You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Grey Street Hotel

4

2 10, Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 6AE

Price From 127.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (35)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Carina S

  • August 2016

Grey Street Hotel

The room was a bit small.

  • Ian F

  • July 2016

Excellent Customer Service but Room Dissapointing

On a positive note we booked the hotel incorrectly the day before we were due to arrive and the manager agreed to waive the additional room charge.

The staff in the hotel were lovely and helpful. The breakfast at the Living Room was good with cheery staff who were helful and recommended some places to visit. The vicinity of the hotel to the station and local bars and restaurants was excellent right on the door step. We do like to stay in boutique hotels rather than the chain hotels and when this room was new it would have been lovely. It was spacious and modern furnished. However all the furniture was very tired and worn. There is clearly a problem with water getting in as there are huge water marks running down the walls near the bathroom and the carpet was wet. The TV was old with 5 channels to view with poor reception and an old DVD player with DVDs at reception to view if required.

The bath and floor tiles where chipped and had ground in mould around the bath. There was quite a loud noise outside of the room window which sounded like the external air conditioning unit which kept coming on and off during the night which hampered our sleep.

We were disappointed with the overall quality of the room and would recommend to the owners/manager to overhaul the rooms so that future guests are not disappointed. If the rooms are not going to be redone please look at this review carefully before committing to book this hotel and to avoid disappointment.

  • C Sedgwick

  • July 2016

Stylish and central....

Fantastic room, it was a deluxe and worth the extra money, really spacious, stylish and different.

We loved the cosy alcove with the bed in it. We were a walk away from the centre, loads of great eating places. The hotel staff were polite and helpful and the breakfasts were brilliant. Definitely recommend Grey St.

  • Emma K

  • May 2016

Lovely hotel and customer service but not a good nights sleep

Great welcome at reception, lovely friendly staff and clean room, usually all you would ask for the price we paid but the only other important thing, a 'good nights sleep' was missing.

Our room no. 33 had an extracter fan right outside the window (or at least that what I thought it was) and the noise from it during the night sounded like someone spent the all night hoovering in the room above us. So unfortunately we did not have a good nights sleep.

I know some might question why we did not report the problem, but the noise was not that obvious earlier on, but if it had been we would have mentioned it to reception and asked for them to move us, unfortunately for us it was only so obvious in the silence at night.

  • A Coyle

  • April 2016

Disappointed

I was hoping for a "Hotel de Vin" boutique experience but was very disappointed.

The hotel and Superior room decor was tired and drab. The grout in the bathroom has seen better days and the service at breakfast extremely slow.

  • Tom N

  • February 2016

Excellent service and great value

Such friendly and helpful staff.

Central hotel for a relatively cheap price. Would recommend it for business travel.

  • G Henderson

  • January 2016

Wonderful Hotel!

We stayed at the Grey Street Hotel for two nights.

We had an amazing stay and found the hotel to be excellent. Very clean and the staff are very friendly too. Service was quick and attentive. Great location on beautiful street and lots of restaurants and coffee shops on your door step. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Antony W

  • December 2015

Busy but quiet

The hotel could do with a more conspicuous sign.

I walked past it twice before I noticed the lettering in the window. Though it's on a busy corner and there was quite a lot of noise downstairs, the room was quiet and comfortable. Minor gripes : the lighting is all standard and bedside lamps, one of which didn't work, and there were no switches close to the bed; and the TV reception was poor. Apart from that it's a good room at a very reasonable price and a very handy city centre location.

  • Lorna C

  • December 2015

Dreadful

Old TV, 7 free view channels, net down, loud music thumping from 11pm until 2.30am (Tuesday!)

Poor response to complaints

  • Elizabeth D

  • December 2015

Cleanliness & general info

This was listed as a 'boutique hotel' , so with that I assumed the lights bulbs would of been checked to ensure they worked - 3 out of 5 didn't work.

There was a filthy complimentary toiletries dish - it was thick with dust & general ground in dirt. Also the bath had not been cleaned thoroughly. On the whole very disappointed, attention to detail lacking - such as basic housekeeping cleanliness, chipped/stained paintwork too.