No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bull Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Valley, , Holyhead, LL65 3DP
The Bull is a small family operated independent hotel. Guests are geeted with a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere on arrival. The Bull is within close proximity of the A55 expressway, Holyhead train station, Holyhead ferry port & Anglesey airport making it easily accesible from any method of travel. Being located on the beautiful Isle of Anglesey the Bull is a short distance from a variety of beaches, golf clubs, tourist attractions and nature walks. Food is served both in the bar and the seaside themed restaurant area which offers a full table service. We pride ourselves on the standard of our food using both local and seasonal ingredients where possible. The two bar areas offer comfortable seating and informal dining space, there is a wide and varied choice of both non-alcoholic and alcoholic drinks available from the bar including Real Ale and a full wine list. Food is served in the bar from 12:00 to 15:00 and from 18:00 to 21:00 Monday to Saturday. Food is served in the restaurant with a full table service offered from 18:00 to 21:00 Monday to Saturday. On Sunday we offer a popular carvery which runs from 12:00 to 17:00 which is available in both the bar and restaurant areas. Booking is advised for both restaurant meals and the Sunday carvery in order to ensure a table. At the Bull we can cater for any special events such as weddings, christenings, birthday parties or wakes and the restaurant can be fully booked out during the day. The Bull has recently undergone a redecoration of the bedrooms and improvement works are on-going. All rooms are comfortable en-suites offering new beds, Freeview television and tea & coffee making facilities. Newspapers and a wakeup call can be provided on request. A full breakfast offering is included in the room price and consists of fresh fruit, yoghurts and a full English breakfast option. Please check our Special Offers page for updates.
Picture of Bull Hotel, Holyhead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in this hotel as we needed to attend a funeral. IThe bed's were very comfortable and clean. There was a smell of damp, but the bathrooms had been refurbished and decorated. Very comfortable stay. Breakfast was huge, Full English, Very nice.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Mountain Ash, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angelsey revisited
There is plenty to see and do on Anglesey - all you require is a comfortable base from which to
roam. Having recently had a hip-replacement we needed a break after seven restricted weeks at home. The Bull Hotel met all our requirements with its helpful and patient staff, comfortable rooms and plenty of good food. One morning at breakfast we recognised another guest who appears on TV music productions from time to time. The waiter on duty in the restaurant confirmed who it was but we were disappointed because we had nothing to obtain his autograph on. Shortly afterwards, while the air above was filled with the noise of jets taking off, the special guest arrived at our table for a short chat about music and his task of promoting Military Wives Choirs ! He was off to RAF Valley but still found time to meet us to talk about our own music interests. Thank You Gareth Malone !

Reviewed by
Peter Hughes

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not stay here again
Stayed at the bull hotel for 1 night 12th July. Rooms needed updated. Could not fault the food in the hotel. Never slept all night due to there being rooms underneath us that had a gang of lads in that were up all night drinking and shouting and swearing. They were still like this when we went down to breakfast at 7.30am.

Reviewed by
S Broxton

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing accommodation
At first sight the room looked pleasing. The bed was clean and comfortable. The disappointment was the en suite. The bath was chipped in 3 places. The shower was pathetic and we could not find a way of achieving the correct temperature of the water. It was either very hot or very cold. The flow of water in the cold tap in the hand basin and the shower was useless as the water circuit needed pumping.

Reviewed by
Maureen S

From Whalley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NZ Traveller
Stayed two nights hosts and locals great people breakfast and evening meals fine Hotel showing it's age and looks like it is being up graded.

Reviewed by
Tony A

From Christchurch New Zealand, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food, good value overall
Room clean, breakfast good, we ate dinner too and it was nice and pretty good value. Just remember this is a pub not a country retreat so it can be lively in the evening.

Reviewed by
Simon M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice. Friendly staff. Just a a slight problem with room as they had had a leak in the bathroom just before we arrived. The bathroom carpet was left soaking. They did apologise and knock the cost of a meal off the bill so no harm done. Would stay there again though.

Reviewed by
e mckenna

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bull hotel
Overall a very pleasant stay, granted the cleaning could be improved and breakfast was rather greasy but none of these points were major and certainly didn't effect our stay. The staff were very pleasant and polite, parking was ample aside from no offer of help to take our bags to our room.
We'd stay again though so please don't be put off by this review, just trying to be honest

Reviewed by
Ian A

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Last minute weekend break to Anglesey, browsed the internet sites for a hotel/b and b with availability for that night. We chose this hotel as it was close to where our friends were staying. The hotel is primarily a pub with hotel attached.
On arrival we were booked in by friendly staff who showed us to our family room. It was spotlessly clean and looked like the rooms had recently been modernised or redecorated. The bathroom was a bit dated and the shower a bit temperamental but it was all functional.
We ate evening meal at the pub on both nights of our stay and we were so impressed. The food and standard of presentation was beautiful. The staff were lovely and could not do enough to ensure that our stay was enjoyable.
The breakfast was lovely too, nothing was too much trouble even for our 11 yr olds fussy eating.
All in all a lovely break away and I would highly recommend visiting The Bull.
Many thanks and we will certainly be back.

Reviewed by
Ruth B

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine if you have low expectations
Our room had a fine view of a full skip, some waste land & a disused bath. On entering the lobby to the room, you had to tread carefully over the workboots of other guests...
The bathroom was out of fashion in the 1970's and the room smelled damp
Don't stay here

Reviewed by
John B

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next