You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Newton House Hotel

3

Buxton Road Alsop En Le Dale, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, DE6 1NJ

Price From 95.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C Davis

  • August 2016

Clean, comfortable and very welcoming

Everyone at the hotel was very welcoming and friendly.

Nothing fancy but the room was clean with a comfortable bed and the food nicely prepared. The hotel is well-situated: right on the Tissington Trail and well-placed for Dovedale and the Peak District.

  • Maeve Kenny

  • July 2016

Saturday Stay

Comfortable beds, quiet with good cooked breakfast.

  • Andrew L

  • June 2016

lovely quirky hotel

A bit tired in places and quite dated but very clean and tidy.

Food is straight forward well made home cooked fair. Overall we really liked this hotel and found its quirky nature (breakfast 8 until 9, continental selection consists of Dairy Lea triangles) endearing. The four poster bed was good too.

  • A Dakin

  • April 2016

Newton House Hotel

House and room acceptable.

Breakfast timing a bit tight (8.00-9.00) if you've had a late night. Breakfast was poor with greasy egg and leathery precooked bacon, but the buffet food was acceptable. The road at the front of the house is very noisy from early in the morning, but look on the bright side - you won't miss breakfast!

  • Robert F

  • November 2015

Newton House Hotel

We had a most enjoyable stay not withstanding the atrocious weather.

Room 16 was a good size with ample storage and a comfortable bed. The en-suite facilities were of a good standard and the shower worked well. The breakfast was enjoyable but a one-hour window ending at 9am was a challenge as we were on holiday. The only other minor problem was getting into the hotel after 10pm. We found the code did not unlock the back door as promised but fortunately were rescued by one of the staff. Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Louise E

  • October 2015

Convenient short stay next to the Tissington Trail

We have a comfortable one night stay in a compact but adequate room.

The hotel is conveniently literally right on the Tissington Trail cycle and walking route. The entrance to the hotel carpark from the road is easy to miss, and it would be a good idea to have an additional sign further back on the road from Ashbourne. First impressions were a little clouded by the fact that the surrounding fields were having slurry spread on them, but the rural odour would soon clear. We would stay there again, and take the bikes this time.

  • P Woolston

  • September 2015

Arrival

We were chased by the hotelier to advise when we were scheduled to arrive.

This despite advising thet we had experienced problems with traffic.

  • k taylor

  • September 2015

A pleasant suprise

The new managers have been in 4 months so it is work in progress after moving into a busy hotel.

The dinner menu at the moment is basic but the food is good, breakfast is good the friendly staff and approachable management who are interested in their jobs made it an comfortable pleasant stay. Would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Rosemary C

  • August 2015

Great B&B

Hotel manager friendly, cheerful and helpful.

Loves his job. Decor may be a bit tired but our room was very quiet, the beds were extremely comfortable, the shower efficient. We were in the main building. The internet connection was excellent. TV good, coffee and tea making facilities provided. At the end of a long day it was good to be able to relax and not have to go out in the evening to find somewhere to eat. The main meals are filling, and there is a bar so you can also have a drink at a reasonable price. I can't comment on the puddings as we didn't have one. The full English breakfast looked good but we had the continental which is included in the room price. A good choice of fruit juice, yogurt, prunes, grapefruit segments, cereals etc and you make your own toast so it's fresh and warm. The staff are chatty and friendly and the cat and working collie dog from the farm next door are often around and happy to be made a fuss of. We only stayed one night as we were only in the area for the week-end. It's under new ownership and improvements are planned over the next few months but in the meantime it's a nice place to stay.

  • MALCOLM TUCKER

  • August 2015

Our stay

Good clean well appointed hotel in large grounds.

Excellent choice of breakfast and surprised that evening bar meals where available at the right size/ price. Only down side, not hotel's fault, was no mobile phone signal though we found out that vodafone's signal was there 30m down the footpath at the bottom of the garden. How strange.