No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
60, Cross Street , Abergavenny, NP7 5EU
The Kings Head hotel is based in the stunning surroundings of the famous market town of Abergavenny, we have the reputation of a first class coaching inn combined with the warm friendly atmosphere of a family home. This lends itself perfectly to serve up a relaxing weekend break in one of our tasteful rooms or a base for a walking holiday in the Brecon Beacons after we’ve set you up with one of our hearty Welsh Breakfasts!
Picture of Kings Head Hotel, Abergavenny at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was small but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was substantial and very nice. The people were friendly and helpful. The hotel is old and quirky with uneven floors and character. Right in the centre of town, it could not be more convenient but was not at all noisy. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

Reviewed by
Beverley M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel, only complaint being I was in room 2 and the window wouldn't open. Appeared to be painted shut.

Reviewed by
J Truelove

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could do better
Tiny shower. Uncomfortable bed. Told I could not sit where I wished to for breakfast despite there being no other takers. The young staff were good but the owner/senior staff were not particularly hospitable. Breakfast - poor, two tiny little dried out mackerel.

Reviewed by
anne c

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disorganised upon arrival
The hotel and rooms are In need of upgrading
Lack of attention from staff, to include waiting (&waiting) to check out while the owners/managers ate their breakfast!
Breakfast finishes at 09.30 (on a Sunday!) we arrived for breakfast at 09.45 & were told we were too late...

Reviewed by
R jones

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay in Abergavenny!
Kings Head Hotel, Abergavenny - welcoming staff, good sized single room, very clean, comfy bed. Large cooked breakfast. Would definitely recommend it as a great value for money hotel in an excellent location.

Reviewed by
SARAH S

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff incredible!
The pub food was not fantastic, but the food in the restaurant was outstanding. The staff were all extremely helpful and polite, the room was lovely and clean. Unfortunatley the drunks were out in force in the early hours in the street outside, but that could not be helped (it was a friday night!) I very much enjoyed my stay and will definatly be staying there again in the future, hopefully for longer next time.

Reviewed by
L Jacobs

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Lovely stay at the King's Head! Clean, big and comfortable room. Friendly and laid back staff. Excellent staff, and good value for money

Reviewed by
Annie A

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and friendly

Reviewed by
S Firth

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Kings Head Hotel, Abergavenny - Poor Value for money
At £85:00 per night booked through laterooms, this small hotel has very limited facilities and most definately does NOT offer value for money. The rooms are clean but very basic. The hotel also offers a shabby bar with disco, residents are kept awake by the banging loud music, loud drunken behavour, fights and foul language in to the early hours of the morning. Breakfast good, but no compensation from such a badly disturbed eveing. Customer Service: We were not asked if everything had been acceptable or comfortable with our stay...clearly the management were avoiding the obvious! I would NOT recommend the Kings Head Hotel and would advise looking for an altenative hotel or guest house.

Reviewed by
Sarah D

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location & well run hotel
Close to the market hall, this is an ideal location for all that Abergavenny town centre has to offer, as well as it being a great base to explore the stunning landscape of the Brecon Beacons nearby.
The hotel itself has an old fashioned feel but has all the basic facilities expected with a pleasant pub/bar and a decent restaurant that serves a very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
L Cordell

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next