No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grey Street Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2 10, Grey Street , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 6AE
Right in the heart of the city centre, this boutique hotel is understated chic and minimalist, situated in a grade 2 listed building and oozing period charm fused with a contemporary style. Included as standard in all rooms are triple glazed windows, hypnos beds, crisp white cotton bed linen, thick fluffy towels, drench showers, soothing toiletries, laptop safe, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player with library, CD player, cafetiere coffee and herbal teas. Theatre Royal 2 min walk, Eldon Square Shopping Centre 2 min walk, Metro Radio Arena 10 min walk, Centre for Life 5 min walk, Central Railway Station 5 minute walk, Monument Metro 2 minute walk, Newcastle Quayside / Millennium Bridge / The Sage Gateshead / Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art 5 minute walk.
Picture of Grey Street Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this hotel so central
comfortable rooms, a little warm at times. Staff are faultless

Reviewed by
N Moore

From , England
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Staff
the staff were very friendly and attentive

Reviewed by
S Begum

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for city centre would stay again

Reviewed by
diane c

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
stayed 1 night for partners birthday, but would have been happy to stay 2 or 3 nights. Lift was being used by staff when we went to check out and we ended up having to walk down the stairs with my dodgy back.

Reviewed by
Brenda B

From Jarrow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is a bit tired and needs a make over, breakfast was extremly slow and poorly organised waited 20 mins to even get a coffee, not good enough particularly as we had a meeting to go to

Reviewed by
Nicholas H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good option for doing business in and around Tyneside

Reviewed by
Richard K

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good Accommodation
Excellent accommodation right bang in the centre of Newcastle. Friendly and efficient reception. Room big with all mod cons and large bathroom. Did not try bar - restaurant facilities are the Living Room so should be ok. Loads of places to eat - just fall out the front door!

Reviewed by
Kenneth M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great city centre hotel
We arrived 3 hours prior to 1500hrs check-in time and reception looked after our luggage while we headed out. The location of the hotel is very central, spot on for access to shopping, theatre & nightlife. Our room (No.4) over-looked Mosely St/Grey St/ Dean St busy junction but wasn't really that noisy for a Saturday night in Newcastle (secondary glazing a heavy curtains are pretty effective). The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially at breakfast. The breakfast was good quality. After reading some poor reviews of this hotel elswehere I have to add this positive review. Some may find the room tariff a little steep but you do save on not requiring a taxi around town. The Dean St car park ins 80yds away and is sucurely locked overnight. I'd certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
roger l

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel in centre of Newcastle
Very friendly and efficient staff.

Reviewed by
P Gunn

From Chester-le-Street, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
As a group of guys down for a night out this is ideal. Next door to bijoux pretty much and 5 min walk from train station. Room was a bit warm and windows didn't open too well but that's a minor complaint. Good value for money

Reviewed by
G Anderson

From Lochwinnoch, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next