Reviews - The Ambala (hotel restaurant and bar)



Price From 77.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (16)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Hughes

  • July 2015

shocking and unacceptable

After not being able to check in because no staff on site and a scribbled note on the door saying call to check in I waited 2hrs and numerous calls to be told can you wait a bit longer.

Utterly shocking customer service. Why run a hotel that says check in at 13.00 if know body there till 5.

  • kelvin j

  • June 2015

The Ambala (hotel restaurant and bar)

Rooms need a make over but what do you expect for the price.

  • E Field

  • April 2015

The Ambala (hotel restaurant and bar)

Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us.

Arranged a taxi on request. Made us feel welcome although they were clearly busy preparing for a wedding when we arrived.

  • m jones

  • April 2015

budget and basic

The welcome from the staff was warm and friendly and they explained the hotel will undergo a huge refurshiment so we guessed the rooms would be tired...

They were very tired as reflected in the price. Basic with dated furniture. However on a better note the bed was clean and comfortable and was in a quiet location. Did the job :-)

  • janet hagan

  • April 2015

excellent stay needs bedrooms need updating but on the whole good stay

would definitely stay there again

  • Philip N

  • September 2014

The hotel did not appear to be expecting us.

They wanted to see the booking on my phone and even took a photo of it. There was significant confusion over our twin room booking. Mobile phone signal is very poor. Hotel wifi also very poor. Bathroom had noisiest fan ever. Evening meal was excellent. Late Rooms booking allowed us to book breakfast - hotel does not serve breakfast

  • L Young

  • August 2014

The Ambala

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and it was very pleasant.

On friday and saturday nights they have music playing downstairs which is nice but can get quite annoying if you're tired and want some sleep. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was big enough. Overall we had a nice time and would visit again since it is good value for money. All I would say is that the decore needs updating, there is modern furniture and old fashioned styled furniture in the same building and it doesn't work well together.

  • Ian B

  • August 2014

Nice people, tired building

No breakfast available, TV didn't work, Internet stopped working, curtain fell off wall in bathroom, no one around when trying to book in, no one around when leaving.

Evening Meal was excellent.

  • EWAN M

  • August 2014

tired but cheap

Arrived at 4pm as stated on booking form, sat around for half an hour waiting for someone to appear.

...not a good start. Booked B & B but told that breakfast Was not available.

Room was clean but tired looking . Had to unplug tv to use kettle as only one socket in the room. T.v was the smallest I have ever seen with only 4 channels. The shower was very erratic, going from ideal to freezing cold, to burning hot in quick succession . In the morning, again, no staff to be found anywhere . For £35 it is good value , but could be so much better.

  • S Goff

  • August 2014

Good value on the day booking

Was a good cheap room booked late on in the day.