Reviews - Garddfon Inn



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (69)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jennifer D

  • September 2015

Kind hearted community stay

I have stayed at The Garddfon several times and am impressed with the standard of the rooms.

My only caution to others would be to remember that this is very much a pub at the heart of the village community and at weekends it tends to be very well attended with music and a real sense of fun. If you want peace and quiet at the weekend, make sure to request a room that is not right on top of the bar (although you may well lose out on the fabulous views and the wonderful sense of the village and the waterfront). All in all though, I heartily recommend this pub for location, friendliness, lunch and evening meals, and a kind heart.

  • Peter S

  • September 2015

Superb, recommended

Great venue, warm wecome, thanks to general manager John

  • S Howson

  • September 2015


We arrived Saturday afternoon.The room was hastily prepared,at first it didn't seem that bad, but after a while was very stuffy,the window would not open.and it seemed very dark.The bedspread was dirty and the cushions and pillows were not fresh.

The showerhead had black mold on it ,and the water pressure was dismal,that coupled with the fact that it kept turning itself off every few seconds was the worst shower I have ever had.I didn't have time to complain as we were going to a family wedding.Each time we tried to sleep at 3am in the morning we were woken by loud footsteps from the room above loud music and someone having a row!. Surely when they did the refit they could have put in some sound proofing.

  • Iain D

  • September 2015

Garddfon Inn

A lovely place to stay for a weekend away.

Staff were excellent and could not have been more attentive. The room was very clean and had all the little items I needed. It was lovely and quiet and the view from the bedroom window was first rate. I sat outside in the sunshine and just watched the world sail gently by.

  • s ELD

  • August 2015

2 nights was 2 much

very steep stairs up to a room with no view.

On arrival until end of service air conditioner was rattling away through the room. Bed was too small for 2 adults to turn over with out fear of falling. mattress etc - good quality. Shower door so tight that unless you banged it and became stuck inside - it leaked over the floor. You could see that an effort had been made with accommodation - it was just too small and not suited to elderly people. Staff at all times were lovely and really helpful. Food excellent BUT no breakfast available - which is not plain on booking - it was the deal breaker for us & we stayed only 1 night. The view across the Menai Straits was wonderful from outside the pub.

  • T Barker

  • August 2015

Great place to stay

Just two nights there and I guarantee we will be back.

Room No 5 a bit small, but apart from that the food was wonderfuly and so were the staff.

  • Steve C

  • August 2015

Could of been better

No breakfasts so 60 a night was expensive

A bit of we've got your money no good bye or have you enjoyed your stay just leave key in the door not impressed

Food was late and burned so ladled with spices to mask it not impressed

Beer was good tho

Could be a really good place if run with a little bit more precision and christ you got to offer breakfasts!!!!

  • J Holland

  • August 2015

Picturesque location

Very clean and modern room above the pub.

Accommodation was small but excellent quality with views across the Menai Straight to Plas Newydd. No facility for breakfast but there is the pleasant walk to the cafe in the marina which serves good food at very reasonable prices. The pub is open late but there was no noise.

  • Frances W

  • July 2015

Garddfon Inn

Room really good but disappointed that we had to walk a fair distance to find a cafe for breakfast.

  • Kirsty T

  • July 2015

We booked this location as it is only 15 mins from zip world and which we had booked for the sat am.

Following one of the worst and longest journies ever, mainly due to weather conditions and sheer volume of traffic, we were greeted late by an extremely friendly and helpful manager. We found all the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, and it was nice to see them having a night off and enjoying themselves, the evening we arrived. The public house and restaurant is in a beautiful setting and we had a very picturesque view from our room across the water with the boats. We ate in the restaurant the following evening and the food was extremely good... Fresh local produce that was delicious. The room was good value for money and well presented. I didnt realise when I booked it was only board and no breakfast , however as we had our zip world experience booked for 7am, we had made alternative arrangements anyway. All in all it was a great location, great staff and great food.