No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Castle Farm Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
18 Penpentre, Llanfaes, , Brecon, LD3 8DG
We are a family run guest house half a mile from the market town centre of Brecon. The house is an old farmhouse which dates back to the 1800's and still has original beams in some of the rooms. All our rooms are en-suite and have TV, with TV/DVD’s in the family rooms, radio, tea and coffee making facilities. We have a spacious breakfast room with a good choice of full Welsh breakfast or vegetarian option, served in the dining room between 08:00 and 09:00 daily. If you need an early breakfast, let us know in advance and we will be happy to accommodate your needs. Packed lunches are available on request. We also have a comfortable residents lounge with original features, such as beams and fireplace. We also have WiFi available for all guests. There is a large garden with a selection of toys for the children and a seating area to relax. We have our own private car park for up to 12 cars and a lock up garage for anyone with push bikes. We also have facilities for drying wet clothes after your long walk in the Beacons. We are a 10 minutes walk from Brecon town centre. The centre of Brecon has a wide selection of shops, restaurants, pubs, Theatre Brycheiniog and canal basin.
Picture of Old Castle Farm Guest House, Brecon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent,very friendly and made you most welcomed, food was v good

Reviewed by
Dewi Pritchard

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fan dance
Service, staff and room all very good. Couldn't have asked for more. Ideal for what I needed.

Reviewed by
Simon Barrett

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hosts and clean rooms

Reviewed by
John Shapland

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
A lovely bed and breakfast house with a warm and friendly welcome from the proprietors. Comfortable bed and a really good-sized room and en-suite.

Reviewed by
H HUGHES

From Dolgellau, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very lovely family accommodation the family were lovely people nothing was to much trouble
Would stay there again

Reviewed by
Daphne G

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fleeting but comfortable overnight stay at Old Castle Farm Guest House
The room was fairly dated and basic (which was in line with our expectations) but clean enough and good bathroom. Most importantly, however, the staff were very friendly and accommodating (we did not arrive until after midnight due to traffic on the M4), the breakfast was pretty good and it represented very good value and overall was just the ticket for what we needed

Reviewed by
Ben J

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value base within sight of Brecon Cathedral
Solid family business doing an excellent job with no frills attached. Warm welcome, cosy clean immaculate room which was easy to find within 10 minutes of the centre of Brecon. Excellent value for money base providing just what you need for an adequate place as an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
M McCreery

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed review
This B&B seems to be undergoing an updating. Our room was fresh and pleasant, in a pretty blue colour, and a modern en suite. We were disappointed with the bed and mattress, though, and had a very disturbed sleep as a consequence. Basically, the mattress sagged so badly that neither of us felt comfortable. For this reason, we would be reluctant to stay again, although we would if there were more comfortable beds. For the price, breakfast was reasonable, but more than one sausage would be an improvement! This place has the advantage of parking for guests, which is not the case for several other B&Bs in Brecon, and one reason we chose this one. The potential is there, and priced reasonably, however, a comfortable bed is paramount!!

Reviewed by
D A

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money
Excellent location for Brecon town and the Beacons. Very homely, friendly staff, room was clean, comfortable and recently decorated. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Kath T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay in Brecon
Very friendly hosts will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and make your stay comfortable.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next