to find an available room at that late hour I would have.

Reviewed by
Victor Williams

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Donnington Guest House
The accomodation was clean and tidy and was adequate for what we wanted. Breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
B Carlson

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay with a personal touch and welcome.

Reviewed by
R Heath

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top class
I've had worse experiences at 5-star hotels. The staff are friendly, helpful, accommodating, and genuine. The rooms are clean, the view from the back of the houses is spectacular, the location is a ten minute brisk walk to the cathedral and close to the station, the breakfasts are superb, the neighbourhood quiet,. Stay here. Great value for money. Book early though, it seems like a lot of people know about this one. Only one downside - no wifi. Nothing a MyFi won't handle though and your 3/4/5G will be fine - great reception - right next to a tower.

Reviewed by
nathan e

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Good standard accommodation, good value and excellent service.

Reviewed by
C Price

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value for money
I really enjoyed my stay at the donnington,the price per night was excellent and so was the breakfast.All the staff were friendly and helpful.I found the location very good as its just a 5 minute walk from the train station,which i used every day to visit other towns around cornwall.My room was clean and tidy with a fridge and microwave which came in very handy.

Reviewed by
j dean

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay at the Donnington.
A very friendly welcome and service at a very busy time, The room, whilst good value, could benefit from improvement to the overall decorative finish. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Brian T

From Emsworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and Helpful
All of the staff were very friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble for them
Michelle and Daragh have made "The Donnington" a nice comfortable place to stay ......Super breakfasts !

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next