No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bull Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Valley, , Holyhead, LL65 3DP
The Bull is a small family operated independent hotel. Guests are geeted with a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere on arrival. The Bull is within close proximity of the A55 expressway, Holyhead train station, Holyhead ferry port & Anglesey airport making it easily accesible from any method of travel. Being located on the beautiful Isle of Anglesey the Bull is a short distance from a variety of beaches, golf clubs, tourist attractions and nature walks. Food is served both in the bar and the seaside themed restaurant area which offers a full table service. We pride ourselves on the standard of our food using both local and seasonal ingredients where possible. The two bar areas offer comfortable seating and informal dining space, there is a wide and varied choice of both non-alcoholic and alcoholic drinks available from the bar including Real Ale and a full wine list. Food is served in the bar from 12:00 to 15:00 and from 18:00 to 21:00 Monday to Saturday. Food is served in the restaurant with a full table service offered from 18:00 to 21:00 Monday to Saturday. On Sunday we offer a popular carvery which runs from 12:00 to 17:00 which is available in both the bar and restaurant areas. Booking is advised for both restaurant meals and the Sunday carvery in order to ensure a table. At the Bull we can cater for any special events such as weddings, christenings, birthday parties or wakes and the restaurant can be fully booked out during the day. The Bull has recently undergone a redecoration of the bedrooms and improvement works are on-going. All rooms are comfortable en-suites offering new beds, Freeview television and tea & coffee making facilities. Newspapers and a wakeup call can be provided on request. A full breakfast offering is included in the room price and consists of fresh fruit, yoghurts and a full English breakfast option. Please check our Special Offers page for updates.
Picture of Bull Hotel, Holyhead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a makeover
Very dated room with poor facilities. TV didn't appear to work and the shower was pretty useless. The room was clean though. The Bull has a lively bar and was quite busy on the Saturday night, my room was right at the back of the hotel so was quiet. Breakfast was a bit miserable, didn't try the cooked offering so can't comment on that but the rest seemed like a token gesture. First time I've asked for toast and been given a dinner plate with 4 triangles of already buttered slices! One worrying thing I spotted was half a rasher of bacon under my breakfast table, it was still there 24 hours later on my second morning! Overall I would say avoid unless you've no other choice in the area but if you have to stay here then just don't have high expectations!

Reviewed by
John P

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waste of money
My stay at this hotel started one evening at about 9:30 PM when I arrive but unfortunately those no place I get food in the local area. So I got a packet of crisps from the bar and went to my room which cost me £70 for the evening. I found the standard to be very poor, the bathroom was very outdated the holder for the shower in the bathroom did not all hold shower head and the water pressure was very poor, the cleanliness of the bath was not very good. There were traces of paint all along the side of the bed I was staying in and the door looked like it had been repaired on numerous occasions after possible break ins to the room. There was paint all over the door closer and I found TV to be so small reminded me of children Tv. I would not stay here again. Seriously overpriced

Reviewed by
Eamonn Doran

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room and place
We stayed for one night after having popped in for a drink on 2 seperate occasions while staying elsewhere on Anglesey and thought we would try the hotel side as everyone was very friendly.
The room was lovely and the staff accomodated a change in the number in our party excellently. The staff are very helpful. The room was spotless and roomy and the beds were so comfy. The only downside was the food, breakfast was ok they did explain that a stag do were in there for breakfast so therefore it was a buffet style and a little disorganised. The evening meal again was ok but pricey for what you got. There are cheaper places to eat with better quality food in the area.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
S Duberry

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service and breakfast recommended
Staff very pleasant and helpful. Food good. Bedroom clean and accommodating although decor slightly tired

Reviewed by
R MacAskill

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly hotel
Well looked after , very nice staff

Reviewed by
S Allen

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An appalling hotel
Quite the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The sea of fag butts to negotiate surrounding the front door gave me my first clue but the whole place seems not to have been decorated or cleaned properly since the 1970s. The bathroom was a time warp and the shower mixer did not work. The highlight was coming down to dinner and walking in to the middle of a stand up row between the kitchen staff. The 2 x chefs walked out leaving a party of diners fuming after just eating a starter! Breakfast was ok but cheap sausages cooked in too much grease just doesn't cut it. It wasn't cheap either. If it had been a 45 quid room then fair enough, I suppose, but this was 80 quid. Rip off.

Reviewed by
Andy Y

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is great value for money. If you want a good quality Commercial Hotel with lots of food then this is the place for you and your family. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are adequate and cleaned daily so no problems there. Staff are courteous and happy to oblige. I have stayed in far more expensive places and not been as well looked after

Reviewed by
P Way-Rider

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in this hotel as we needed to attend a funeral. IThe bed's were very comfortable and clean. There was a smell of damp, but the bathrooms had been refurbished and decorated. Very comfortable stay. Breakfast was huge, Full English, Very nice.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Mountain Ash, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angelsey revisited
There is plenty to see and do on Anglesey - all you require is a comfortable base from which to
roam. Having recently had a hip-replacement we needed a break after seven restricted weeks at home. The Bull Hotel met all our requirements with its helpful and patient staff, comfortable rooms and plenty of good food. One morning at breakfast we recognised another guest who appears on TV music productions from time to time. The waiter on duty in the restaurant confirmed who it was but we were disappointed because we had nothing to obtain his autograph on. Shortly afterwards, while the air above was filled with the noise of jets taking off, the special guest arrived at our table for a short chat about music and his task of promoting Military Wives Choirs ! He was off to RAF Valley but still found time to meet us to talk about our own music interests. Thank You Gareth Malone !

Reviewed by
Peter Hughes

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not stay here again
Stayed at the bull hotel for 1 night 12th July. Rooms needed updated. Could not fault the food in the hotel. Never slept all night due to there being rooms underneath us that had a gang of lads in that were up all night drinking and shouting and swearing. They were still like this when we went down to breakfast at 7.30am.

Reviewed by
S Broxton

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next