No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bonny Brae Guest House

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11 Oak Street, , , Windermere, LA23 1EN
Bonny Brae Guest House is a family run Victorian Guest House. It enjoys a central location in the heart of Windermere village. The lake, station, tour buses, local shops and facilities are all within easy walking distance. Windermere is just over one mile from the lake and is where the Oxenholme to Windermere railway line terminates. It is a busy little town with a good variety of local shops. The flagship store for Lakeland (opens in new window) is situated close to the railway station. There is also a branch of Booths supermarket. Windermere in the Lake District - ten and a half miles long and 219 feet deep - is England's largest lake. Its name comes from the Scandinavian for 'lake of a man called Vinandr'.Half way down Windermere, and a mile and a half downhill from Windermere village and its railway station. Pop into our Bowness Bay Information Centre, shop, eat, get an ice cream and watch the bustle of the steamers arriving and departing from Bowness Bay. You can also hire rowing boats. A mile inland from Windermere, Ambleside is a bustling town of outdoor equipment shops, bookshops, gift shops, cafes and restaurants, and a cinema. Nestled in the valley between various fells, it's the start and end point for many walks.
Picture of Bonny Brae Guest House, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Bonny Brae
I t was an upcoming birthday weekend for one of us and so when looking at Late Rooms guest reviews I came upon some really good reviews for this guest house-100% would stay again. This was a key factor in making our booking-and we were not disappointed-from the warm friendly welcome to the nice decor and lovely room,the helpful advice for our stay and places of interest to the very nice cooked breakfast on both mornings-particularly for me the scrambled egg and the dainty veg sausage. It was good value for money and a nice place to stay. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B in centre of Windermere
Excellent B&B just off the main street in Windermere, five minutes' walk from the rail station. I had a good twin room with large bathroom. Proprietor Teresa is friendly and chatty, and provides an excellent breakfast. Guide books and maps are available to borrow.

Reviewed by
gordon t

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bonny Brae Guest House
A small friendly guest house they rang me the day before I was due to arrive to make sure everything was OK. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the lakes as it’s ideally located in the centre of Windermere, close to the railway station and lake. If coming by car they offer a parking permit.

Reviewed by
Tony Williamson

From Peacehaven, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome awaits.
A cosy, comfortable room with modern en suite, friendly hosts with lots of advice and books to help Lake virgins find something they will love.

Reviewed by
Thomas D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location in centre of Windermere, 15 min walk from marina in Bowness, warm, and cosy en-suite rooms with comfy bed, parking permits available and we always managed to find parking place outside, wi-fi working in the room on the last floor with no problem, small kettle and choice of tea/coffee available and hair driers in the room, range of towels and toiletries, cleaned daily. Choice of breakfast confirmed daily, all tasty and freshly prepared. I would certainly recommend for a couple.

Reviewed by
Mateusz R

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Weekend.
Me and my Girlfriend had a perfect stay, loved windermere and the service we received, already planning a trip in august!

Reviewed by
A Scurfield

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice stay

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything we wanted. Thanks!
This B+B is located in central Windermere. Perfect for local shops and eateries, walks and further travel.
We were welcomed warmly, with a helpful introduction to our stay. Ample maps and attraction leaflets available here if you want to plan your adventures on arrival, as we did, with some useful personal recommendations too.
We were given a parking pass that allowed us to use a number of local roads. Windermere was busy when we arrived, but we soon found somewhere nearby (expect this arrangement at most local B+Bs without off road parking).
The room met all our needs (warm, comfortable...stayed in and watched telly one night), and we enjoyed our favourite breakfasts (thanks for the extra cheese!).
This was a cheaper option compared to many of the others on Late Rooms. Booking at Bonny Brae was a good choice though that gave us everything we were looking for, and left us pleased we hadn't spent more. We would return, and recommend. Thanks for making us feel so welcome!

Reviewed by
Andy F

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Close to the centre of Windermere, but parking permits available from the B&B. Friendly and helpful owners. Great breakfast and comfortable rooms. Also excellent value for money - would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Brenda T

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location
Great base for the lakes, walking distance to Windermere, mountain goat tour buses pick up at your door. Situated on the edge of Bowness town centre surrounded by plenty of restaurants, coffee shops etc. Big choice of food for breakfast cooked to order. Near main bus routes. Owner friendly and helpful good knowledge of area. Pleasant and relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
gary s

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next