Reviews - Newton House Hotel


Buxton Road Alsop En Le Dale, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, DE6 1NJ

Price From 116.38 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Woolston

  • September 2015


We were chased by the hotelier to advise when we were scheduled to arrive.

This despite advising thet we had experienced problems with traffic.

  • k taylor

  • September 2015

A pleasant suprise

The new managers have been in 4 months so it is work in progress after moving into a busy hotel.

The dinner menu at the moment is basic but the food is good, breakfast is good the friendly staff and approachable management who are interested in their jobs made it an comfortable pleasant stay. Would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Rosemary C

  • August 2015

Great B&B

Hotel manager friendly, cheerful and helpful.

Loves his job. Decor may be a bit tired but our room was very quiet, the beds were extremely comfortable, the shower efficient. We were in the main building. The internet connection was excellent. TV good, coffee and tea making facilities provided. At the end of a long day it was good to be able to relax and not have to go out in the evening to find somewhere to eat. The main meals are filling, and there is a bar so you can also have a drink at a reasonable price. I can't comment on the puddings as we didn't have one. The full English breakfast looked good but we had the continental which is included in the room price. A good choice of fruit juice, yogurt, prunes, grapefruit segments, cereals etc and you make your own toast so it's fresh and warm. The staff are chatty and friendly and the cat and working collie dog from the farm next door are often around and happy to be made a fuss of. We only stayed one night as we were only in the area for the week-end. It's under new ownership and improvements are planned over the next few months but in the meantime it's a nice place to stay.


  • August 2015

Our stay

Good clean well appointed hotel in large grounds.

Excellent choice of breakfast and surprised that evening bar meals where available at the right size/ price. Only down side, not hotel's fault, was no mobile phone signal though we found out that vodafone's signal was there 30m down the footpath at the bottom of the garden. How strange.

  • Robert W

  • July 2015

A comfortable stay at a convenient location

Very satisfied with our stay overall but although we had a room at the rear, there was still some traffic noise from the A515 which is quite a busy road.

The only other problem we experienced was that the toilet seat and lid became detached in the bathroom but after reporting this, it was quickly remedied by the staff. We discovered that the bar meals available in the evening were good value.

  • J Barker

  • July 2015

Newton House Hotel

We had many incidents of very kind assistance.

A very efficient and happy place.

  • Frances T

  • June 2015

Had a one night stay to do a little exploring.

Staff were very friendly and accommodating. They couldn't do enough for us, even locking our bikes away. Lovely clean room, just a shame we only got one night away.

  • Catherine Higgs

  • June 2015

Lovely Views

We had a great stay at this hotel, the room was lovely and big, however the bathroom could have been a bit more updated.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. We had an evening menu which was very limited, but it was their first night of trying out food, if they can accommodate a bit more on what's on offer I think it will be successful. The price was good value for money.

  • Jill B

  • June 2015

Bicycle tripo

Very pleasant.

We'll return.

  • k riley

  • June 2015

Derbyshire Stay

Made to feel very welcome on arrival.

Staff very friendly and accommodation very good. Would be happy to return should the occasion arise.