No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newton House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Buxton Road Alsop En Le Dale, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, DE6 1NJ
Nestled in the Peak District National Park just 8 minutes from Ashbourne and 20 from Buxton, this elegant country house hotel offers scenic surroundings with free Wi-Fi and parking.

Once an 18th Century coaching inn, this owner-run hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere full of character and charm. It is also perfectly positioned for those wishing to explore the Derbyshire countryside and its beautiful gardens even lead straight onto the celebrated Tissington Trail.

Each of the en-suite guestrooms is comfortable and well-maintained and is located in either the main building or one of the adjacent cottages. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the surrounding countryside.

Breakfast is available each morning and there is also a comfortable sitting room with books, games and magazines.

There are plenty of great attractions just a short distance from the Hotel including Chatsworth House, The Castleton show-caves, Ilam Park, Alton Towers and Gulliver’s Kingdom.

Please note pets only accepted in cottage room
Picture of Newton House Hotel, Ashbourne, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night weekend get away
A lovely location in Derbyshire - ideal for exploring the sights of the peak district. Clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is a little dated, however, our room (room 22) was very modern and sleek. The bathroom was clean with complementary toiletries and the shower very good - very hot and excellent pressure. Being on the very top floor the WiFi was temperamental but not necessarily needed for a lovely relaxing stay. A great night away.

Reviewed by
A Wheelhouse

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looks better from the outside
Stayed in room 27, a bit dirty shower has mold growing up the corner on the shower and the rims of the door. Both bedside lamps didn't work. Springs in the double bed very noticeable, ouch. dust on skirting - room could do with a clean, dead bugs on the windowsill. No WIFI signal in the room although hotel advertises WIFI. English breakfast is minimal and a bit over dun.

Reviewed by
David B

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel. Decor bit faded in areas. Family room was spacious. Only complaint about breakfast was that you had to queue for a toaster to make your toast. Awkward when trying to supervise children and annoying as your cooked breakfast grew cold. Surely they could bring it out with your breakfast

Reviewed by
Penny M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little tired
Felt the hotel was a "little tired". New carpets and some painting required.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
L Harrison

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking break with dog.
Perfect base for walking. Very accomodating owner and staff and very friendly especially to my dog especially after him being unwell one night!!!. Breakfast was ideal and filling with an excellent selection. A shame no food was available in the evenings but advice where to eat was comprehensive and precise. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay

very accommodating as they allowed us to change rooms at no extra cost as we acquired a dog whilst there and they on ly use the excellent cottage room for dogs.

Reviewed by
J REID

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, clean and comofortable: ideally situate for exploring the surrounding countyside, and so far as my wife and I were concerned just what we needed. The full English breakfast was a rare treat
for us - but we were on holiday - and we enjoyed it very much. Now back to the Gym!

Reviewed by
M Lawrence

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Break
Super accommodation, staff pleasant and helpful. Cooked Breakfast was excellent and hot, a bonus for us as we love hot food particularly the beans, the plates were also hot not just the staff using a cloth to carry them.
We were in the main house and would request this again.

Reviewed by
A M

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Staff very friendly, room clean and comfortable. Had to pre-order breakfast the night before when we checked in - I would have preferred to be able to decide in the morning! No choice was offered on cooked breakfast apart from full english or not full english (ie no choice for just sausage and beans etc). I had put our estimated arrival time at 6pm and at 6.30 received a phone call asking when we would be arriving, a little too soon in my opinion. However, staff were very friendly, good price for room.

Reviewed by
Frankie B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best but clean
Welcome was awkward the manager said oh I'm going to have to check for room now I hate it when laterooms let's people book when were closed so that didn't make us feel welcome. Then we paid for superior suite and it wasn't as it was 2 single beds stuck together and was very uncomfy. Although was clean and lovely views outside and breakfast was lovely just a shame about our welcome and our room.!!

Reviewed by
j derry

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next