Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Blaenau Gwent > Ebbw Vale Parkway Hotels > The Ambala (hotel restaurant and bar)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ambala (hotel restaurant and bar)

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE AMBALA, STATION ROAD , EBBW VALE, NP236TN
The Ambala offers 9 en-suite bedrooms. All our room are King Size and have sky sports available . We also have 5star Indian Restaurant and a bar downstairs where resident staying at the hotel can enjoy food and drinks.

We have live entertainment take place at our Bar every Saturdays (Due to the live entertainment on Saturday night families with young children may expect to hear small noises until 12pm).

We are situated in a great location .Two minutes walk from Ebbw Vale train station. Only 35 minutes by Train to Cardiff for the Residents staying at Hotel want to watch Rugby or other events. 5 minutes walk from festival park . 5 Minutes drive from newly approved Race Track .
Picture of The Ambala (hotel restaurant and bar), EBBW VALE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice people, tired building
No breakfast available, TV didn't work, Internet stopped working, curtain fell off wall in bathroom, no one around when trying to book in, no one around when leaving. Evening Meal was excellent.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Machynlleth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tired but cheap
Arrived at 4pm as stated on booking form, sat around for half an hour waiting for someone to appear. ...not a good start. Booked B & B but told that breakfast Was not available.
Room was clean but tired looking . Had to unplug tv to use kettle as only one socket in the room.
T.v was the smallest I have ever seen with only 4 channels. The shower was very erratic, going from ideal to freezing cold, to burning hot in quick succession .
In the morning, again, no staff to be found anywhere . For £35 it is good value , but could be so much better.

Reviewed by
EWAN M

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value on the day booking
Was a good cheap room booked late on in the day.

Reviewed by
S Goff

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit disappointed...
They say they have sky sports, but they don't! My boyfriend was very upset as he wanted to see the F1.
The TV didn't work when we got there, so we had to ask for it to be fixed. There were also no large towels provided, so we had to go and ask for those too and even the ones we were given were tiny. There were hairs in the bath as well. However the bed was comfy...

Reviewed by
J Zake

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I can't say how much we enjoyed our visit to the Ambala hotel.
Ali and Mo were excellent hosts and couldn't do enough for us. The meal we had was of the highest quality and so tasty. Although we were only here on business I wouldn't hesitate to come again as a tourist and hope to be back.

Reviewed by
Fraser Anderson

From Londonderry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very well kept and maintained to a high standard of cleanliness. The staff were very efficient and nothing was too much trouble. For example, my room was changed with no question because the Wi - fi wouldn't work and I had work I needed to finish. I would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jayne P

From Stanford le Hope, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food poor accommodation
Rooms very poor I'm not sure whether it had been cleaned???

Reviewed by
Lee J

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb!!
Ali and his staff are so friendly from the outset. Their only aim is to ensure you have a great relaxing stay.
The room was clean and very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities.
For the evening, I was able to have a quiet drink at the bar and later a feast of an Indian meal which for me,is the best I have had,full of spicy delight from the first bite to the last!
Breakfast was a treat with an Asian theme from chapatti to an omelette done the Asian way.
I highly recommend the Ambala for a relaxing stay,be it for business or pleasure and you will be assured of a gastronomic treat!

Reviewed by
J Malocco

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
This was a last minute booking , made to feel very welcome carried my bags from the car a tray if coffee in my room on arrival , very pleasant stay would definetly recommend to anyone

Reviewed by
s shervill

From swansea, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Retirement party
Very busy night at The Ambala but they seemed to cope fairly well. There were no complaints from our party about the food - it was scrumptious! The staff were very friendly and hospitable.
We stayed overnight, beautiful big room with tea/coffee facilities. Housekeeping could have been better but it was explained that they are concentrating on the restaurant overall and will put more effortinto the rooms at a later date. Overall a comfortable night.

Reviewed by
M Watkins

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.